5/19 Ella pmps 409 +2=436 +6=383

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Good morning everyone:)

Thanks again for all who visited yesterday with their kind words and advice. We're hoping for some more movement today and I will try and scope out the slippery elm bark. Ella ate her first breffis and was purry so I think she must be feeling ok. I will excercise her a bit with the wand today to see if that helps to move things along.

I'm wondering if changing the injection site might help. I've been rotating sides on the scruff now for 5-6 months. Is rotating on the body beneficial?

Hope everyone has a lovely Caturday:)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=71246
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373

Hope everything comes out all right :lol: :lol:
But seriously, I haven't had this problem with my cats. I have dealt with it with two of my children, though! Just last night I was holding my 2yo for hours while he moaned "ow, ow, ow!" Goodness sakes child, eat some roughage! He's the third kid and very stubborn. We do use the miralax as people recommended yesterday. It works!

Have a great Caturday!
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373

Thanks for visiting Kim and Maggie! I hope the restoralax works:) +3=395..she's going the wrong way:( I have no idea what's goin on with her and this insulin but it's discouraging.. The vet I spoke with yesterday said that we might need to try her on caninsulin if this doesn't work.
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373 +3=398

Morning everyone! Come on down Ella, the other floors are very nice ones. Hang in there - this all takes such patience. Mannie and I have been at this for four years, eventually they figure it out. Wishing you guys the best.
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373 +3=398

I don't think this is a matter of the insulin not working. I think you've held on to doses a bit long and Ella is not yet used to getting into lower ranges. I want to encourage you to increase the dose every 6 cycles and let's see if we can get Ella to break through this barrier.
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373 +3=398

Hi Sienne,

You are right in that I've held the doses for a bit longer than 6 cycles but do you find it interesting that we aren't getting any action at all?
Tonight is the 6th cycle. Do I increase on the 6th one or 7th and seeing as we haven't seen her under 300 do I increase by.50? Should I inject her elsewhere?

Thanks!

I left the house for 2 minutes and she zoomed upstairs from the furnace room where the other litter boxes are! She usually zooms around after she has a poop but when I went down to inspect with my ziploc I found some that seemed fresh but did not feel warm. Hmmmm.... can I still continue to give her the restoral lax even if she might have pooped?
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373 +3= 398 +6=356

I'm not sure it's the same thing- but Binks gets Miralax daily...
helps him immensely with his "Poo Zoomies" :-D

and Ella- come down!
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373 +3= 398 +6=356

Some find more insulin action if it is injected in the "side" instead of the scruff

InjectionSites_feline.jpg


Maybe it's partly a psychological effect, like short vs. longer needles, but who cares as long as it works...

MJ
 
Re: 5/19 Ella amps 373 +3= 398 +6=356+9.5=403

Thanks MJ! She started meeping when I tried her flank so I didn't want to risk a fur shot. When the DH comes home and we can do a hold and secure I'll switch up the spot:)

PMPS 409. I saw the post on when to increase the dose. Tomorrow morning will be the first cycle after the third consecutive day. If Ella doesn't go below 300 tonight then it looks like an increase of .50u. That dose will be higher than the dose after the transition to wet food. As you can tell, I'm still boggled about this.
 
Re: 5/19 Ella pmps 409

Can you please add yesterday's link to your first post today so we don't lose the links to her history.

The theory on places to shoot is that the scruff doesn't have as much blood flow as some of the other places you can shoot so the lantus effects may be more variable. I found a great spot on Vyktor perhaps a little further back from the side of chest spot in the picture MJ posted. We tried a few spots down his side (with a couple of bites for mumbean when she didn't get it quite right!) before finding the sweet area on him there where it didn't seem to bother him at all - good luck :smile:
 
Re: 5/19 Ella pmps 409

+2 436...geez Ella really know how to get her bean furstrated.

Does anyone think a vetty visit would be beneficial for blood work to see if she might have something going on or do I just need to keep my patience pants on?!
 
Re: 5/19 Ella pmps 409 +2=436

Tamara

I definitely agree with Sienne that you need to increase her tomorrow morning and keep doing it until she starts to come down. Remember the protocol...if nadirs are above 300, increase by .5u every six cycles. If 200-300, increase by .25u.

I know this is hard. We've all had to "go up to come down" (I'm doing it now with Gracie). It's hard to know why. Lucy did this to Libby....she came racing down the dosing scale and Libby thought she was going to go OTJ and then
Lucy put on the brakes and Libby had to take her up to a dose HIGHER than what she was at when she started coming down.

I'm not sure why this is happening with Ella. For some kitties who are doing well and in normal numbers, sometimes their new and fragile beta cells just get a little too overworked and so they need more insulin for a time. I wonder if Ella's lack
of eating before contributed to her low numbers but now that she is eating, she's showing us her true colors. ;-)

Sending you a million hugs.....the important thing is to not let Ella stay at these high numbers because we don't want her becoming insulin resistant.
 
Re: 5/19 Ella pmps 409 +2=436

Good luck with the dosecrease Tamara!
Dont worry, it does take a few up & down the dose before our kitties can be "a bit" constant in green. Just look at Rosy with this dose, she was with this before & it did not work, she's doing great these few days. Have the confidence & patience! It will work for Ella too!
Have a nice weekend!
helen
 
Re: 5/19 Ella pmps 409 +2=436

Thanks for your support Marjorie and Helen:) I really,truly appreciate it :YMHUG:
Her numbers tonight indicate a .5u increase but I will set my alarm for a +9 or 10 just to be sure. I wonder why she showed us yellows last Monday and with the increase we haven't been welcomed by anymore. Perhaps those sunny yellows, coupled with the vet visit, freaked her liver out?! Is that what you mean by insulin resistance Marjorie?
 
PMPS 391

Greg is back home so her helped me shoot Ella in the side of the chest (with the needle:)
She's a hungry muffin today so I can't imagine her tummy can be that sore. I found some slippery elm bark and administered it through a syringe. I'm wondering if I can give that as well as the restoral lax or is that too much for her system?

Hoping this new dose will stir up some action:)

Pssst...mom and dad just said they are goin to the drive in if I don't pull any dramatics,whatever that means. I love da movies! Who wants to stow away with me in the trunk? It's a hatchback so we'll have a great view! I'll bring da treats!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top