Deanna & Billie
Member Since 2014
Hello!
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-billie-pmps-288.137141/
Billie is keeping me on my toes! Her appy was consistently really great for over a week, so I tried skipping the ondansetron the day before yesterday. It seems like that skip threw her off. She did fine through the first part of the day without it, but her appy gradually declined after maybe 20 hours without it. I started it back up, and she ate better last night. Then, her appy was off again today. It's just picking up again now after tonight's dose.
Based on her BGs, I was thinking of an increase until she surprised me with a drop to 49 last night. I'm not reducing unless appy issues persist, but I guess I'm not increasing! She did eat a decent amount of dinner last night, and she ate a lot with the drop, so I'm not sure that it was from a lack of food.
I don't know if there is anything else I should be doing at this point - taking her back for another fPL test? Looking into other possibilities for the appy issues? It seems like the ondansetron really does the trick. She has had some soft poos, but mostly normal. She is acting like she feels good - lots of playing. I guess I'm still worried that there could be something else going on in addition to pancreatitis. But I'm thinking that if there was something else going on, I probably wouldn't be seeing such positive results from the ondansetron alone? She has been taking it for a month now. I don't know how common it is for a cat to be on it that long, but it has definitely helped her a lot. Before the skipped dose, she was eating fantastically. I hope she gets back on track with that.
That's all my rambling for tonight, I think! I hope everyone is doing well. Sending vines to all the kitties and beans needing vines.
Last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-billie-pmps-288.137141/
Billie is keeping me on my toes! Her appy was consistently really great for over a week, so I tried skipping the ondansetron the day before yesterday. It seems like that skip threw her off. She did fine through the first part of the day without it, but her appy gradually declined after maybe 20 hours without it. I started it back up, and she ate better last night. Then, her appy was off again today. It's just picking up again now after tonight's dose.
Based on her BGs, I was thinking of an increase until she surprised me with a drop to 49 last night. I'm not reducing unless appy issues persist, but I guess I'm not increasing! She did eat a decent amount of dinner last night, and she ate a lot with the drop, so I'm not sure that it was from a lack of food.
I don't know if there is anything else I should be doing at this point - taking her back for another fPL test? Looking into other possibilities for the appy issues? It seems like the ondansetron really does the trick. She has had some soft poos, but mostly normal. She is acting like she feels good - lots of playing. I guess I'm still worried that there could be something else going on in addition to pancreatitis. But I'm thinking that if there was something else going on, I probably wouldn't be seeing such positive results from the ondansetron alone? She has been taking it for a month now. I don't know how common it is for a cat to be on it that long, but it has definitely helped her a lot. Before the skipped dose, she was eating fantastically. I hope she gets back on track with that.
That's all my rambling for tonight, I think! I hope everyone is doing well. Sending vines to all the kitties and beans needing vines.
