5/2/2022 AMPS 244, +3 481, +7 410, PMPS 487, +2 503/ Questions

LoufsMama

Member Since 2022
Hi Everyone,
We are finally starting to see yellows and pinks for Lucifer which is exciting. He is up to 3units 2x a day. We have been checking his levels throughout the days and they vary quite a bit. Could someone look them over and tell me what you think? Should I hold at the 3 units for a while. I took his AMPS today and it was 223 and has held at 254 for the +4 so far.

Also,
I have gone according to the sheet on here for his canned food. We always had him on friskies canned and dry food. However, when he got this diagnosis we switched over to wet food only. We tried every food known to man and he refuses them unless its friskies. He really won't eat the pate either. He likes the shreds. He is having two cans a day and he finishes most of it not all. They are the ones listed on here but it says 14 carbs each can on the list. Is that too much for him? He is so stubborn with food lol.
 
Since you are following TR for dosing, you increase every 6 cycles/3 days if you are seeing yellow nadirs. So, go ahead and increase by 0.25 units now. The goal is to see normal numbers and this dose isn't doing it.

Have you ever tried some of the Weruva or Tiki Cat foods with him? Both have mostly shreds products. 14% carbs is medium carb, not low carb. Tight Regulation actually requires all low carb wet or raw food, so it would be good to find a low carb he will eat.

Here's the link to your previous post here, so people can follow the history: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lucifer-amps-226-some-feedback.262592/
 
Thank you, I will do the increase. It’s so much easier now that I can do half units with these syringes.

Okay, so I have to try to switch him to something lower than maybe that will help too. I have tried Tiki and he wouldn’t eat that unfortunately but I just looked up the Weruva and I haven’t tried that one so maybe the shredded one of those he would eat. Are the shreds for those okay?
 
If you look through the Weruva site, they actually list most of the carb% for their products. Here is is for their classic line: https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/wcc-ni/ All but two are low carb. I actually used the Grandma's Chicken Soup as my high carb option. It's also low phosphorus so good for kidney disease cats.

@Wendy&Neko thank you so much for the Weruva suggestion he’s finally eating a low carb food
 
Back
Top