5.19 Carlton

Foster Momma

Member Since 2022
His sensor ends in 14hrs and has not been reading great today :/

His vet wants to stay at 1.5u per day and then add another sensor in about a week. She also mentioned wanting to do an ultrasound. She is a bit concerned since he was on 3u for a long time and has probably been having sharp drops that in can effect his pancreas. Does anyone have any insight about doing an ultrasound for this scenario? I spot checked at +3.5 from PMPS and it read 93.
 
Oh wow. He’s still getting some greens on 1.5u! Good job little buddy.

I know you said your vet want to keep him on 1.5u.. but if you were following SLGS protocol here, you would have taken a reduction by 0.25u from those greens in the pm cycles (anything under 90).

So the trusty ol’ sensor is done now.. shucks. At minimum we want you to get preshot tests to make sure it’s safe to shoot but getting at least one mid cycle test in is where the money is… such important data comes for mid cycle test especially with his drops. With his grands I’d for sure do a ‘before bed test’ since he likes to drop in the pm cycles.

A +2/3 is often a good one as the onset will often tell you just how active that cycle is going to be … if higher, chances are not so active, if flat or lower, it would be good to get another test in after that.

Sorry, I wish I had answer for you questions but I do not.. I’m sure someone will come along with some info for you.
 
His vet wants to stay at 1.5u per day

I think you mean 1.5 per cycle, but Kim is correct. If you're doing SLGS, he earned a reduction by dropping below 90 (but since the monitor is about to die, I kind of question if that was an accurate test. Are you able to test him with a regular meter?

Have you read the 2 different protocols and decided on one you want to follow yet? As long as there's no kibble in the picture, you can do Tight Regulation or Start Low, Go Slow.

As for an ultrasound to see if the higher dose did any damage?....That's a new one for me and I've been here for years. Unless he's showing signs of pancreatitis, there's no reason I know of to do an ultrasound.
 
@Chris & China (GA) @Gus the Furminator the vet was talking rather quick and she kinda lost me with some big medical words..lol I'll get better clarification as what she has in mind.

Freestyle has completed ended, so I will be using the ReliOn now. How do I change the spreadsheet to reflect the change or does a new one get started? When it comes to testing I'm unfortunately unable to test multiple times throughout the day :/ on my 2 days off I can test throughout the day. The other 5 days I'll only be able to do the preshot test and then in the evening I can test a few extra times. With that said I think the SLGS is the best method. Does that sound accurate?
 
Starting on your next shot, I would do 1.25u - as per SLGS protocol. Have you grabbed some syringes with half unit markings yet?

With SLGS you take a reduction whenever they drop below 90, which he has a few times in the pm cycles since being on 1.5u.

Here’s a link to the protocols scroll down until you see SLGS.. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Are you still only feeding 2 times a day? If so, we need you to start feeding multiple mini meals. In particular, in the first half of the cycle. This will help slow the drops he’s getting. With less testing this is very important.

At the moment, I think that SLGS is the best option if you’re not able to test during the day. Always get your preshot tests in and then since you’re home in the evening you’ll want to get a mid cycle tests to make sure he’s not dropping too low (he likes to drop at night). A +2/3 is a good indication of how active the cycle is going to go. If higher than preshot.. might not be too much action, if lower or flat you’ll want to grab another one around +4 (depending on the number, you might need to test sooner).

If you’re not sure you can always post and tag someone here to get some help. Side note: your can change you titles prefix to have a question mark if you have a question, 911 for emergencies
 
Last edited:
His sensor ends in 14hrs and has not been reading great today :/

His vet wants to stay at 1.5u per day and then add another sensor in about a week. She also mentioned wanting to do an ultrasound. She is a bit concerned since he was on 3u for a long time and has probably been having sharp drops that in can effect his pancreas. Does anyone have any insight about doing an ultrasound for this scenario? I spot checked at +3.5 from PMPS and it read 93.
No need for an ultrasound unless something else is going on. Is Carlton eating well and acting normally?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy yes Carlton has a great appetite and acting normal :)
@Gus the Furminator I'm waiting for the new syringes to come. Can you direct me to a timed feeder that is good to use? Carlton is still eating 2x's per day. Thanks as always for your insight!
Wonderful! Glad those syringes are on the way!

For auto feeders, I’m in Canada and not sure I can recommend a specific one that would be available for you. I’ve seen many talk about some that are available on Amazon. They have some that have ice packs which helps
keep the wet food cool while they sit in the feeder.

Just had a quick peek at your SS. Still getting some better numbers than before, no pinks at least :)

I see you’ve been getting +2/3 (awesome!) but over the last few days those numbers are slowly trending down in each cycles. ie: 5/20 amps was 220, then +3 is 128, this means he might still be going lower at nadir.

+2/3 is around the onset time (when the insulin starts to kick in). I’d like to see how low those numbers are going at nadir (usually around +6)… if you get a +3 that’s 100 points lower, feed a little food and please try to get a later test in. Maybe try doing a +3 then a +6

I also want to mention, since we are getting less tests in, I think we should think about getting a weekly curve on your days off. It is part of the SLGS protocol - this will give us a little more information that we aren’t getting from spot checks, to see if we need to increase/reduce or hold the dose.
 
Last edited:
@FrostD that looks great! I'm guessing using it for canned food is okay having it sit out for the day?
Yep, there is a slot underneath for an ice pack. Some people also choose to freeze some food that goes in the later compartments, but you'd have to play with that to make sure it thaws on time. I never did either (ice pack or freeze)
 
Back
Top