5/19 Gem AMPS 467, +7 342, +10 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkbank

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71303
Good afternoon all

After a crazy ride yesterday, unfortunately we all overslept and Gem got her AM shot 2 hours late - bad mommy I am!!

How does this impact her today? And how should I handle her PM shot to try and get back on schedule?

Of course to make things worse, I knew I'd be out of the house most of today so I haven't been able to test much.

Thanks for the warm welcome yesterday,
Karen & Gem
 
Re: 5/19 Gem AMPS 467

Welcome to Lantus Land! I haven't gotten to say hi yet. I am here with 13 y.o. Simon who was diagnosed in January. We've learned so much here! Another LL member even kept Simon last week when I went to Hawaii! Talk about the perfect pet sitter :razz:

Someone else is going to chime in soon with tips on adjusting your schedule. Did you actually give a shot at that AMPS? (You said AMPS was 2 hours late--that refers to the test value--so just making sure that the shot was done too). Lingo schmingo. . .. :lol:

You mainly do not want to give the next shot too soon. You will want to gradually adjust the shot time backwards in increments for the next few cycles. I have done it in 30 minute increments for daylight savings, but you should see what the wise ones say before you jump on that plan!
 
Re: 5/19 Gem AMPS 467

kim and simon said:
Did you actually give a shot at that AMPS? (You said AMPS was 2 hours late--that refers to the test value--so just making sure that the shot was done too). Lingo schmingo. . .. :lol:


Ooops, you're right! I tested and shot 2 hours late…sorry bout that, I will edit to correct so there's no misunderstanding!
 
Hi again

I am going to hold off and give Gem her PM shot at about +13.5 to try and get back on schedule, make up the 2 hours. Do you think I stick with the 2.5 for now, go through some more cycles and see? Her numbers today have been on the high side, but I also threw her off schedule so that can't be helping!

Thoughts??
 
Hi Karen,

Another relative newbie here, 3 months tomorrow. Welcome to LL! You've got quite the challenge on your hands with little Gem. Try changing the subject line of your first post to add the ? icon and change the wording to say something like "moving dose question" so people know you are looking for an answer. good luck getting back on track.
 
As a general rule you should only move the shot time back by 30 mins per day either one shot by 30 mins or both shots by 15 mins each. Although she's quite high at the moment I wouldn't move by any more as that bounce is due to clear.
 
Vyktors Mum said:
As a general rule you should only move the shot time back by 30 mins per day either one shot by 30 mins or both shots by 15 mins each.

The 2 hour delay this morning was due to an accidental oversleeping by everyone in our house!
So if I understand correctly, in order to get her back to her regular time, I should move up incrementally….so 15 minutes tonight, and 15 minutes tomorrow morning, til I'm back on track?
 
Wendy&Neko said:
Hi Karen,

Another relative newbie here, 3 months tomorrow. Welcome to LL! You've got quite the challenge on your hands with little Gem. Try changing the subject line of your first post to add the ? icon and change the wording to say something like "moving dose question" so people know you are looking for an answer. good luck getting back on track.

Thank you! I've been posting for a while on Health, still trying to learn the ropes here! Not sure if I really should be posting on TR since we're not doing it, but everyone says the most eyes are here.
 
You can move one shot by 30 mins if it's easier for you but I would go the 15 mins on each - it does make it a little harder to remember where you're at in relation to testing when you record it in your ss though...

If you go the 30 min option I wouldn't start bringing it back until tomorrow's AM (and then 30 mins earlier at each AM shot until back on track) if you go the 15 min on each shot option start tonight.
 
Vyktors Mum said:
You can move one shot by 30 mins if it's easier for you but I would go the 15 mins on each - it does make it a little harder to remember where you're at in relation to testing when you record it in your ss though...

If you go the 30 min option I wouldn't start bringing it back until tomorrow's AM (and then 30 mins earlier at each AM shot until back on track) if you go the 15 min on each shot option start tonight.

OK, thanks so much!
 
Welcome To Lantus Land!! I am here in NY also with my Moonie & we have been here over 4 yrs..
The things that help this all work are patience, consistancy, and more patience..Asking questions, posting as you have been doing, and getting on a schedule with the test, feed,& shot.
It is best to give the shots every 12 hrs..Since you lost some time here, going back 15 min at each shot time will get you back to your regular time..Please read the Stickys on the top of the page, they are chocked full of info & help. There is almost always someone here to help you..
I also started on Health, but found my way when I came to LL here.
You will see Gem start to improve as you go along here--I test Moonie depending on her AMPS number
If it is lower, I will test at +2,+3, +4 and +6 as I did today--If you do test Gem every day at the same times, you will see a pattern emerging, on her SS as to when she starts to go lower, and when her nadir is(lowest), and when she goes up. I read your profile & see that Gem has other ailments, which you have been managing well--We are a family here, so Welcome to our LL family!
 
Roni and Moonie said:
Welcome To Lantus Land!! I am here in NY also with my Moonie & we have been here over 4 yrs..
The things that help this all work are patience, consistancy, and more patience..Asking questions, posting as you have been doing, and getting on a schedule with the test, feed,& shot.
It is best to give the shots every 12 hrs..Since you lost some time here, going back 15 min at each shot time will get you back to your regular time..Please read the Stickys on the top of the page, they are chocked full of info & help. There is almost always someone here to help you..
I also started on Health, but found my way when I came to LL here.
You will see Gem start to improve as you go along here--I test Moonie depending on her AMPS number
If it is lower, I will test at +2,+3, +4 and +6 as I did today--If you do test Gem every day at the same times, you will see a pattern emerging, on her SS as to when she starts to go lower, and when her nadir is(lowest), and when she goes up. I read your profile & see that Gem has other ailments, which you have been managing well--We are a family here, so Welcome to our LL family!

Thanks, hope you got outside and enjoyed the beautiful weather today! Top 10 here in NYC!

I have read and reread the stickys - sometimes the more I read, the less I think I know! But I take notes, and bits at a time sink in.

I try and test as often as my schedule allows. With 2 kids, I am running around a lot, so it's not always easy to test at the same times each day, but when I'm home, I try for every hour. I keep hoping to see a pattern, but no such luck yet.

Thanks for the welcome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top