5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68; +5.5 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

katlady1974

Member Since 2013
I was up throughout the night testing Timber because he was going lower when i went to bed. he dipped to 72 at +6 and then started rising (99 at +8 and 165 at AMPS). Am I safe to give him his insulin this morning? I'm still WAY nervous about shooting under 200!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165 *question*

Are you going to be around to monitor, have plenty of strips, and have medium carb and high carb food so you can steer his numbers up? If those are all yes, then you are good to shoot. He is on his way up from the 72 last night and will likely bounce to higher numbers. Shooting now will help reduce the bounce, at least we hope so.
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165 *question*

Maria

If you can be home to check a +2 test and see where he is, then you can shoot. Good job.

If you need help at night, please post. I'm usually on until midnight PDT; Wendy is on late many nights, and Dyana is up really early EDT so we can often just tag team to help you.

Good job!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165 *question*

yup, i've got those things! and i'll be around today. so i'll give him a shot and monitor. thanks!! :-D

otherwise, he's come over and is laying on my leg for cuddles and gives big purrs when i pet him :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165

thanks Marje! good to know there's some night owls and early risers around if need be! :lol:
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165

Good job shooting this morning. Since you are able to monitor, this will help you gather extra data to be able to help in the future. With Furball I've been able to get extra tests in during the weekends so I'll have an idea of what she'll do during the week when I'm at work. The extra data will help you learn Timber's patterns.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165

Nice shooting!!

There is often someone around 24/7 on this board. Lantus Land is a busy place and we work together to make sure that those who are new to this process have the support and information that they need.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

how often does everyone usually feed their kitties? we've always left dry food out and they ate whenever they wanted. now that we've switched to wet only i feed twice a day (1 cat of FF for each cat at each feeding). it seems that a lot of people feed more often. just wondering what is "normal"? i work full time, so aside from the frozen FF option, it's not possible to feed more often.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

Beautiful cycle today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: And great job with testing too. :-D :-D We feed Zener during the first half of the cycle, about every 2 hours. He is having a little trouble maintaining his weight so we need to push food a bit. It is a little better if the pancreas has less food to deal with at a time. The frozen food is a good option. There are also automatic feeders to space out the food. How many cats do you have? Do they all eat the same thing? Any food hogs? People around here will have some suggestions for you.
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

Nice numbers!

Leo is fed 3 times a cycle. At pre-shot, +1 and +3. Equal amounts. He get's a half can at each but he doesn't eat all of it. We use an automatic feeder to space them out.

Cat Mate There are a couple versions of this one at pretty different prices. I'm not sure why, but I got a cheaper one. The timer goes up to 24 hours I think, and the accuracy is not great. I can't get exact hours, but I can get it within about 20 minutes or so, which has been good enough. It seems kinda cheap, but it works fine.

We also tried the Pet Safe which has 5 compartments and you can program to the minute.

The 2 compartment one has a freezer pack you can put under it. It is also nice because once food is made available, it doesn't go away. The 5 compartment is more flexible and more accurate, but if kitty doesn't finish a meal, when it rotates to provide the next set of food, the previous food goes away. Sometimes Leo wouldn't come when it rotated and he "lost out" on a meal. HOWEVER, this is a good feature if you want to program the last "meal" to be nothing so that kitty doesn't get access to food for 2 hours before shot time. We ended up with the 2 compartment one because he was such a lazy eater after the first feeding.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

i have 2 cats and they do eat together- i don't really know how to separate them. i put the food out in the morning or evening and they eat back and forth until it's gone. and Timber is the piggy! he's definitely gaining more weight since starting the lantus!! my other cat (Giz) has always been skinny and doesn't eat too much. so, even if i got the timed feeders, Timber would likely eat some of Giz's share too! i've just noticed that the dishes are now empty and it's +8 into the cycle. i'm thinking of giving another can of food at each feeding (so 3 cans between them instead of 2).
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

You can also try adding some water to the canned food, 1/4 to 1/2 a can, stir and mix, enough water to make it the consistency of applesauce. This serves to get more water into your cat and keep him hydrated, keeps the wet food moist and keeps it from drying out, can slow down the eating a bit, and helps your cat to feel fuller.

Is the 3 cans of food between the two cats the total food for the day? Or is that 3 cans per sitting for a total of 6 cans a day of food? I wasn't clear on the amount.

We want to make sure Giz gets his fair share of food. ;-)
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

For many of us, we use food as a means of steering the cycle. In general, frequent small meals is better so that the pancreas doesn't get overwhelmed. Obviously, that's not always possible if you aren't home. As Lisa mentioned, many of us use a timed feeder or will freeze a mixture of food and water into portions (I've used an ice cube tray) and leave them out.

It's also best to not feed during the 2 hours prior to a shot.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

Hello from one of the night shift folks! :lol: I'm not by nature up late, but my cat likes to dive at night, so I'm often up late if you have questions.

I use the QPet feeder, which also has a spot for an ice pack. One tip for us Canadians, if you decide to buy an autofeeder, shop on line, WAY cheaper than in the stores. Amazon.ca has a number of auto-feeders, and if you use the shopping links from the shopping page here, FDMB gets a percentage that helps it run.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

I'm just stopping in to say Welcome aboard! Gosh, Timber is so handsome, and already responding so well to being On The Juice!!

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber AMPS 165; +2 162; +4 63; +6 88

thanks for the suggestions!! just to clarify- they've been getting a total of 4 cans a day between the 2 of them- 2 in the morning, 2 in the evening. so i'm thinking of doing 6 cans a day between the 2 of them- 3 in the morning and 3 in the evening. mixing in water sounds like a good idea too as it get dry throughout the day/night!

and thanks for the heads up on the canadian feeders!!! :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

so Timber tested 109 at preshot. he's in the normal range so i'm thinking i shouldn't shoot?? but i know if i skip he'll go high again by morning and then it's a it of a roller coaster. should i wait and see how he is in 30 mins? what number do i need to see before i should shoot? help!!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

That is lower than you have shot before so it's a bit nerve wracking. Don't feed and test again in 20 mins. Can your schedule accommodate a later shot?
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

You can adjust the shot time by 30 mins per day (30 mins at one shot or 15 mins at each shot). He's probably going up now so if you can monitor tonight, have plenty of strips and have MC and HC food or honey or corn syrup, you could give his regular shot. He's getting into a nice pattern and we want to keep that going. Great job!
Liz
ETA: Happy Victoria Day!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

ok, i tested 30 mins later and he's gone up to 118. do you think i'm safe to give the full 1.75u? at what point should i drop to 1.5u??
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

The tight regulation protocol says to drop the dose by 0.25u when the BG drops below 50 or when the numbers are mostly normal (50-120) for a week. You can either shoot now or wait and test in another 30. (Don't feed until you are read to shoot)
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

Dosing with Lantus isn't based on the pre-shot numbers. It's based on the nadir. You would reduce the dose if Timber's numbers dropped below 50.

How do you feel about waiting another 20 min. are re-testing?
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

ok, i gave him his full dose at 945pm (30 mins late). i'll test him for a bit (i'm a night owl) to make sure he's doing ok.

thanks!! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

Good job! The 118 is the PMPS and I would call the 109 a +12 from this morning. Maybe you could note the 30 min stall on the spreadsheet. Be sure to check out the sticky on handling low numbers. You might want to print it out so you can make notes on it and you have it even if the board or Internet go down. Be sure to get a +1 and a +2. If these numbers are lower than 118, then you can expect an active cycle with lower numbers. In that case, you might want to give a little medium carb food to slow down the drop.
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 109- do i shoot tonight???

Another housekeeping item - could you update the subject line of the first post?
5/19 Timber PMPS 118 lowest preshot

It's my inner German, I like to keep these things tidy. :roll: :lol: I'm signing off for the night. I'll ask Anne to keep an eye out for you. She's the night owl around here.
Liz
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

ha! will do! :lol:

i tested at +2 and he's down to 88. i did change up the food by giving them 3 cans of FF mixed with water. so we'll see how fast they eat it now! Giz wasn't so sure at first- but Timber was just like "WOOHOO, there's FOOD!!!" :lol:
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

Liz is in the bed now, so i am checking in on you and Timber. I am Anne, Zener's other MamaBean, and the night duty bean at our house. Wow, timber is looking so great! :mrgreen: A lower BG @+2 than @ pmps could mean an active cycle, so testing again in an hour might be helpful. I'll be up for another two hours or so, and will check in.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

yes he's been fairly low since yesterday. i'm still new so it makes me nervous!!! :lol: i'll be around for a while too so i'll update with his tests! thanks :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

Timber is doing great and so are you.
I hope he doesn't go for too much excitement tonight.
It's always good to see kitties making progress.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

Ah, we have been doing this dance for two years now, and still get nervous, so don't worry about that. You are doing grea!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

Hi Maria, night shift checking in. :lol: Did you get a test after that 88? It is great to see Timber get into those healthy greens so soon after starting insulin. :-D It's a good thing you are a night owl. Some cats prefer to do their low numbers at night.

Another housekeeping thing, when you get new tests, could you go to your first post and modify it. There are a few of us that scan the boards looking to see if anyone needs help, and it's easiest if it's displayed there. So, your first post would say something like 5/19 TImber PMPS 118 +2 88 and anything else you gotten since then. Thanks!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

Alrighty, I see night shift Wendy is on duty! I'm off to bed now. Hope Timber is enjoying a lovely green surf. I-)
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118- lowest preshot

i tested at +4 and got 50 right on the nose. i'm going to test again in 30 mins. and that's with him grazing on his FF throughout the evening! i think last time he ate was about 30 mins ago.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50

Thanks for changing that first subject line. :-D

Looks like Timber might be looking for another reduction. I'd wait maybe 20 minutes and test again. If he goes below 50 he gets that reduction and no need to keep him there any longer. If he does go below 50, you can give him some high carb food. You went through the routine a couple of days ago. Are you comfortable handling low numbers now?
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50

yeah, i'm ok with dealing with it at this point. it just still freaks me out to shoot him when he's low.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39!

ugh! i tested him at +4.5 and he's down to 39. i've given him some FF turkey with gravy and he thinks he's hit the jackpot! :lol: i guess we're moving on down to 1.5u now!!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39!

Did you give him a couple of tsp worth? It's amazing how much they love the gravy. :lol: :lol: Test him again 20 minutes after he ate. We want him out of the 30's as fast as possible, but it takes about 20 minutes for the gravy to go from the stomach to the blood stream.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39!

yeah, he had about a tablespoon of it. he's acting normal. sitting on the floor looking around. just cleaned himself after eating. i'll test again in 10 mins and update!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39!

We don't want to feed too much at this stage, because you might have to keep feeding for a while and want him to still be hungry. 1-2 tsp is a good amount. I'll wait around for your next test to see how it's going. Depending on that next number, I might be off to nap for a bit before getting up for Neko's next test. As a quick reference, here is the note on handling low numbers.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68

wow, that food really hit his system! he jumped up to 68!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39!

A couple of other things while we are waiting for the next test. You can put multiple numbers in the spreadsheet for a given hour. For example, you could put 50; 39@4.5 in the same cell, but you'll have to go back and manually select the cell colour. If you take a look at Neko's SS from the night of the 15th, you can see what I did. I have to enter it once in the World Version and manually re-enter in the US version since it won't do the conversion. If you are only using the US tab it's a little less work. It's easier for people to see the data if it's all in the spreadsheet cells, instead of some in comments.

I'd think Timber has earned a deduction. We don't normally give back to back deductions, but it's been 4 cycles at this dose and you skipped a shot after the last deduction. Sometimes after a deduction, the cat will go low again in the next cycle or two because of the nature of the Lantus depot or shed. In that case we wouldn't give a second deduction.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68

ok, it only shows the 4, not the 4.5! i'm not good with technology!!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68

Great on the 68! Try giving him a little low carb food now, a tsp or two. We'd like him to surf there for a while. Make sure you keep track of how much you feed of what food when he's low. That'll help you next time he goes low.

You'll still have to be vigilant for a while, because the high carb can wear off. The LC might help him stay where his is now. Are you OK for another test in 1/2 hour? I'm going to nap for a bit and be back on.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68

he actually went and ate some of his normal food after finishing the gravy one. he likes to eat! :lol: i'll see if i can get him to eat some more though. i'm good for now- thanks!! :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68; +5.5

Looks like TImber is surfing. It's great that he ate his own food when low. My Neko likes to eat too. :-D

Good job tonight. Sounds like you are OK keeping an eye on Timber and testing for a while. Neko's done diving for the night so I'm off to sleep.
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68; +5.5

thanks for all of your help!! Glad Neko has evened out for the night! :-D

night night!
 
Re: 5/19 Timber PMPS 118; +2 88; +4 50; +4.5 39; +5 68; +5.5

I agree with Wendy on the reduction. Good luck with the new dose, and Congratulations!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top