5/19 Ruby +12 74/PMPS 70/+2 67/+3.5 54/+4.5 67/+5.5 68

Katherine&Ruby

Very Active Member
Yesterday on The Talented Ms. Ruby. :cat:

We have started the day on the lowest preshot ever for Ruby. I'm taking this as a sign she is feeling better. She ate a little LC mixed with a touch of MC, but doesn't seem too excited about food. Swallowed her Cerenia pill like a pro. Will watch her this morning.

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties and hugs to you beans. Happy Wednesday! :bighug:
 
Wow she's low. Hope she is feeling good and ready to return to the remission trail. Surf Safely Ruby. Sending continued healing prayers to you both. How are you feeling Katherine? Hope you haven't forgotten you are mending too :)
Sending healing hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If you get desperate, you can always rub karo or honey on her gums. I hope she feels better and eats for you soon. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Carla. I will do that if she drops more. She dropped a bit yesterday from +6 to PMPS, so I have to keep an eye on her. She doesn't seem to be well--sitting on the floor of the living room all meatloafed and going to her feeder, sniffing the food and walking away. Not sure if it's the nausea or low numbers making her feel badly.
 
Guess we're both in the high carb club this morning! Hope Ruby feels better soon.
Healing prayers for both of you Katherine. I hope she starts picking up on her appetite and her numbers. Prayers that this will be manageable at home. Prayers from me and Dolly that everything will be all right. Circle of hugs to keep Ruby safe and well :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Meatloafing is typically a sign of pain vs nausea.
Did they happen to prescribe any Buprenorphine?
 
Meatloafing is typically a sign of pain vs nausea.
Did they happen to prescribe any Buprenorphine?
They did not prescribe bupe and I even asked the IM about it after Ruby came home. She's not doing the droopy head/eye squinting thing so that's a good sign.
 
I’m sorry she is uncomfortable :(.
How are the ears? Take a picture and start a Ruby Medical album. Very helpful to share with the vets vs trying to describe. You are also able to see a spectrum of her positions which are helpful.

Old pictures from T: 1st one just pain and 2nd nausea with pain

upload_2021-5-19_13-37-52.jpeg
upload_2021-5-19_13-35-0.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-19_13-35-0.jpeg
    upload_2021-5-19_13-35-0.jpeg
    62.8 KB · Views: 248
  • upload_2021-5-19_13-37-52.jpeg
    upload_2021-5-19_13-37-52.jpeg
    52 KB · Views: 256
I’m sorry she is uncomfortable :(.
How are the ears? Take a picture and start a Ruby Medical album. Very helpful to share with the vets vs trying to describe. You are also able to see a spectrum of her positions which are helpful.

Old pictures from T: 1st one just pain and 2nd nausea with pain

View attachment 60966
View attachment 60965
On second thought, she's not looking so good. The ears are a tell tale sign.

IMG_2555.jpeg

I have never had a vet good with emails but the AMC IM seems to be very much on it in terms of responding so I will try emailing her now.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2555.jpeg
    IMG_2555.jpeg
    37 KB · Views: 171
Ruby has been floating in the 60s most of the afternoon and she doesn't show any sign of wanting to eat despite giving her mirtazapine. I am accustomed to low numbers but I am very worried she will not eat tonight. I am heading out now to get some baby food to syringe, but in case that is not successful, I am thinking of skipping her shot. Anyone with thoughts on this?
 
Ruby...please eat.:banghead:
Poor you and poor Ruby. You are giving her all of her meds and she still won't eat for you? Do you have ondansetron for her as well or just cerenia? HOw about pain meds?

My 2 cents: if you can't get her to eat and syringing isn't an option, I'd be inclined to skip or because she had DKA give a drop? She went so low today and is still in the "trust issues" zone.
 
The day's numbers: AMPS 54/+2 37/+2.75 51/+3.75 50/+5 55/+6.5 61/+8.5 66/+10.5 67

Ruby...please eat.:banghead:
Poor you and poor Ruby. You are giving her all of her meds and she still won't eat for you? Do you have ondansetron for her as well or just cerenia? HOw about pain meds?

My 2 cents: if you can't get her to eat and syringing isn't an option, I'd be inclined to skip or because she had DKA give a drop? She went so low today and is still in the "trust issues" zone.
Thanks, Lyla. I had an exhausting work day and I am feeling overwhelmed worrying about her eating AND whether she will go too low. I bought some Gerbers ham with gravy and I have the syringes ready, but I am not confident about doing it and fear she will freak out. I am not even confident about giving her a drop of insulin right now. I know she can bounce back after her hospital experience, so I might let it go tonight and see what happens. I will wait to see if she gets over it and eats later but right after I tested her a few minutes ago I placed a bowl of of favorite Weruva MC under her nose and she went and crawled behind the window curtain to hide. It's not looking very good. All she's had to eat is a little food this morning and a lot of Greenies pill pockets.
 
Ruby has been floating in the 60s most of the afternoon and she doesn't show any sign of wanting to eat despite giving her mirtazapine. I am accustomed to low numbers but I am very worried she will not eat tonight. I am heading out now to get some baby food to syringe, but in case that is not successful, I am thinking of skipping her shot. Anyone with thoughts on this?
I have no expertise on this but I feel like you should skip if she doesn’t eat.:nailbiting: It will bump up her numbers for a day but I think you will feel that she is safer going that route. Love and prayers for you and Ruby and extra prayers from Dolly to the appetite enforcer of kitty cats :p :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: (I need a nap, sorry for the name oops)
 
Last edited:
I forgot about ondansetron and mirtazapine. Darn it. Any chance they will give you cyproheptadine to use as an appy stimulant? Ondansetron just seems to work soooo well for so many kitties including Butters. I went through the same stress trying to figure out the right combination of meds and battling vets who refused to give them to me. It's frustrating.

I like the bupe but I also found that a low dose of gabapentin, 25mg, works very well for Butters. Maybe that's another option for you? Butters will often eat the gabapentin capsule if I put butter on it and mix it in food.

It really sounds like you should skip.:bighug:I wanted to suggest it but didn't know if I should because Ruby has had DKA so may be prone to ketones? I'd recommend checking for ketones unless someone with more experience comes by and says otherwise.
You have enough stress. You don't need the stress around wondering if you need to syringe feed her and how that will go. Anyhow, you know that she is going to get back on track very quickly, as she proved today:cat:.
 
I usually only needed a very tiny amount of cyproheptadine (like a sliver) to get butters eating (as long as her nausea was being managed) and it was always the first med I stopped. But more often than not, all Butters needs just the right anti-nausea meds and then she will eat.
 
I forgot about ondansetron and mirtazapine. Darn it. Any chance they will give you cyproheptadine to use as an appy stimulant? Ondansetron just seems to work soooo well for so many kitties including Butters. I went through the same stress trying to figure out the right combination of meds and battling vets who refused to give them to me. It's frustrating.

I like the liquid bupe but I also found that a low dose of gabapentin, 25mg, works very well for Butters. Maybe that's another option for you? Butters will often eat the gabapentin capsule if I put butter on it and mix it in food.

It really sounds like you should skip.:bighug:I wanted to suggest it but didn't know if I should because Ruby has had DKA so may be prone to ketones? I'd recommend checking for ketones unless someone with more experience comes by and says otherwise.
You have enough stress. You don't need the stress around wondering if you need to syringe feed her and how that will go. Anyhow, you know that she is going to get back on track very quickly, as she proved today:cat:.
Oh Lyla, you really are a gem for trying to help me. :bighug: I have cyproheptadine but I can’t give it within 24 hours of mirtazapine as they interact badly as well. It’s such a game of chance. Regarding the pain meds, if the IM will not give it to me then maybe her primary vet will tomorrow. The IM said to let her know if Ruby stays eating because if not they can schedule the biopsy, but I want to be able to exhaust all possibility of supportive care at home before I resort to it.

A little glimmer of hope: Ruby just ate a mouthful of the MC food I left in her feeder.
 
I know this doesn’t help now, but in the future use the anti nausea &/or pain meds (if/once you get them) first before using the Mirtazapine. You want to control any nausea &/or pain first and that usually results in them eating vs using Mirtazapine and stimulating their appetite. The reason for this is even if the Mirtazapine works & they eat despite their nausea &/or pain, those symptoms will still be there & they will associate what they ate with the discomfort they most likely will experience after eating. This results in aversion :(.

I hope she continues to eat for you:bighug:. Many small meals vs larger meals definitely work best with these situations.

Hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug:!!
 
I usually only needed a very tiny amount of cyproheptadine (like a sliver) to get butters eating (as long as her nausea was being managed) and it was always the first med I stopped. But more often than not, all Butters needs just the right anti-nausea meds and then she will eat.

I wish Ruby is as straightforward! Perhaps I do have the face the music on her intestinal issues and treat her for them.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know this doesn’t help now, but in the future use the anti nausea &/or pain meds (if/once you get them) first before using the Mirtazapine. You want to control any nausea &/or pain first and that usually results in them eating vs using Mirtazapine and stimulating their appetite. The reason for this is even if the Mirtazapine works & they eat despite their nausea &/or pain, those symptoms will still be there & they will associate what they ate with the discomfort they most likely will experience after eating. This results in aversion :(.

I hope she continues to eat for you:bighug:. Many small meals vs larger meals definitely work best with these situations.

Hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug:!!

I did give Cerenia hours before the Mirtazapine as I am aware of this nausea vs appetite stimulant dynamic and only gave Mirtaz when the Cerenia and antacid did not seem to help. I keep track of all of this stuff on my SS in a Supplements/Meds column because I easily forget if and when I give her pills. So sadly giving the two close together isn’t the problem. Maybe the mirtaz makes Ruby feel badly. I don’t know. Thanks for supporting us, Amy. It’s very much appreciated. :bighug:
 
I have no expertise on this but I feel like you should skip if she doesn’t eat.:nailbiting: It will bump up her numbers for a day but I think you will feel that she is safer going that route. Love and prayers for you and Darcy and extra prayers from Dolly to the appetite enforcer of kitty cats :p :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
So much love to you and Dolly, Adrienne, and thank you for always cheering us on. It helps me so much. :bighug:
 
I hope Ruby starts to feel better soon...it's so difficult when they're not feeling well. Those are some interesting numbers...

Sending prayers and strong healing vines your way this evening!
 
I’m sorry that you’ve tried all the tools currently in the old toolbox and it’s not done the trick :(. If there is any positive here, you will be able to tell them what did not work! Any & all information is helpful!

Bagel :bighug::bighug:? Maybe the Guinness now?!
 
Oh Lyla, you really are a gem for trying to help me. :bighug: I have cyproheptadine but I can’t give it within 24 hours of mirtazapine as they interact badly as well. It’s such a game of chance. Regarding the pain meds, if the IM will not give it to me then maybe her primary vet will tomorrow. The IM said to let her know if Ruby stays eating because if not they can schedule the biopsy, but I want to be able to exhaust all possibility of supportive care at home before I resort to it.

A little glimmer of hope: Ruby just ate a mouthful of the MC food I left in her feeder.
Keep on eating Ruby girl, I know you don’t want to visit strange places with strange people. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
PMPS = 70. I gave Ruby a drop dose 1 hour late after she ate all of the MC I left in her bowl and then some more sprinkled with some Dr. Elsey's kibble. I will keep watch over her as much as I can but feel heartened that she ate about an ounce of food.
 
Since you know she recovered so quickly from days with no insulin at the hospital, a skip tonight will be a mere blip to Miss Ruby. OK, make that reduced dose as I see you shot.

Ondansetron is much better at controlling nausea than Cerenia. I'd use it first and work any appy stim around that fact. I hope the fact that she ate means she's coming round. :bighug:
 
Since you know she recovered so quickly from days with no insulin at the hospital, a skip tonight will be a mere blip to Miss Ruby. OK, make that reduced dose as I see you shot.

Ondansetron is much better at controlling nausea than Cerenia. I'd use it first and work any appy stim around that fact. I hope the fact that she ate means she's coming round. :bighug:
Thank you, Wendy. I was giving her Cerenia because that seemed to work for her in the hospital and she had been eating well for the past two days. The Mirtaz must be working and getting her to eat a little. Right now she is sitting in the litter box, never a good sign. Sigh.
 
+2 = 67. Ruby just ate about an ounce of MC. I have completely lost track of what I've been feeding her this evening, but happy she is eating something.
 
+3.5 = 54. Should have listened to my gut and relied on the depot to guide her through the night. :banghead: Guess I'll be staying up for a while, although this is much better than what happened this morning.
 
I've been up since 3.... clock just turned 6.
My eyes is looking in each direction.
Hope Ruby is just surfing and no intervention is needed :bighug:
 
I've been up since 3.... clock just turned 6.
My eyes is looking in each direction.
Hope Ruby is just surfing and no intervention is needed :bighug:
Wow, I don't know how you manage on so little sleep! I'm a wreck if I don't get at least 7 hours. I won't be getting that tonight, but it's my own fault. Ruby's got me on a real rollercoaster today.

I see Mauer didn't like her dose increase and kept you up poking her. :(
 
Wow, I don't know how you manage on so little sleep! I'm a wreck if I don't get at least 7 hours. I won't be getting that tonight, but it's my own fault. Ruby's got me on a real rollercoaster today.

I see Mauer didn't like her dose increase and kept you up poking her. :(
7 hours?! I go to sleep +1, and wake up +10/+11. Sleep is the best thing eeeever!

I think she likes it a bit too much. One dip down, two to go!

Hopefully you can sneak in a nap later! :D:bighug:
 
I am thinking that tomorrow morning depending on the preshot I will either stick with this drop dose or skip the shot altogether. I can't handle another day like today with her appetite being so iffy. I'm sure Ruby would enjoy a break from the pokies as well.
 
But you test so much...I hardly see any gaps in your SS! Are you so good at testing now you can do it in your sleep?
I don't need to be fully awake anymore :oops:o_O
And that's kinda dangerous cause I prefer sleeping, so my threshold of when to stay up is way lower than in her AM cycles.. cause my sleepy brain wants to go back to sleep :p
 
Back
Top