5/19 Checkers pmps 170 +1/79 +2/51 +2.5/68 +3.5/91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43616

Good Morning LL
All is normal with the Checkerboy. Ate 2 x, so far. He was forced to drink from his fountain, 'cause mean mom wouldn't turn faucet on.
I increased his dose by one drop, as best I could. He's been blue lately, which is nice, but would like to do better.

I have 2 surgeries coming up, in a couple of weeks. I was really hoping he'd be off insulin by then, but it looks like it ain't gonna happen.
My DD will be staying here, for a week, and is perfectly capable of caring for him, but for the days I'm in the hospital, she won't be here to monitor, so he won't get shot those days.
That's the plan, so far.
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114

Good morning Barb and Checkers! Glad to everything Checks is having a "normal" day. Funny how nice those are when they have FDB. Blue is a good color. Hopefully the green will come soon.

Will be thinking about you with the surgeries. Checkers will be fine for a few days, I'm sure.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114

((((Barb)))) Wishing your surgeries are uneventful and that you will recover quickly. Checkers is looking so good. Glad your daughter will be there.
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114

Looking good Checkers, bummer on the no faucet this morning. :lol:

Will be keeping you in my thoughts for a speedy recovery from the surgeries.
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114 +3/62

Looks like the extra drop was a good thing. I resisted the urge to give a bit of HC, to kep him surfing. His nadir
comes at around +3 , so he'll probably come up on his own. I gave FF Turkey & Giblets, which seems to raise a lot of our babies' bg.
My vet yesterday, was impressed with the color coding SS.
Also, chicken dust...I get a kick out of teaching him little things, he never heard of. :-D
I was happy that he liked Checkers' overall numbers.
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114 +3/62

Hi guys, looks like that extra drop was just what checkers needed .. I'm not surprised your vet was impressed with his numbers, he's looking good! I'm sure he will do just fine while you are out for a few days .. will keep you in our thoughts for a quick recovery!
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114 +3/62

Checkers has some great numbers! Good luck with your surgeries. When you're better, Checkers will go OTJ just for you :smile:
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114 +3/62

Checks is looking nice , the extra drop is just the thing.

I hope your surgeries go smoothly. I've missed a lot of condos lately and your link isn't working. How long will you be in the hospital? I'm assuming you've asked the vet techs at your vet's office if they do any out side work and could come even once a day for the shots?

Also what are the new syringes that you are getting? I love the Monojects. For Tess's micro doses I find it helps me a lot to have light behind the syringe so I can see if there is space between the plunger and the line. If I have light on the front I can't see the difference as well. And yeah, since Hocks sold they service has gone down hill.
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers amps208 +2/114 +3/62

208 amps
114 +2
62 +3
79 +4
89 +6
100 +8
Looks like 2 drops agrees with him....today anyway :roll:



Thank you for the well wishes :smile: I have two weeks more to dwell on this.

Ann, I ordered Monojects. I liked them before, don't know why I tried a different brand. Curiosity, I guess. These are troublesome with bubbles, and I took too long to order more. My bad.
Hocks just shipped my order today. It took 4 days to for them to ship it off to me.
I do hold the syringe to a bright light, also use a lighted magnifying glass. The problem is bubbles.

I'll be gone only one day for the cataract surgery. Three days later is the other surgery, and if all goes well, I'll be gone only 2 days for that one.
Checkers should be fine missing those doses.
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers pmps 170

208 amps.....2 drops
114 +2
62 +3
79 +4
89 +6
100 +8
170 pmps...drop and a half. Micro dosing ain't science. *sigh*

Mama bean is a happy girl.. Nice green day, and no big bounce tonight :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers pmps 170

Hi Barb, thanks for visiting my condo earlier, and I will be thinking good thoughts for your two surgeries and hope all goes well. It's nice to have your daughter take care of Checkers. I use the FF Turkey & Giblets as a mc for Maggie when she gets low. I notice, too, it seems to raise her bg. Checkers is looking really good. Maggie is on about two drops also; I call it .10 and I am sometimes a little off. I hear so many like the Monojets. Is it easier to measure or have less bubbles? I am still using Walgreens syringes. I constantly have to tap, tap the bubbles until there's no juice in the syringe and then start all over. Have a good evening.
 
Re: 5/19 Checkers pmps 170

hi barb - looks like the extra drop did the trick - nice numbers for Checkers. :-D :-D

Good luck with your surgeries. I bet it will feel good to get them done with, and on the road to recovery. Nice that your DD can come and help care for Checkers. That has got to help. Could vet tech do the shots? I wonder though how well they would do when you show them the one/two drop dose. :?

well bummer on your hocks order. I just ordered from them. Sure hope that it doesn't take forever and a day to get here.

have a great night!
 
Michelle and Ann. No, on the vet tech. The first day, DD will be with me.
Second day, she can shoot, then come later to the hospital, if she feels Checks need his insulin.

She's an RN, and used to giving shots, altho not to cats. :lol: I highly doubt she has a patient getting one or two drops of insulin either. She has much experience with animals, so no worry there.
I think it's best to not shoot for the days that she won't be here to monitor. Checks will be fine for a couple of days.

What a great day we're having. Checks is starting to come up, so I'm off to beddy bye.
 
what a great day you've had! er, i mean checkers has had! sometimes it's hard to tell the difference, isn't it!?!

interesting about the turkey and giblets - i give that at least once or twice a day - wonder if i shouldn't? i use that and the chicken feast as the mainstay during the week and only give fish on the weekends for a special thing.

my hocks order just came today - i ordered about a week ago and only got the email yesterday that they'd shipped it. but here it was today.

this box of monojects i've been having a lot of trouble with bubbles. making me a little crazy. i have other needles, but they don't have 1/2 u markings, which makes it tough to use right now.

sleep well! we'll be watching for your news on the surgeries.
 
Hi Julie. Strange on the syringes, huh? I had no trouble with the Monojects. This box is Sure Comfort, and most of them have a large bubble sticking to the side of the plunger. When I try to tap it away, it breaks up into a gazillion small bubbles. I just throw it all away, and start over.
I've used syringes with no half unit markings, and just eyeballed .10. There would be amost no light between plunger and 0 line. What a pain.
My surgeries aren't until the end of the month. I'll blab about it when its time. I have a big mouth. :lol:
I'm hoping my DD will make a condo for Checks, the week she's here. It'll be fun for me to see what she says. :-D

I don't remember visiting Punkin's condo today. Gotto go look. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top