5/19 Mr. Kink AMPS - 419 - from red to blue!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin & Mr. Kink

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: LINK

So, I know I shouldn't get TOO excited just yet because I know patience is the name of the game, but Mr. Kink just got his first LEGIT BLUE today!!! Couldn't be more excited. Hopefully this means the Lantus is starting to do its work! I was so bummed this morning because his number was so high, the highest it's ever been in the AM, but I JUST tested him before giving him a midday snack, and got a 198! :razz: I gave him a ton of kissies, which I don't think he really enjoyed, but I did!!

We have a long road ahead of us, but that blue number today gave me hope, and YOU GUYS give me hope.
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

OMG...I am ENCHANTED by his name!!

This is our first time visiting you...

Loving that he got a blue!!

:-D :-D

celi & binks
 
That's great news!!!! Could you please update your subject line to show his tests? We'd love that :-D

Here's some great info on spot checks:

BECOMING DATA READY

Let's talk specifically for Lantus and Levemir. This is about fine tuning your curves.
Are you data ready to handle a lower preshot number?

This is where the very early cycle spot checks (those +1's, +2's) and those very late cycle spot checks (the +10's, +11's) come into play. Call them the "neglected" spot checks. Everyone gets those +6 spot checks, but there is a reason to collect data in the very early and very late part of the cycle.

Say you get a preshot of 150. Well if you've collected the data on the average time it takes the insulin to start having any effect for your cat and what happens after +12, then you might see that shooting a 150 is actually very safe in your cat. Kitty will be in the 200's before the insulin starts working. You are then using the lag time (aka overlap and carryover) between shooting and effect time to your advantage.

So why the +10's and +11's? Well say you are on day 5 of a dose increase change and your storage shed is now not only full, it is overflowing... and your +10 or +11 was way higher than your preshot. Good way to stay out of trouble cause now you know you would have shot a still dropping number, not a good idea. so what is the plan then?.... keep testing, and not 2 hours later, every 20-30 minutes would be better, so you can catch the minute it turns and do not loose all your overlap. If you miss the rise and cat is way up there BG wise before you shoot, remember the number is just going to continue to rise in those hours before the insulin has a chance to kick in, and you have a roller coaster curve going rather than the flat curve that is ideal.

Also some Lantus and Levemir users notice a dip at the end of the cycle, meaning that their preshot is always a bit lower than their +10 or +11. It is important to know if your cat is one of those because if you are not raising your dose because your PS doesn't seem to call for it, yet your nadir is not so hot... this could be the reason why.

If you want to choose less important times to test, really the +8's and +9's and the +4's and +5's are the numbers that yield the least amount of important data once you have well established the nadir in your cat. Yes, get them here or there on spot checks, but do not forget to get the "neglected" spot checks... the very early and very late parts of cycle. They are more useful than most realize.

Know thy cat. Be data ready to handle the situation.

The +1 spot check is really nice because it tells you whether Mr. Kink is getting food spikes or not. This is important because if you are faced with a dropping number at shot time, you'll know whether he's going to spike up with food after you shoot or whether you need to stall and let him rise because he doesn't spike.

The +2 is one we recommend that you try and get as much as possible. In a typical lantus cycle, if the +2 is much higher than the PS, then you are likely to not see much downward movement. If it's the same, then you should be prepared for a typical lantus cycle (see below) meaning kitty will likely come down some time during the cycle. If it is much lower, then you should be prepared for a possibly big drop early.

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
mybuddybinks said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

OMG...I am ENCHANTED by his name!!

This is our first time visiting you...

Loving that he got a blue!!

:-D :-D

celi & binks

Celi, you are funny. I would have said "entertained" or "I laughed." But you are ENCHANTED :lol: :lol: :lol:

Welcome to Lantus Land, Caitlin! I've been a little slacker lately and so I'm trying to go around and meet the new kitties and beans. I'm here for Simon, who is 13 and was diagnosed this January. Things are looking pretty good lately. . .paws crossed! Best wishes getting the hang of the Lantus and the whole dance!

Cat_Dance_tKCwYbvlDUpfVhF6NDlxw.jpg
 
The blue is lovely!!

Just an observation.... Don't be upset if Mr. Kink decides to bounce off of that very pretty blue. Chances are that his liver has forgotten what it's like to hang out in normal numbers. A bounce would be a very normal response.
 
mybuddybinks said:
OMG...I am ENCHANTED by his name!!

LOL, thank you. We call him Kinky for short, and it never sounds weird to us except when we introduce him to people for the first time and have to hastily explain it'sbecauseofthekinkinhistail!!

kim and simon said:
OMG, who is the other kitty in the profile pic? So cute that they are hugging~!

That's Angel! She's his BFF, playfighting buddy, naptime buddy, his cougar girlfriend (she's 14)...the list goes on. That's a cuddle session post-play fighting. Sometimes they just fall asleep after they've been "fighting" and don't bother to change positions. We always capture the moments when we can!!

ebc4315c46a711e19e4a12313813ffc0_7.jpg


Sienne and Gabby said:
Don't be upset if Mr. Kink decides to bounce off of that very pretty blue. Chances are that his liver has forgotten what it's like to hang out in normal numbers. A bounce would be a very normal response.

I'll definitely keep that in mind, Sienne!

Mr. Kink is keeping a close eye on his BG numbers...

photo3.jpg
 
Caitlin & Mr. Kink said:
LOL, thank you. We call him Kinky for short, and it never sounds weird to us except when we introduce him to people for the first time and have to hastily explain it'sbecauseofthekinkinhistail!!

I'm so glad you do that because I've already been calling him Kinky to myself :lol:

Cute pics and congratulations on your first blue :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top