5/19 Winny +6~65, +6.5~68, +7~63, +8~72, +10~81, +11~103

Status
Not open for further replies.

twinkiefreekitty

Member Since 2012
We've done this a bit this week. I get to +12 and he's still low, wait another half hour to hour and he's coming up enough to give insulin, but a 13 hour cycle is pushing us further and further back.

Last night I shaved a bit off his dose to try to avoid the 13 hour thing.

This morning he was 70 at AMPS, I waited and fed him a dozen of the little Hills DM dry kibble bits. An hour later he was at 68.

Should I just go ahead and feed him and shoot? If so, should I keep the dose slightly lower, same as last night? I mean, that's wonderful if we can reduce the dose but I still don't have enough grasp of bouncing and whatnot to know what on earth is going on. I promised my fiance I'd go out for breakfast and I'm still here waiting for the cat!
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~70, waited +1~68

A couple of things...

Since you've already stalled, can your schedule accomodate stalling any longer? Do you have strips and HC in the house and will you be home to monitor?

Also, when stalling, do NOT feed. You should also test every 15 - 30 min. rather than waiting an hour. You want to catch when numbers are rising. Please review Libby's post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers. You may want to print it out.

Also, you shot a 91 last night. When shooting low, you need to get a +1 and a +2. You have no clue where Winny's numbers went last night. Winny could have easily dropped into the 30s. It is imperative that you get at the bare minimum, one test in the PM cycle. You need to get more when shooting low. This is for Winny's safety.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~70, waited +1~68

I'm trying to get to an earlier schedule so that I can do the night time +1 and +2, but he went 13 hours again last night,so it was late when we got to bed. We got up at 5 because he was hungry but I didn't do a test beforehand as I was still half asleep. He had the usual 1/4 can of wet food at that point. I don't know how to redo the spreadsheet to show the 13 hr and stalling.

I guess I can stay home. I'll test again now.

Thank you Sienne!
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~70, waited +1~68

Take a look at Gabby's SS. When I do multiple tests in the hour, I add more to the cell. Just for clarity, your +1 is, like you noted your +13. You don't have an AMPS yet since you didn't shoot. That 70 is your +12.

One consideration you may want to think about. If you opt to skip the shot this morning, you can adjust your shot time to whenever you want tonight.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~70, waited +1~68

+1.5 is 132, sorry, that's +13.5 is 132

I fed him. Should I go ahead and shoot or skip and reset our evening time?
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +12~70, waited +13~68, +13.5~132

With that rise, I'd shoot. You can move your PM shot time back by at least 30 min. If Winny is running really high, you can move it back more.

What this is telling you is that you can shoot that 68. Winny's numbers will, most likely, start to rise even before Lantus onset begins (around +2). Remember, if you'd shot at your AMPS, you'd have the benefit of a full meal and the approximately 2 hours before Lantus kicks in.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +12~70, waited +13~68, +13.5~132

My pleasure!!

I'd suggest getting a +2 so you have some idea where Winny is heading. You'll still want to get a few tests this cycle. Winny is doing very well and you don't want to be "surprised" by an unexpectedly low number. You don't have much mid-cycle data so if it's possible to get some tests in, it will give you some idea of what's going on during the week.

I think you can remove the "911."
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +12~70, waited +13~68, +13.5~132

Okay I'll get a +2. I've put it in my phone to remind me of the time.

Thank you again. You;re right, Winny is doing very well and I really want to get this right for him.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +12~70, waited +13~68, +13.5~132

You and Winny are doing great! It's a lot to figure out. Could you take off the 911? I always gets a little, tiny panic attack when I see one. nailbite_smile
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +12~70, waited +13~68, +13.5~132

Winny is surely keeping you on your toes!!

Every time I see his name, I start singing the song...
"Tubby little cubby all stuffed with fluffies..."

tell me you sing him that song!
:-D :-D :-D

celi & binks
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +12~70, waited +13~68, +13.5~132 AMPS~132, +2

thank you Liz and Celi.

I'm still confused how to put +12 and +13 results onto the spreadsheet. It's not accurate how I have it now.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +12~70, waited +13~68, +13.5~132 AMPS~132, +2

I'm still confused how to put +12 and +13 results onto the spreadsheet. It's not accurate how I have it now.

Take a look at Gabby's SS. I have more than one number in a cell. You'll have to manually change the color but you can include the info in your +11 cell with the test and time.

You're seeing a sizable drop at +2. This usually means you're going to see an active cycle. I would get a +2.5. Chances are that Winny is going to want a decrease today so you want to stay on top of the numbers.

You can always feed a couple of bites of LC food to see if it will slow things down.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59

+3 is 59. I'll go ahead and give him some FF and test again at +4

How long does it take for food to make numbers go up?

Still working on the spreadsheet - urg! Also checking probate forms for my father today, so it's lots of juggling numbers! lol
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59

Here's a quick screen-shot of Gabby's SS showing multiple BGs in a cell



MJ
 

Attachments

  • gabbySSexample.JPG
    gabbySSexample.JPG
    18 KB · Views: 1,514
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59

look at this Meezer go!!!!!!!!!!!!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59

He's getting royally annoyed with all the testing.

I brought his dose down from 2u to 1.75u with last night and this morning's doses.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54

I've lost count of how many tests we've done today, or how many strips I've messed up by not getting quite enough blood.

So this time, +4, I was trying and trying to get some blood going.Lots of pricking and apologizing and rubbing the ear and whatnot. Messed up a test strip, started again... Obviously Winny is VERY annoyed with me by now because I keep bothering his poor ear. He whipped around and bit me - he has hardly any teeth and no front claws, but has managed to draw an awful lot of blood from my hand all the same. It was a bit like "Here, Mommy, let me show you how to get blood at the first attempt!"

So anyway, we're at 54. And I have a big bandaid :) lol
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54

Hi Winny and Lulu!

I'm fairly new to the forum and usually don't give advice but you may want to consider testing again in half an hour as 54 is getting down there. When Ella gets around 50 I give her some LC to help her surf.

great numbers Winny!

Tamara
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54

Hang in there, Winny and Lulu! I haven't had a chance to welcome you. I was on a trip and another FDMB member was keeping Simon. The rest of the month boiled down to plain old busy life at the end of the school year! :lol:
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42

Hi Tamara - had to go out for more treats, plus Winny was REAALLY fed up with me and went and hid for a while. He polished off 1/2 can of LC. I'll test at +6

Hi Kim - your kitty is "simonese" - eeeeeeeeeee! that made me smile. Thank you for the welcome.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42

Lulu

Just checking in on you all. When you say he polished off 1/2 can...did he do that at +5.5? I'd sure like to see him up in the 50s. I'll be around to look for your +6 test ok? Let's see if you can get him on
a surfboard with that LC FF.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42

Hi Marje, yes, half a can straight after the 5.5 test.

I'll test at +6 and see what to do.

I have Hills DM kibble, which counts as HC, and Purina Indoor kibble, which is what caused the problem of course. He freaks out over either of them - carb addict.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65

65 and all seems to be well, especially since Mommy now has incredibly expensive shrimp treats.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65

It's best to first see if they respond to the LC and he did!! And he may also be coming up from his nadir. Good job.

I like to see two rising tests before you go to testing him every hour. If you do another test at +6.5 and he's up more, then give him an hour and see where he is. Since you've been using LC, we will hope that
he doesn't turn around and come back down. That's why I like you to be vigilant for a bit more, ok?

I'll try to check back in another 30 minutes but looks like he's doing great now.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42

Welcome to LL!! Looks like Winny is doing fantastic in her short time here--So... You must be doing a great job!!--Just ask questions, post your numbers, and do what you are doing--It is working so well!
Hope Winny keeps it up!!
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65, +6.5~68

Nice surf! 65 and 68 are basically the same number. If he's doing ok and will let you, how about one more test at +7 to see if he's rising. If he's had enough, give him a rest but only for an hour.

Great job!
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +2~79, +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65, +6.5~68

63@ +7 so I guess it was the food he had at +5.5.

I'm glad he can't talk because I don't think I'd like what he has to say about me today.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny AMPS~132, +2~79, +3~59, +4~54

twinkiefreekitty said:
Obviously Winny is VERY annoyed with me by now because I keep bothering his poor ear. He whipped around and bit me - he has hardly any teeth and no front claws, but has managed to draw an awful lot of blood from my hand all the same. It was a bit like "Here, Mommy, let me show you how to get blood at the first attempt!"
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Winny looks to be responding very quickly and very well to his lantus so hopefully it will be a short dance for you guys. The drawback for you is you haven't had a chance to get up much experience before you head into the need to be extra vigilant phase :? Normally a cycle like today would earn Winny a reduction but I'm not sure if he'll get another tonight since you gave it in advance. With lantus you see some 'shed action' after a reduction so today's low numbers may be a result of the previous higher dose. However, it also may be that 2 units was a little too much to start him on. Please get a +10 and/or a +11 and ask for advice before shooting tonight - add the question mark icon to your original post and DOSE QU to your subject line.

In regard to using dry food as the HC option, this is not the best way to go. Dry food takes longer to get the BG up and also takes longer and is variable in wearing off so you are much better off using a canned food option. You may be able to control Winny with LC but best to have some canned HC in the house in case.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65, +6.5~68, +7~63

I'll get some canned hc food tomorrow. I can't go out again today unfortunately.

Yes, I don't feel like I have enough data or experience to do this by myself. I'm very relieved that there is so much experience and generosity of time here at the forum.

I'll do hourly from now until tonight.

I'm not going to be able to afford to do this much testing more than once a week. Pity the strips are so pricey.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65, +6.5~68, +7~63

Where are you getting your strips - I gather you guys (assuming you're US) can order them on ebay much much cheaper than you can get them at the pharmacy. Unfortunately when you need to test you need to test but you will have less errors and so not waste any that way as you get used to it.

Unless he bounces chances are you're in for a big night tonight too - on the plus side all this time in green is pancreas healing time and if you can get him into remission quickly the longer term expense will be reduced to almost nil.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65, +6.5~68, +7~63

I ordered the strips at American Diabetic Warehouse, which I was told was the cheapest way to get them.

Unfortunately I'm without income at the moment after a major back surgery, so we need to be careful with the money as it's all from savings, and my son heads off to university next year. Not good timing for sure.
 
Re: 5/19 Winny +3~59, +4~54, +5.5~42, +6~65, +6.5~68, +7~63

Definitely shop around for strips. We get ours at American Diabetes Wholesale. As Serryn said, it will be much cheaper in the long run to do a lot of testing now and get him into remission. Paws crossed and anti-jinx.
Liz
 
103 @ +11, so it looks as if we might be able to shoot 30 minutes early and stop the schedule from creeping forward yet again.

Yay, it was a good day in terms of lots of green. Not a good day for Winny's left ear :( Poor darling boy.
 
Another suggestion is neosporin ointment with pain relief for the ear. If you put it on after the last poke at night, his ear will be good as new in the morning. I'm sorry about the back surgery. I hope you are healing quickly. Are you getting physical therapy? Anne says to do your exercises (she's a PT). :smile:
Liz
 
Neosporin. Awesome, we have that! I used it earlier when he bit me. Thank you very very much from Winny and his left ear! We'll be done with one more test because we're both rather tired now. Poor cat hasn't had a good long nap all day.

Yup, I was doing PT 3x week, walking 2 miles a day, since the January 2 level fusion, all in total agony and with no pain meds. Turns out that my pelvis is moving too much, sacroiliac joint inflammation. So, no PT and hardly any walking until I get an "emergency" steroid shot that I've had to wait a month for. After that it's supposed to be "aggressive PT to address that joint" which sounds like serious stuff. Long term management of the problem doesn't seem to be mentioned by the surgeon... sigh.
 
Great job today, Lulu.

What meter are you using? I missed it somewhere along the way.

When you get a chance, could you please do a profile for Winny? It gives us alot of valuable information quickly at hand. If you have any problems, just PM me and I'll help you with it. Here's the link:

Creating a ProfileThank you!!
 
FWIW, you have the option of getting a HC canned food -- preferably one with gravy (e.g, the Fancy Feast roasted, marinated or Gravy Lovers food). A different option is to use a very small amount of either Karo syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc. Gabby ends up with diarrhea from the gravy-based foods since they contain gluten. When I need to steer her numbers, she gets a between 1 - 3 drops of Karo or honey that's on top of her usual LC food. The big advantage of the HC canned food is that cat's love the stuff!! But, in a pinch, the method I use with Gabby can tide you over and is much more preferable than using kibble for the reasons Serryn noted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top