5/19 Pixie 0.75u PMPS=85, +2.5=79, +3.5=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good morning! Another beautiful morning in Southwestern Ontario. We've been very fortunate to have such lovely weather for our Victoria long week-end. I hope it continues as the local farmers really need to get seeding but it's been so wet this spring.

Pixie has been having hairball and vomiting issues since yesterday evening. He hasn't had these issues for quite some months so it caught me off guard. I used to treat the hairballs with laxatone but as I look at the ingredients, it is chockfull of sugar. Actually, when I think back to when Pixie was diagnosed with diabetes, I had been using laxatone for about 1 month prior to his diagnosis - hmmmm. Pixie's numbers are a bit up today partly because I gave him a mix of MC and LC food at about +4 to keep him going through the night and perhaps partly because of the furballs (not sure?). He hadn't eaten as much in the pm and I knew I needed a bit more sleep so out came the MC. I did check on him through the night but it was just a visual check with no testing. I'm trying to give him some longer breaks between testing because I want his ears to heal. He has a few scabs on both his ears from all the testing.

As you can see, I gave Pixie a skinny 1u dose both yesterday evening and this morning. We'll see how he does and if his numbers start bouncing up, I will resume the full 1u dose. I've had a chance to read some of the condos and I'm very impressed with some of our new kitties. Their owners are really proficient had managing the diabetes, some for the very first time. Kudos to you :-D

Julie, I looked at your insulin video and I realized this was the one that I had looked at a few weeks ago. It's fantastic and it helped me to change my bad habits with the lantus. Since watching it, I am much better at dosing and keeping the lantus as uncontaminated as possible. Your video is well done and I can hear Punkin in the background meowling away. Adorable! Great work, Julie!

Have a great day everyone and keep smiling :smile: .

Yesterday's condo link - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118928
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126, skinny 1u

Good luck with the reducie, Anne. Pixie has responded so well to the food changes and the insulin. That's awesome!

Let us know if you find something that helps with the hairballs. We're still struggling to find that magic "cure." People did recommend to me a little unsalted (real) butter. We also tried some (pure) coconut oil based on recommendations. I actually found that Jersey will get up the hairballs after eating Orijen treats. It's the strangest thing. After eating 4 or 5 treats, we find a hairball the next morning. Coincidence? I have no idea. :?

I did see your kind words from a couple of days ago, and while it's very much appreciated, there is certainly no need to thank me. I'm just trying to pay forward the kindness that was shown to me. I can't do much, but I try to do what I can. Seeing the progress Pixie is making is so wonderful. Perhaps remission is in the near future (anti-jinx)?

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126, skinny 1u, +1.5=88, +2.5=52, +2.75=

I guess the higher AMPS didn't have much effect on Pixie as he is doing his typical dive in the first couple of hours. I'm still feeding LC food but will move to MC+LC mix if this next test at +2.75 shows him dipping lower. I wonder if I should just reduce to 0.75u instead of doing the skinny 1u - although I bet there isn't much difference between the two.

I'm venturing a guess now but I have a theory and the premise of my theory is that Pixie no longer needs insulin. The reason I say this is because I see the typical signs of diabetes, increased thirst and appetite, every time he gets his shot of insulin. In addition, the shot of insulin seems to rocket him downhill soon after the injection. As the hours go by and he stabilizes, he no longer is hanging by the water bowl and his appetite is weaker. I'm probably out in left field with this but I thought I'd voice my ideas to see if this is a possibility. Off to do my test, be back soon.
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126, skinny 1u, +1.5=88, +2.5=52

I guess Pixie is answering my question, he gets a dose reduction this evening. He won't touch the MC food, not even mixed in with LC so I went straight to gravy but didn't have much in the can. I gave him what I had and will test at +3. I have since obtained another can of grilled fancy feast and will open it if he needs to have his numbers bumped up again. I guess the last shot of gravy will tell me if giving just a little does anything, number-wise for Pixie. Back soon! Anne
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126,+1.5=88,+2.5=52,+2.75=49,+3.2=52

Starting to go up from 48 to 52 in less than half hour, and is eating his MC+LC mix. I will test at about +3.6 to see if he continues to climb or if he needs more to bring him up to safer levels. You know, no matter how many times I do this, and this has happened quite few times in the last 10 days or so, my adrenalin kicks in, my heart starts to race and I'm drenched in sweat. These dips sure take their toll on both of us - he's usually knocked out for a little while after and I'm bushed.
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126,+1.5=88,+2.5=52,+2.75=49,+3.2=52

Woot Woot! Yay Pixie!

I wouldn't say Pixie doesn't need insulin .....yet. But it won't be long....
You want to continue supporting the pancreas as long as you can so you continue down the dosing scale until you are at basically one drop. Microdosing.... :-D :o :-D
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126,+1.5=88,+2.5=52,+2.75=49,+3.2=52

Hi guys .. well go pixie go! Numbers are looking good, nice job on the 49 .. Hope the next reduction does as well! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126,+1.5=88,+2.5=52,+2.75=49,+3.2=52

Nice job Pixie. Yes, it is nervewracking,but Pixie is needing less insulin and is in great numbers so that's great. Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 5/19 Pixie AMPS=126,+2.75=49,+3.2=52, +3.6=58

Thank-you for all your kind words of support and encouragement. Pixie is on his way up again but with a little less gravy this time, so that's good to know. I noticed the last few times I picked him up that he seems to be in pain because he makes a kind of wincing-like sound which he hasn't done before. I decided to give him 0.1ml of bupe to see if that helps. I have a feeling Pixie's pancreas may be acting up today, I hope it's mild and doesn't last long.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top