5/2 Faraday AMPS 131, 126 +1, 106 +2, 86 +3, 76 +4, 75 +5, 99 +6, PMPS 175, 258 +2, 262 +4

Cali S

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-faraday-pmps-357-290-2-236-3-208-4-5-164-5-5.262702/

What the what with this low AMPS? Very nervous about shooting this morning, but I'll just keep a close eye on little dude! There's not a point in testing before +2, right?

Also, first needlestick this morning. Ouchies. Fortunately just with the freshly filled insulin syringe, and didn't inject any into myself, so no loss of actual insulin. Seems like that's not too uncommon around these parts?

ETA QUESTION PM: I assume I'm still on for full dose tonight? PMPS was 175, and I'm letting him eat the first third of his dinner and proving he can keep it down before shooting tonight just in case. Seem correct?

Also, should I be worried if he doesn't eat his normal volume of food? He didn't eat as much as normal.

See below for more updates.
 
Last edited:
126 @+1

Faraday is currently eating the third course of his breakfast. I feed him a 5.5oz can over the course of three sessions, twenty minutes apart, because otherwise he gorges himself and vomits.
 
106 +2 Dude was not interested in the post poke freeze dried chicken treat or lc treat food.

Going to head out and pick out some HC wet foods just in case. We have HC kibble, but I figure variety is good.
 
86 +3 Still not interested in snacks.

I think he had some loose stool in the litter box (not 100% it was him, as it occurred while I was running out to the store), so maybe his GI tract is feeling a bit tender?
 
Really good response to Lantus. Lovely cycle today. :-)

Avoid kibble. When following TR you wan to feed only canned food. Some cats get diarrhea during a food transition. Nothing to worry about. Usually resolves in a few days.
 
Really good response to Lantus. Lovely cycle today. :)

Avoid kibble. When following TR you wan to feed only canned food. Some cats get diarrhea during a food transition. Nothing to worry about. Usually resolves in a few days.

I hope it's just some residual upset from transitioning! He seems a bit out of sorts this morning, napping by the water bowl, which is where he normally hangs out when he's not feeling the best.

I will try and avoid the kibble. I have cans of 12 and 14% so far. If I can even get him to have a snack that is. The grocery store was totally out of any sort of HC (or even MC) wet cat food this morning, so I'll have to try my closest pet store after Faraday's next BG reading!
 
MC is 10-15% carbs so the 12 and 14% are MC. HC is >15%. You can always add a little honey/karo/syrup to LC or MC to increase the carb%

Did he take to the transition to wet food well? Does he like wet food? Or is he holding out for kibble?
 
Up until the seeming tummy upset this morning he has loved his wet food.

Neither Walmart nor my local pet store had any hc wet food. Will make do with MC + honey if I need to.

While I was at the store he vomited a little bit of liquid. Upset tummy days are not unusual for this boy. Generally it's started by a hairball and then he generally just has a rough entire day of it.

+5.25 was 75, so I'm very hopeful he's bottomed out, especially since he doesn't seem in the mood to eat at all.
 
While I was at the store he vomited a little bit of liquid
Foamy liquid? What colour?

When did he last eat? With his shot? Do you think you can add a topper of something he likes to the food? Like freeze dried meat or Bonito flakes or some cheese?
 
Foamy liquid? What colour?

When did he last eat? With his shot? Do you think you can add a topper of something he likes to the food? Like freeze dried meat or Bonito flakes or some cheese?

Not foamy. Maybe a little yellow in color? My spouse had covered it with paper towels, so a bit hard to tell.

He ate with his first shot this morning and finished eating it around +1 (I divide his food up and feed him a third of it every twenty minutes so he doesn't overeat and vomit, which he definitely first did when we made the switch to wet).

If his number is stable at +6, I'm going to just let him be. Generally on upset tummy days he winds up perking up by dinner time, so as long as his BG doesn't get too low, I don't want to force anything, as I fear it'll just make him vomit again. I will obviously have to re-evaluate if he's not hungry at dinner time.
 
Poor Faraday puked up a little mostly clear (little foamy) liquid again at +6. Did a BG reading on him and he's at 99, so I'm going to leave him alone until dinner time!
 
The puking is from stomach acid. See if you can get him to something. An empty stomach for an extended period of time will only increase stomach acid buildup.

He is headed up so you give him a break from tests till PMPS.
 
Question: I assume I'm still on for full dose tonight? PMPS was 175, and I'm letting him eat the first third of his dinner and proving he can keep it down before shooting tonight just in case. Seem correct?

Also, should I be worried if he doesn't eat his normal volume of food? He didn't eat as much as normal.

ETA: I did go ahead and give him his normal dose, just 30m later than usual. He’s kept down the just short of a 1/3 that he ate. I’ll see if I can coax him to eat more as the evening wears on.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad you shot the full dose. Lantus doesn't kick in for a couple hours, on average, so you have some time for him to eat a reasonable amount. A more regulated cat will not be as hungry, so not to worry if he's not as hungry as he was a few days ago.

A +2 is a good test to get next.

Some housekeeping, we like to see the link to the previous day's post, so it's easy to go back and catch up. Here is the link to Faraday's yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-faraday-pmps-357-290-2-236-3-208-4-5-164-5-5.262702/

One more thing, it's best to put new questions in new posts like you did above, as that bumps up the conversation and people following will see the new post. Editing the first post means it could be missed.
 
I'm glad you shot the full dose. Lantus doesn't kick in for a couple hours, on average, so you have some time for him to eat a reasonable amount. A more regulated cat will not be as hungry, so not to worry if he's not as hungry as he was a few days ago.

A +2 is a good test to get next.

Some housekeeping, we like to see the link to the previous day's post, so it's easy to go back and catch up. Here is the link to Faraday's yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-faraday-pmps-357-290-2-236-3-208-4-5-164-5-5.262702/

One more thing, it's best to put new questions in new posts like you did above, as that bumps up the conversation and people following will see the new post. Editing the first post means it could be missed.

Thank you! I’m still getting used to all the etiquette and norms here, so thank you for the reminders! And good to know about the new post - I did both because I wasn’t sure.
 
258 +2

Despite not eating much for dinner, looking like we’ve got a bounce going on? Because I feel like that’s way too high for just the amount of food he ate.

He seems much perkier now. I’ll try feeding him again after I walk some of my other furry friends.

Either way, looks like I get to get good sleep tonight! I’ll check again at +4, but hopefully that’ll be it!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top