? 5/2 Evey AMPS 151 +2 115 +4 59 +8 58 +10 83 PMPS 90 +2 130

Evey

Member Since 2024
5/1 Evey AMPS 146 +2 142 +4 88 +5 90 +11 133 PMPS 153 +1 171 +2 133 +3 128 +4 130 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

I increased her dose to 1U this morning. It brought her down to 47 (2.6) at +8.5. Her preshot number was 90 in the evening. My vet told me not to give her insulin tonight because she wants to know how high her BG will go up. So I skipped a shot tonight. But her BG keeps going up. I'm kind of getting worried if it will affect her BG overall and I'm really tempted to give her a shot. Is it still too late to give her a shot when it's around 9:30pm here.

20240502.png
 

Attachments

  • 20240502.png
    20240502.png
    77.8 KB · Views: 121
How far are you from your normal shot time? If more than 2 hours, it might be better to skip for tonight, although I do not understand why he would want to have you do that! What is the interest of seeing how high she will go?
Why did you increase this morning? From the sticky on TR:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
You were at 0.75 for 2 cycles and her nadir was 79 on that first cycle, and she went down to 54 on 04/28 on that same dose too. I would have stayed at 0.75 a few more days. I think 1 unit is too much for her, for now at least.
I will tag @Bandit's Mom can you look at Evey's SS, please? :bighug:
 
How far are you from your normal shot time? If more than 2 hours, it might be better to skip for tonight, although I do not understand why he would want to have you do that! What is the interest of seeing how high she will go?
Why did you increase this morning? From the sticky on TR:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
You were at 0.75 for 2 cycles and her nadir was 79 on that first cycle, and she went down to 54 on 04/28 on that same dose too. I would have stayed at 0.75 a few more days. I think 1 unit is too much for her, for now at least.
I will tag @Bandit's Mom can you look at Evey's SS, please? :bighug:

It's been more than 2 hours. So I guess I can see how high she will get tonight

Why did you increase this morning
This was my fault. Somehow I thought today was her 3rd day, not the 3rd cycle. I guess I was not awake this morning :facepalm: I am glad I can stay at home today and monitor her.
 
It's been more than 2 hours. So I guess I can see how high she will get tonight


This was my fault. Somehow I thought today was her 3rd day, not the 3rd cycle. I guess I was not awake this morning :facepalm: I am glad I can stay at home today and monitor her.
I can very well relate to that! :bighug:
 
The vet said skipping one night of insulin is fine. Is it really OK to do it when her BG is not that low? Her BG is still within normal range now. I hope it won't go too crazy when I wake up the next morning.

Just making sure, I should reduce her dose to 0.75U tomorrow morning, right?
 
It's fine, it's like having a fur shot. It'sjust that I don't see the interest in doing it. Lantus works best if used regularly.
I would go back to 0.75 tomorrow morning, but wait until other people comment on that, I am not that confident in advising in doses!
 
You are changing doses too frequently and that can confuse the depot. 0.75U was a good dose for her where she saw nadirs in the 50s. You didn't need to increase to 1U, but hold the 0.75U a little longer.
 
Back
Top