5/19 quick drop this morning for Robbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
Not quite sure what is up - I was up again with a freaked out dog (the smoke detectors in the house keep chirping some sort of short circuit) from 4:30 to 5:15 and at 6:30/7am I was foggy but followed the sliding scale - it was only when I punched the numbers in the SS that I saw he was 324 at PMPS +9 and 310 at amps??? going down? He had a snack at +9 I know it's not really a big move and could be no move at all but now he's gone from 310 at amps with breakfast to 160 at +4 - seems dramatic to me. He was screaming hungry so I gave him 1/2 a can and have to leave for a bit will test him again in about 2 hours and see where we are.
 
That is a pretty dramatic drop. Your keeping an eye on him for the next few hours is a good one. He certainly keeps things interesting.....
 
Since you gave him some food, he'll be fine. That is a nice drop!
Carl
 
11:30 and he's 113 the food didn't seem to slow the drop so I gave him a spoonful of the high cal mixed in with some more ofhis reg food cause I have to leave for 4 hours and now i'm scared to death.
 
don't know how long it takes for the food to kick in 20 minutes later and he's 106 - had him lick some ice cream off my finger and Ill be late now for my appointment but I cant leave him dropping like this He's acting fine - cleaning himself and obviously very happy to have gotten treats and more food - I really don't know what to think - this is just messing me up today big time. now he's curled up sleeping gonna test again in 3 minutes and hope to heck he's stable or climbing a bit from the ice cream maybe?
 
Technically he is still in normal BG range. I understand your concern about his drop quickly.
The ice cream has a lot of sugar in it. Can you get another test in before you leave?

Of coarse he is going to pull this...you have somewhere to be.
 
Yesterday you shot the same on a lower preshot number... and he stayed in the blues. Although he's a little lower today, like Jenn said, you're still in safe numbers. If you've got to go, I'd just leave him a little food out - not in his face, but where he can get it if he wants/needs it.
 
They always do this when you are ready to leave. How many hours since the shot? Seems like you should be around nadir? If so, just leaving out some food should keep him okay.

He came a lot at +4 but seems to be still surfing and in good numbers. He'd have to drop 60 more points before we would get nervous.
 
WaIted till he went up a bit but had to leave he was 112 when we left. A friends gonna check on him so fingers crossed please I'm not happy but think hell be ok
 
Thanks everyone for the input - what concerned me most was that I gave him food and he was still dropping - had I been staying home I wouldn't have been so concerned and it would have been interesting to see how it all panned out without my meddling around with giving him food - etc. He only had about 3 licks of watered down ice cream off my finger so not like he got that much - I just thought it would bring him up a bit as I guessed he was still going down cause his nadair is about +7 and we were at +5 he got to 101 but came back up to 112 by the time I left. Than I couldn't post cause I was driving - so thank you all for your feed back and kind words. Tonight I have to go back out again - going to be interesting to see where we are and what I should shoot. Nobody to check on him tonight so I"m going to be cautious.
 
Hi Ellen,
This was actually a good day. And the food you gave did slow the drop. In other words, if not for the food and ice cream, he would have gone lower, so you did exactly the right thing at the right time. You may or may not see a bounce in the PMPS number. What this tells you is that dose is a little rich for that BG number, at least today it was.
Bottom line. He went lower than you expected, but not too low. But this is what you and we have been hoping to see! A nice response to the juice. There is also the possibilty, which you mentioned in the first post, that the AMPS wasn't for sure a rising number. At best, I would guess it was a flat spot in the cycle, not rising but not still falling either. Obviously, a very stressful morning for you, but I think not for Robbie? It's never easy to deal with when you can't be there, and I understand how hard it was to leave when you had to. But overall, a good day so far.

Carl
 
He was 379 at pmps but after all the food I dumped into his system today and that fact that he got dinner at 4:30 pm I'm going off the sliding scale that Robin made for me tonight and shooting 4.00 not 4.5 - I just can't take the stress of not being here and thinking he's going really low. I won't be home till about 11pm and will check him than which will be a bit over pmps+4 so that's a good spot to catch where he is I hope.
Thanks again for the kind and thoughtful words Carl - I know you are right I'm just getting more and more frustrated as my work schedule is getting more and more complicated which will leave little time for me to be checking on him on certain days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top