5/19 Jill AMPS 225 | +3 99 | +4.75 97 | +6.75 123 | PMPS 240 | +2 194 | +4 149

We couldn't get a pee sample at home and her bladder was empty while at the vets, so nothing yet. The vet said she's better managed than most diabetic cats and I said - but not well enough yet!
 
There were times I had to leave my cat because they couldn’t get a sample. When checking for a UTI you don’t want a sample from home. It needs to be sterile to see if there’s an infection.

It’s good for you your dosing was not questioned. Vets tend to keep cats high because tgey think clients can’t control lower numbers. Your cat likely is better controlled than most of her clients are.
 
Last edited:
For whatever reason they didn't say to keep her there, just to take her home with some no sorb.
The tech ask why I increased the dose today and I said I'm working with cat parents who have lots of experience getting good regulation and we are making adjustments. The vet said he'd be worried about too low numbers but I said I test all the time and I know what to look out for, so he seemed ok with it.
 
Hello green:D. I'd give one tsp LC at this point just because it is a new dose and some cats react on the first cycle.
 
Looks like I cross posted with you. You're still collecting data at this point so playing around with the snacking will help you figure out what works for her in terms of feeding her curve.
I'd test again in an hour.
 
RE tests, I thought just +3. +6, +9 unless there was a reason to do it more?
Is there a particular schedule I should follow?
You just had an increase and that is why I suggested a +2. It always seems to be an indicator of the future. If it is higher Jill will probably have a pretty boring cycle. If it is about the same or lower she might have an active cycle and need more test. I should not be giving advice. This is just what I myself am learning and yes, the +3, +6 and +9 are great times to test. Just be prepared to have to monitor a little more whenever there is an increase. Do you want me to tag someone or do you want to do it?
 
RE tests, I thought just +3. +6, +9 unless there was a reason to do it more?
Is there a particular schedule I should follow?
I think that's a great place to start - technically, the TR requirement is preshots + one other test per cycle - with, of course, more tests during active cycles (and where kitty is in new numbers). If you have flexibility in your schedule, I would try to move your tests around - think of your SS as a puzzle and you try to fill in all of the hours (over a few days of course :p) - this will help paint a picture of Jill throughout the cycle ( cycles can vary by day, moon phase, weather, etc. :joyful:). So if today, you get +3/+6/+9, maybe tomorrow try +2/+5/+7, another day try +1/+4/+8, etc...of course remembering that if Jill is in lower numbers, you'll need to test more often.

FWIW, I personally don't think Jill went lower before +3 (on days where you've gotten a +2 and then a +3, Jill was lower at +3) but perhaps if you had tested her earlier, you could have fed her a small snack. Remember, kitties bounce from numbers that are new to them as well as sharp drops (I'd call that a big drop from AMPS to +3 so you could have slowed the drop with some food and thus reduced any potential bounce). I personally fed Jax as PS/+2/+4/+6 in the AM and PM cycles but every cat is different and you'll need to find what works for you and Jill (I used an auto feeder both cycles :)). The general idea is to feed majority of food by nadir to maximize insulin duration - there's lots of info in the Using Food to Manipulate the Curve post (maybe bookmark for later :p)

Just my two cents - you need to do what works for your schedule :)

Just tested again: 97
Gave a little snack
Hurray, nice surf :D FWIW, I kept track of the food and amounts in my remarks; this helped me and others figure out how Jax responded to food.
 
Thanks, everyone! I like the idea of moving the testing times around each day, I can start doing that. Jill always has a big fast drop with the AM shot, but not as much with the PM shot. By +2 (mornings), she's eaten half a can of food, but has also dropped about 100 points.
 
Back
Top