5/2 Dumdum AMPS~239 PMPS~196 +3~45 +7~75

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
AMPS 239
+4 133

PMPS 196
+2 124
+3 45
+4 46
+5 44
+6 49
+7 75

yesterday condo

Today's good news is urine test's all items are normal! Bad news is......why it become 45 at pmps+3... grumpy_cat
Although it will be a night can't fall a sleep, but handsome pic is necessary!

Dumdum goes to work!
C360_2013-04-20-21-42-07.jpg
 
Re: 5/2 Dumdum AMPS~239 PMPS~196 +3~45

Are you managing that low number ok on your own or do you need some helping advice to get the number higher?
 
Re: 5/2 Dumdum AMPS~239 PMPS~196 +3~45

Deb & Wink said:
Are you managing that low number ok on your own or do you need some helping advice to get the number higher?

So sweet you are. Thank you.
I am ok with managing low numbers. This kind of situation has happened several times before. ;-)
Thank you again. :-D
 
Re: 5/2 Dumdum AMPS~239 PMPS~196 +3~45

Doreen and PeePee said:
Akilo, how are you doing, did you get any more tests. You are doing a great job!
Thank you Doreen. I did more tests until pmps+7 his BG went back to 75, which means 4:00am @-) , and he ate canned food all night. :cool:
Thank God it didn't go lower. :lol:

It's really a trouble that every time when BG curve looks like going to be stable, then numbers became to low at midnight.
Our vet suggests that increase the dose at AMPS, and decrease the dose at PMPS, for example shot 1u at AMPS and 0.75u at PMPS, but so far I haven't see any cases here gives dose like in this way.
Will this way interrupt his insulin depot? Or this way is acceptable?
I read the protocol, and it says "sliding scales don't work". Does this mean the way that dose more at AMPS and dose less at PMPS won't work?
Thanks for answering. :razz:
 
Will this way interrupt his insulin depot? Or this way is acceptable?
I read the protocol, and it says "sliding scales don't work". Does this mean the way that dose more at AMPS and dose less at PMPS won't work?
Sliding scales are different than what your vet suggested.

First, regarding shooting different amounts at AMPS and PMPS, you're thinking is correct. If you give a different dose at each shot time, the depot will always be changing. With Lantus, you get the best results when the depot is stable. This is why we hold the dose for several days after a dose change.

A sliding scale refers to changing the dose based on the pre-shot number. With other types of insulin, like Prozinc, this is how dosing is done. So, if the pre-shot number is high, you give more insulin. If it's low, you would give less. With Lantus, the dose is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot numbers. Dosing is based on nadir because Lantus is a long-acting insulin and because there is an insulin depot. Prozinc isn't as long acting as Lantus and it does not have a depot.
 
A lot thanks to Rhiannon and Sienne, both of your answers are really clear. :thumbup
I will make dose be stable. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top