5/2 - Lana - PMPS 132, +3 60, +4 74, +4:30 54, 4:45 76 first time in low numbers, assistance needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Magali & Lana

Member Since 2018
You're doing great! Keep on feeding small amounts of food. Test again in 30 minutes and post the results here in a new comment. You can also update your thread title with new numbers as they come up. Her nadir is still quite a bit away so you want to make sure she doesn't go lower (ideally, comes up a bit higher), without sending her sky-high. (But if that is what is needed to keep her from going dangerously low, then so be it.)
 
It’s great that she came up so easy. Mark in your SS what you fed her and how much so you have a reference for the future to know what works and how well. You don’t need to keep feeding her more right now, just see if the numbers stay up, and if not, try to bump them up a bit again.
 
Ok I add what I gave to her at +3 in my SS. Thank you.

About next shot, do you think I should give her 1.25 ui? Or is it too soon to decrease the dose ?
 
She went below 68 on the Alphatrak, she’s earned a reduction any way you cut it. You would give 1.25 tomorrow and going forward. Impressive if we are seeing a food switch in action! :)
 
Yeah I'm impressed. Since I remove dry food she just leave high level.

At +4 : 74. I'll check again in 30 minutes.

You can try giving her a little bit of her regular low carb food and see if that helps her stay flat. Works for some cats and very useful if you can do that successfully rather than resort to bigger guns.
 
The wet food should keep the numbers flat, the problem is, if the insulin is lowering the BG at a rate faster than the low carb food has a chance to do what it needs to do, it may not suffice. It takes longer for low carb food to register than quick sugars like kibble, gravy or honey.

If you can make an attempt to find where her pm nadir is, now that she looks to be stabilizing in some better numbers, it will help you a lot with steering the cycle when needed. Just for example, if you know her nadir is around +4 and she goes low at +4, you wouldn’t be as heavy handed to get the numbers up as you might if it happens at +2 because you know she will soon be on the rise. Keep track of what you fed her and where and you should see some patterns emerge there too. Often if Asia gives me a low number past nadir, I will only give low carb and monitor her closely because I know she doesn’t need anything more than that.
 
Ok... Sorry it's late here (1 am) so my brain doesn't work as usual lol.

If her nadir is for example at +5 and if she's low at +5 I know that I can just give her low carb ? But if she's low at +2 I will know that I had to give her more (like kibbles) ?
 
Ok... Sorry it's late here (1 am) so my brain doesn't work as usual lol.

If her nadir is for example at +5 and if she's low at +5 I know that I can just give her low carb ? But if she's low at +2 I will know that I had to give her more (like kibbles) ?

Yes, but assuming if her nadir is +5, you can’t just give low carb and go to bed, you’d make sure she comes up. It’s easier to experiment with it during the day or a weekend, if she will allow it. ;) If it is really late you can always opt to give something you know for sure will bring her up higher, but you may pay for that by your next preshot being higher than you want.

I’m familiar with the sleep deprived brain. ;) I wish I could say that part gets easier, but not really. :p
 
Ok I understand now.

Luckily, lack of sleep is not a real problem.

I'm mostly worried when I have to go to work. I can be back home for lunch but sometimes I stay at home until +4 and sometimes I have to go at +1.
 
Ok I understand now.

Luckily, lack of sleep is not a real problem.

I'm mostly worried when I have to go to work. I can be back home for lunch but sometimes I stay at home until +4 and sometimes I have to go at +1.

The more you play around with food and how she reacts to it and learn and understand onset, nadir, duration, overlap and carryover..you will be better able to understand what she may do and when so that when you are away, you can leave the right food out or know when you need to skip a shot, etc.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top