5/2 Cosmo AMPS 412, +2 290, +3 169, +4 88, +5.5 70, +6 79, +8 117, PMPS 239

thebigfuzz

Member Since 2012
Yesterday:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-1-cosmo-amps-410-2-367-6-311-pmps-286-2-226.246850/

Cosmo coasted in nice easy yellow and blue overnight, so I’m not sure how or why he got back to 412 this morning? Unless...he is doing his fancy high before the low thing :rolleyes:

He is doing well this morning. Active, alert and funny. He is now obsessed with going for outside leash walks. This morning, 2 birds were on the lawn while Cosmo was out. The birds should be scared of the predator right? Nope. Maybe they knew Cosmo had no chance. Just getting outside for this arthritic kitty is a lot of exercise already :p Cosmo made no moves on the birds and the birds actually came closer to him o_O

Happy Sunday everyone!
 
I am sorry he is diving on you! These boys like to keep us busy! Hope he slows down soon!

I see you have transitioned food... from what to what? I don't know Cosmo history, but kibbles are slower to act on BG, no?
 
I am sorry he is diving on you! These boys like to keep us busy! Hope he slows down soon!

I see you have transitioned food... from what to what? I don't know Cosmo history, but kibbles are slower to act on BG, no?
LOL. We have the same diving kitty problem :rolleyes:

Cosmo has megacolon and he has had a gradual switch over to a few foods over the last year to keep his megacolon and food allergies in check. Most recently, he was eating a 13% wet food with a little kibble. We are now transitioned to a 4% wet food and only gets kibble on large drops at this point. (the kibble also treats megacolon and is something we are trying to eliminate)

I wouldn’t use kibble to try to bring him up if he is 90 or under, because it seems to take longer to help him (2hrs in his case), but if he is higher, maybe it works ok to level him out a few hours later? Experiment in progress :bookworm:
 
tuft of hair
do you have black capped chickadees where you are? We have them here and my (super duper quick) google search says they are in the great country of Canada :p BUT the point is they use fur in their nests (and I'm sure many other bird species do too lol). We have chickadee babies in our bird house right now and they have some sort of fur in their nest (I *think* deer fur but IDK). I shall try to post a pic of the babies bc I currently stalk them as they are going to leave soon...
upload_2021-5-2_17-32-52.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-2_17-32-52.jpeg
    upload_2021-5-2_17-32-52.jpeg
    81.9 KB · Views: 125
Question: Should we be reducing tonight? We struggled to stop the drop. Also don’t want to lose momentum by reducing unnecessarily. 10 days since full food transition, but he has still been getting kibble on fast drops. We tried a new MC today that seemed to help.

@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

thanks!
 
Given that you were propping the numbers up due to the big drop, I think it's OK to take the reduction. However, I have a suggestion. I'm going to guess that Cosmo will bounce by PMPS. If the numbers are anything like this morning, I'd suggest holding the current dose for one last cycle and reducing at AMPS. Holding the dose may help to get your kitty through the bounce a bit more quickly.

I also have a question for you. Why kibble as a high carb? It takes longer for kibble to be digested. the "gravy" in high carb food is absorbed more quickly and are metabolized faster.
 
I also have a question for you. Why kibble as a high carb? It takes longer for kibble to be digested. the "gravy" in high carb food is absorbed more quickly and are metabolized faster.
Good question! He is a little allergic to the current HC we have and ends up itchy the next day :( We know he isn’t sensitive to the kibble (plus added bonus of being good for his #2 issues). I guess we are a little concerned to stop it entirely, but would like to. The MC we used today worked well, but is the first time we have used it, so not sure if it will make him itchy tomorrow.
 
Chances are that Cosmo is reacting to the gluten in the HC canned food. Gabby was sensitive to gluten -- more vomiting than itching. I used to use a drop or several of either corn syrup (Karo) or honey to steer Gabby's numbers.
 
I'd start with a drop of syrup (corn syrup, maple or honey) and see how that does to start. I found the "drops" from the corn syrup container were pretty big, maybe 1/4 tsp.

And yes, @JaxBenji we get black capped chickadees here. Tanya lives a hop, skip and a jump from, probably faster to paddle. The bush in front of me has a robin's nest, but I think the babies have flown the coop as it's now quiet.
 
Wendy is very familiar with Gabby's exploits! Anything sticky seems to have biggish drops. Just like everything else, it depends on how carb sensitive your cat is. When Gabby stole a piece of honey glazed chicken skin, I knew that honey or Karo were good options for her.
 
Back
Top