5.19 Jane PMPS 466, then a pretty 486 at +1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2010
This after being in the 90s at +2 , so I fed her 1 tablespoon high carb wet and 8 temptations. At +6 she was in the 300s, and AMPS 520.

SHould i have let the curve ride?
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520

think the only way we would know the answer to your question is if you could have stayed up to test more. we are still gathering info on janie cause she seems to respond a little differently each time. so until we can get numbers and see how she reacts, we can only do what we can do with what we have. nadir was a good number. can get down to 40's without problems of hypo usually but with her in LT, she is going to bounce. but as liver learns, bounces should lessen in severity. we have to pick a dose and stick with it cause each change is like starting over,even if it is a drop.
hopefully those more experienced will pop in but for sure no food for this +1
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520

DH is testing at +1, +2, +3, +4 and +6 today. With our human child type 1 diabetic, I think in terms of basal insulin and bolus -- and have to remember that Jane is strictly basal -- and I forget about the nadir. My head hurts. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520

I think things are visibly improving here. Can't add much to what dian has already said.
Anxious to see if the skinny helps.
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520

repeating what I e-mailed so others know
second verse same as the first. do not think further testing needed. he has not fed, right? let this ride. could still be part of the bounce and new dose reduction. they do get wonky numbers when increased or decreased. If no change with skinny at PMPS, I would go back to .25u. do not have to wait 6 cycles if decrease does not work. just 2 or 3 cycles
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520 -- and RISING!!?!

SHe's 533 at AM+3 - still on the rise. It was absolutely a good scruff shot this morning - I can't imagine that a TBS of high carb and 8 treats at PM+2 would do this -- and I only squeezed out a drop the size of the head of a straightpin from the 0.25u.
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520 -- and RISING!!?!

oh look at her! she IS precious!!

Fwiw - this looks like rebound to me.
She seems to bounce pretty high and this doesn't look altogether unexpected.
I don't think it's a fur shot or even the skinny dose... as a matter of fact I'm inclined to say stick with the skinny - if you can dose it consistently.
but that's just my opinion...
Hopefully I didn't complicate things with my opinion :)
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520 -- and RISING!!?!

Hi Kris, I don't have any advice for you, like I said the other night it has been a long time since I have shot any insulin so I don't feel comfortable with dosing advice ...BUT I will send all my love and support to Miss Janie. I hope you find answers soon.

[img]http://i125.photobucket.com/al...Kiss Animations/KissesCatBlackLicks.gif[/img]
MG_260.gif
and BIG HUGS
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520 -- and RISING!!?!

Unfortunately you're going to have to ride out this rebound and see where it takes you... (((Kris and Jane)))
Maybe add some extra water to her food - ? I tend to think Doodle needs that when his numbers are higher because he pees more.

If you stick with the new skinny dose and you get some prolonged rebound (which you may, because it looks like she can drag it out for a bit.) then you are going to have to sit on your hands a bit to make sure you aren't jumping the gun to get the numbers back down. Rebound can last up to 3 days. :evil:

If you go back to the 0.25 then you know for sure that you'll get the number back down... but you also know that it's dropping her pretty hard and causing crazy rebound.

All that being said, liver training and rebound are part of the package most of the time. :roll:

I just keep looking at how (on 5/7) a 0.1 gave her a 74 after a skipped dose --- yes there was some shed action going on from the previous higher doses... but still.
the dose was then upped to 0.25 before 3 days and you've had to chase some numbers down with HC since then. So that's why I'm thinking you should stick with the skinny.
Again just my opinion. But since you said it was welcome I thought I'd elaborate :-D
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520 -- and RISING!!?!

The first thought that came to my mind was ride it out. This bounce look like it came from how fast the 284 to 97 occurred.
I'd be inclined to try at least another cycle of the skinny.
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520 -- and RISING!!?!

k just make sure the skinny is the same cause even a drop makes a difference,especially to a cat that is on this low a dose and how she responds to insulin. patience grasshopper
thanks guys
 
Re: 5.19 Jane AMPS 520 -- and RISING!!?!

Michelle is right on the money, she knows how to deal with the king of all bouncy kitties. :roll: I would stay with the skinny dose and wait at least a couple of cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top