5/2 Champ AMPS 412, +5.5 295, PMPS 308, +3 263, +6 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

What a great way to start a Monday. I raised his dose to 2.75u this morning so let's see if that does anything at all. He's extremely hungry and, with numbers that high, I don't blame him.

I hope everyone has a great day, Monday or not!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412

Geez Patty,

Champ and Guinness are neck and neck this morning, both up on the 4th floor. Ugh, I read your post from yesterday this morning, and I have to say, I am feeling the same way. Not looking forward to the mega-doses, etc. I just wish they would respond. Now I'm starting to wonder if our Lantus is defective. So frustrating.

Hope you guys have a better day and hope both our guys respond to their increases.
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412

:lol: :lol: :lol: I was just writing in Guinness's condo!! I do think you should be increasing by 0.5u, though. At least Champ has yellows after his shots while poor Guinness can't climb his way down from those nasty pinks. Ask Sienne. She'll tell you exactly what you should do.
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412

Good morning Patty, I just wanted to come by and lend some moral support from some one who has been in your shoes (so to speak).
I was where both you and Guinness are back in December of 2010. I hated the red, heck even the black floors, still do. I'm a very impatient person but with Tommy i have had to find that patience. Tommy is now at 11U BID unfortunately, but i have seen great strides as his SS shows. Tommy still needs a dental, which i hope will resolve some of the issues with the high BG's. I pray that neither one of you ever have to reach that high of a dose with your kitties. Looking at your numbers, he's already so far ahead of where Tommy even started.. Lots of yellows, that's a good thing. I think you're doing terrific with Champ :-D . Please try not to get discouraged, i know some times it is so hard not too. Champ is trying real hard to get better for the both of you. Hopefully his breakthrough dose is just around the corner.
I'll be thinking good thoughts for both you and Guinness that the numbers come down for you guys.
Hang in there, blue waters aren't that far away.
Have a great day yourself :razz:
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412

i'll just add that as much as i wish punkin were getting a dose of 1u, or some other "normal" amount, in fact, there are a lot of kitties right now getting a lot more than 1u and i don't think punkin getting 7u is the worst thing in the world at all. at least i don't have to throw away half a pen. i'm not sure that it's that "abnormal" to have a higher dose.

i'd rather have him getting 7u than spending his days in too high of numbers. i'm not advocating zipping up, i'm just saying don't be afraid to follow the protocol, regardless of the dose amount you end up with. as i recall the original study had cats participating that were up to 10u.
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412

Awwwww no kidding what a way to start a Monday. Hopefully he comes down into some nice pinks....or maybe a nice yellow today!!! Go Champ Go!! Come down for your momma bean, no one likes to see a kitty wearing red.
I haven't phoned to see how Leo did last night or this morning, I always get my hopes up then find out he's in pink....or red (big gulp) and end up stressing myself out all day wishing I was with him, or that there was more I could do for him.
So I'm hoping and wishing for good things for you and Champ today.
Have a good day!
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412

Squirrel, thank you for taking the time to send some encouragement our way!! :-D Very sweet of you! I'm staying as positive as possible. I think I've come a long way because I don't get scared out of my mind like I used to and cry all the time :lol: :lol: Seriously, at the beginning of this, I cried all the time (and I HATE to cry). As long as Champ doesn't act sick, I'm going to go with the flow. Champ has never had a dental (he's 10) and his vet had told me that it can wait. I'm seeing a new vet on Friday and I'm definitely going to ask him about having Champ's teeth cleaned. It seems to have done wonders for a lot of kitties lately. Have a great day yourself!! :-D

Julie, I hear what you're saying. Lots of kitties do seem to be on a mega doses these days. Punkin is doing so well since his dental was done and the infection cleared up. I bet his dose keeps dropping and he gets well quickly!! Paws crossed. :lol:

Tracy, I really do feel for you. I'm sure you think of Leo like your child, just like we all do with our furbabies, and it has to be hard to be away when his numbers are so high. At least you know his grandparents love him a ton, too! :-D Try not to worry too much or you'll get sick!! Not good ;-) Have a good week at work. Everything's going to be fine. Right? Right!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412

Hang in there Patty, Champ is showing progress and where you are really isn't that much for a cat of his size. And really you haven't been at it all that long and you are getting his numbers down. It will be amazing when you do hit the right dose. Get your sleep now while you can.

On your food question yesterday. I see nothing wrong w/ Friskies if that is what he like. Remember, calories (which is what J&B's list are based on) come only from protein, fat and carbohydrates. If you reduce the calorie % from carbs, one or both of the others will go up. Fat is a lot cheaper to increase than protein. Guess which one the companies choose! Of the higher quality foods Wellness is actually on the lower end for fat, EVO and Blue Wilderness are much higher.

Have you considered making your own cat food, raw or cooked? There are a lot of recipes online. That's the best way to control the quality and amount of fat you are feeding .

Also remember, it is carbs that cannot be metabolized by cats which end up getting stored as fat. A cat's metabolism uses the fat much more readily than a human's does.
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412, +3 357

Patty: Ann has given you some great info. All I can do is add support. I know these numbers are hard to take but there will be a day when he will be doing so much better and then you will see a yellow or pink number and be upset by that :lol: :lol: So then you know there is real progress. It's a tough thing, this sugardance. It is like a roller coaster of emotion for us all. Hang tight...he'll get there. Hopefully what you are seeing today is NDW and he'll start to come down. Hugs, Patty.
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412, +3 357

Ann and Marje...I LOVE you guys. You always put things in perspective for me and make me feel so much better about Champ's progress. Ya'll are pretty flippin AWESOME :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412, +3 357, +5.5 295

Nice progress....keep coming down Champ!!! Let's hope for some blue tonight!!!
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412, +3 357, +5.5 295

Oh Marje, you're so optimist! I doubt blue is in our future tonight, but just because I said that, he'll probably go there. :lol:
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412, +3 357, +5.5 295

Patty, I just wanted you to know that i received Tommy's insulin today. Not counting the weekend, it arrived in 6 days from when it was shipped.
The packaging was just fine. No dents in the box, and inside was a styrafoam cooler with a cool pak in a ziploc bag on top of piece of cardboard, followed by the box of pens underneath with some foam peanuts and then beneath that another cool pak in a ziploc bag. I would say the pens were still cool to the touch, not cold. As for them being good.. well time will tell. I am initially very happy with the purchase. They also do indeed expire in Sept of 2013. Let me know if you have any questions :-D
Squirrel & Tommy ;-)
 
Re: 5/2 Champ AMPS 412, +3 357, +5.5 295

Thanks Squirrel. Looks like that's what I'll be doing then. I've only been able to find two pharmacies here in Las Vegas (Albertson's grocery and K-Mart of all places) that will sell me one pen. Albertson's wants $68.69 for one flippen pen :o . I don't THINK so. And K-Mart wanted $53.97, which, while better, is still half the cost of ordering from Canada for a full five pens. Think I'll go with the full five pens!! :-D

Thanks again!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top