5/19 Tarragon. PMPS 210. +2 307 NEW INSULIN QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
I am on my phone so havent updated my spreadsheet yet. Tarragon had benn running pink and red. I switched out his insulin last night. It was obviously a major part of the problem from his pmps tonight. I had increased his insulin over yhe last couple of weeks based on ineffective insulin. I can't do a full curve until Saturday. Should I be concerned with him at the high dose with the new insulin?? Should I decrease it until I can be with him all weekend??
 
are you saying you can't be around to test him? i forget how old you said the insulin was - maybe you said since february? is that right?
 
Yes. I will test tonight but cant be around tomorrow. It was March 14.

Also, tonight he threw up ( not real unusual for him) before he ate or had his shot. It was mainly foam but had that insulin smell.
 
Insulin isn't processed through the GI track so I'm not sure what you smelled.

I generally don't worry about new insulin but I also swap mine out after no more than 30 days.
 
True. I hadnt thought about that. My husband is the one who cleaned it up and said it smelled like the time I dropped an insulin bottle. Of course he is super sensitive to smells and over reacts at times. ;-)

Our vet had said the insulin should be good for up to 6 months. From Tarragon's numbers, it seemed like there might have been an issue with it. I am going to keep to the 30 day rule from now on.
 
Hi Melissa - I too switch out insulin after 30 days. back when I was using the vials however I could routinely get 3 months out of a vial. Not that I recommend that, but I could. Some people would get less. Hard to day if yours was bad or not, but probably a good idea that your started a new one. I hope it will bring numbers down for you.

If you can't be around to test, you could leave food out for tarragon while you are gone.

I hope your day was a good one.
 
I was able to get about 6 weeks of our vial. the current pen we're using we've had open since 4/7. on pure peanut gallery speculation- i think our pen is lasting a little longer because it is maintaining a constant sterile environment. (if we were shooting a higher dose right now, I would be switching pens at this point.)

and random note on the smell- i think lantus is has an acidic ph (4), which attribute a little to the smell, and kitty stomach acid is around 2.3 ph. Just in case you get this on a round of trivial pursuit. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top