5/19 Rocky PMPS 339 +1.5 287 +2.5 247 +5 197 +7 273

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118943&p=1244496#p1244496

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 162 +.5 235 +1 214 +2 118 +4 60 +4.5 70 +5 81 +6 62 +6.5 71 +7 69 +7.575 +8 88 +9 101 +11 109
PMPS 210 +.5 134 +1 128 +2 88 +3 57 +3.5 44 +4 52 +4.5 62 +5 83 +5.5 97 +11 203

Well, I wouldn't say that I had a hard time keeping Rocky's numbers above 50 overnight. I would say that I did not feed him enough food to begin with for his PM mini-meals. I had reduced the quantity of food that he normally eats by one-half. In addition, I had fed him the 5% FF Beef Feast. It was my feeble attempt to get less calories into him. It didn't work. :roll: I am probably wrong about all of this... I usually am wrong more than I am right. :lol:

His BG went to 44 at PMPS +3.5, so fairly early in the cycle. That's when I fed him (2)TBS of the 33% carb Science Diet Light Chicken and Liver. His BG came back p 10 points within 30 minutes and steadily climbed slowly after that extreme HC. However, even though his BG was at 52 right after the 44 I fed him one more time. I didn't really think it was necessary to feed him when his BG was at 52 but I did it anyway just to be sure that he wouldn't drop below 50 again.

I did not reduce his insulin dose this morning. He got a 1.75u. Instead, I increased both the amount of food and the amount of carbs I fed him. Instead of 5% carbs he is getting 8% carbs. Instead of 1/8 can of food he is getting 1/4 can of food. I will do this for all of his AM mini-meals during this cycle.

And who knows, he might start a bounce today anyway. :roll:

Rocky is VERY alert and happy this morning. That may change later on when he realizes he didn't get much sleep last night, much like me. :YMSIGH: :lol:

At AMPS +2 it looks like he is headed for a bounce today with a BG of 368... looks like we're headed for 400 or higher. I'm not going to feed any more mini-meals this morning as he ate a lot last night and he is not begging me for any food today.
 
Re: held dose 5/19 Rocky AMPS 201 +1 248 +2 368 +5 338

Wow Rocky! What is going on in your world?

Sounds like Mom has her hands full with you today! Be gentle and get some sleep. You are such a great Bean! :-D
 
Re: held dose 5/19 Rocky AMPS 201 +1 248 +2 368 +5 338

yikes - what a bounce today. but no red or black that i'm seeing yet. great numbers last night.
 
Re: MASS in left ear- 5/19 Rocky PMPS 339 1.5 287

My poor baby.. Looking at Rocky's ears tonight there are so many poke marks.. gosh darn it. With 287 at PMPS +1.5 could he possibly be breaking his bounce already? I just don't know..

I was cleaning off my desk tonight and I had 6 months worth of paperwork stacked up in piles. I was going through some of Rocky's bills and found some notes that I taken after speaking with the vets who saw him in the hospital. I had COMPLETELY forgotten that there was (is?) a problem with both of his EARS!!! ohmygod_smile

I remember now that his ears were filthy, and one vet wanted me to squirt this special water/medicine into them every day to try and clean them out so that they could see into them. When Rocky first went DKA no one could see his eardrums, the inside of his ears were that dirty. I bought the liquid they wanted me to use in his ears but then I ended up moving him to a different hospital right away. They also confirmed that they could not see either of his eardrums. The vets at the second hospital thought that squirting that much liquid into his ears could be a very bad decision if both of his ears drums had ruptured. Instead, they used Tresaderm while he was in the hospital and then had me continue to use it for another week when I took him home. He hasn't been back to the vet since the DKA. They also had me give him 1 tab of Clavamox 2x a day, which I did do.

The note I wrote to myself says:
Right ear has a thickening, could be a mass... Left ear is even worse.

How could I forget something like that? :roll: One of the main reasons that I started feeding Rocky the venison was to eliminate the possibility of a food allergy to poultry. I thought that if he is having an allergic reax to it, he might be getting something wrong with his ears just like what would happen to a child. I didn't originally start feeding him the venison just because it has zero carbs.

Ok. so now I am negotiating the horrendous bill with the animal hospital where Rocky stayed for most of his DKA treatment. I am hoping tomorrow that we have it figured out. Either the hospital will give KKR the non-profit a discount as Rocky was a rescue cat, or they won't. Either way it should be decided and I pay the bill tomorrow.

I don't think I'd take Rocky back there for this anyway. He might need to see some sort of ear specialist to help with this matter. The only treatment answer that 5 vets who have had a look at his ears and decided, "a thickening" and "possible mass" was to squirt some water on the mass or to give him oral antibiotics for an infection.

Can anybody please advise me about this and how best to help Rocky??

Maybe an unresolved ear issue is causing his numbers to stay elevated? :roll: confused_cat
 
Re: MASS in left ear- 5/19 Rocky PMPS 339 +1.5 287 +2.5 247

Maybe a bounce breaking cycle tonight?

Where on Rocky's ear is the mass? My civie Theo just had a cyst on the ear removed, but it was on the outside base of the ear. Is the thickening on the outside or the inside? If there was some infection going on, it would contribute to higher numbers. Carla's Furball has had to go on ear meds a couple of times this last year. Any chance of posting a pic of it?

There are other products out there with beef, lamb or venison you could try that have 2-5% carbs if you want to stay away from chicken for a while and see if it improves his ears.
 
5/19 Rocky PMPS 339 +1.5 287 +2.5 247 +5 197

I remember now that they cleaned his ears out pretty good at the second hospital. They told me the mass on the inside of his ear was very small, maybe the size of the head of a pin? I don't know if this could bother him or not.. I will have to call and ask more about that mass and what they have written down in their file about him. I'm getting old. It's hard to remember what they told me six months ago.

His ears do not seem to bother him whatsoever. Nothing I can see that tells me he is in any kind of pain. I just wonder if that small mass should be removed though because I would never want it to grow.

Even at 197 right now he is REALLY begging and crying for food. I think I'm going to give him about 1/2 can of the 11% FF Chunk Chicken and then go to bed for two hours.Will re-test him at 4am.
 
Re: MASS in left ear- 5/19 Rocky PMPS 339 +1.5 287 +2.5 247

My civvie Tux gets mast cell tumors. They tend to be small, rounded, skin colored to pink. They can be locally invasive. She's had 4 removed.

If they are not internal and you have them removed properly (clear margins), those ones won't come back. If the animal is prone to them, as Tux is, regular skin checking is needed to catch them early and small.
 
Re: MASS in left ear- 5/19 Rocky PMPS 339 +1.5 287 +2.5 247

Thanks for that info..I need to have the inside of Rocky's ears checked again. I can't see anything on the outside at all that looks like a tumor or a bump. Looks like a normal cat ear to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top