5/2 A2 Gizmo AMPS 495 | PMPS 362 | +4 229

Status
Not open for further replies.
Heard back from the vet, she said my data looks pretty good, though she said with his numbers she'd suggest increasing him to 1.5 instead of 1.25.

I am thinking I might continue to give him until the weekend at 1.25 and see how it goes since that will be 10 cycles at that dose, and if he is still starting in the reds and not hitting blues and greens then I can do 1.5 starting Saturday when I will be home and can watch him. I know SLGS is technically a week but I really want to get his numbers down and I thought (maybe I have misunderstood from mixing up the protocols) but it takes 6 cycles for a new dose to show the effect so by Friday I should have an idea of where he is at. I can't imagine these red mornings are good for him, even if its been like this for a while. At the very least we go through litter like crazy so getting him lower might cut down on him doing his best impression of Niagara Falls :eek::p

Thoughts?
 
I usually increase on Friday AM. Sometimes Thursday PM (just depends on how high he is and how he is eating/feeling). I know that he won't see the benefit of the dose increase until the depot starts to fill. With Gizmo that is usually 6-8 cycles (he may see better numbers but not fully until 6-8 cycles). Problem is you don't have enough data to know for sure. If you increase Friday AM Sunday PM would be the 6th cycle.

As for the higher AM numbers - it could be Dawn Phenomenon.

ETA-I follow TR modified to fit my work and to keep Gizmo as safe as possible. There is no way I could follow TR to the letter and not put myself in the hospital with a nervous break down or risk Gizmo's safety. I just do the best I can.
 
Last edited:
Yeah, I really want to try TR. Doing SLGS at first just to be safe and catch my breath and get the hang of things, but slowly working through the barriers that have me pause on TR.

I'm not sure if I am misunderstanding. Do you have to test +3 +6 +9 all day every day? Or just all day the first 3 days? Or just AM to PM the first 3 days? I might be able to swing it over memorial day weekend if it's just the 3 days, or see if I can take a day off work to do a 3 days weekend if that's the case.

Froze my first batch of foodsicles tonight so they can get 4 smaller meals a day roughly 4-8 hours apart instead of 3 meals at 6:30, 6:30 and 10:30. Grossest meat cupcakes ever. But hey. New use for the old silicon cupcake pan I was going to just throw out! I get the feeling I might need to macgyver the autofeeder I bought since Gizmo might be smart enough to figure out how to turn the dial but we'll see. I already have a few ideas if he does. Would be nice if this helps make his numbers chill out a little.
 
I'm not sure if I am misunderstanding. Do you have to test +3 +6 +9 all day every day? Or just all day the first 3 days? Or just AM to PM the first 3 days?
Only the first days on Lantus. After that you test every preshot, then at least one other test each cycle. It doesn't have to be in the middle each time. Even a test from +2 to +10 will give you an idea how the cycle went, in conjunction with the preshot numbers. Evening you can get more tests, like you have been doing. The caveat of course, if you see him heading low, you might have to do more than a couple tests in the cycle.

I think you'll probably be OK going up to 1.5 units this weekend, maybe starting on Friday so the depot has time to fill and show you what the dose is capable of.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top