5/19 Topper AMPS 250 +2 200 +6 98 +8 91 Dose Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Topper

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95583

I have not been well the last couple days and I forgot I was supposed to raise the dose to 4.50 this cycle.

I remembered right after the injection. I decided to curve and raise next cycle. I forgot to test at +4. He was high 100's AM yesterday and felt bad, he "acted" like his bg was much higher than that. Now Topper is green again, which I'm really pleased to see.

But because of my limitations, I would prefer not to take Topper much lower than the 90's, however I DO want to bring the preshots down below 200 and get consistancy with lower numbers. I guess it's obvious the only way to do this is to increase the dose, thus probably bringing him lower than I'd like.

But I wanted to check with you folks before I go ahead and raise and just be sure it is still what I'm supposed to do at this point.

Hope this is clear, I'm a bit confused today. Confusion seems to be one of the lovely things about "the golden years". Snort!
 
Re: 5/1 Topper AMPS 250 +2 200 +6 98 +8 91

Feline diabetes is a tough disease, I feel confused a lot too. :roll: Give yourself a huge pat on the back for taking such good care of Topper. :-D :-D I would get input from a more experienced member but those 90s look fine to me. If you edit the subject line of the very first post and add "dose help", that will let others know you are looking for help.
Liz
 
Re: 5/1 Topper AMPS 250 +2 200 +6 98 +8 91

Just so we're clear, has Topper agreed with your plan? My observation is that regardless of what the caregiver wants, more often than not, their cat has his or her own agenda. Oh. And he cat's refuse to read the rule book.

It's not critical that you raise the dose or that you missed a +4. Frankly, getting randome tests can be just as valuable, if not more valuable, than getting a curve.

I do think you have room to increase Topper's dose.
 
Well, of course I know, Topper is going to do as he darn well pleases!

I'll wait until tomorrow AM to raise, maybe I'll be functioning better by then so won't be so nervous.

Thank you Sienne.
 
Jan

I agree you have room to raise his dose if you want to do so. I know you are a little worried about him going too low.

It's ok to not be as aggressive as some of us are. So if a nadir in the 90s is workable for you, then it's perfectly fine to leave the dose and see what he'll do. Some of the best advice I was given was to dose for the nadir you want....whether it's 90s or 60s. Once the kitty is getting those nadirs then stop increasing the dose and let the numbers come to you. Topper doesn't know if he's in the 90s or 60s....it's all the same to him and it's all normal numbers. You can hold the dose and see if he just stops bouncing.

Or...you can increase the dose, bring the nadir down some, and that might also help the bouncy numbers smooth out a bit.

It's really what works best for you. Hope you feel better soon......sending you healing vines.
 
The increase to 4.25 brought Topper down more into the yellows at pre-shot and he's getting more blues and a few greens mid-cycle.

I also notice that Topper drops down more at night.

If you increase to the 4.5U, will his numbers at night drop too low for you to be comfortable?

Maybe, hold off on a dose increase until you are feeling better. Just in case he did go down too far at night and you needed to stay up with him. If you are not feeling well and have to stay up late at night, that could set back your health recovery.

Those are my thoughts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top