5/19 Bronx AMPS 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bronx's dad (GA)

Member Since 2016
Happy Friday! Haven't had a condo in a while as I was waiting for some positive signs from the SRT treatment Bronx had at the beginning of the month. But I got a nudge to have a condo today ;). Basically I have been lighter on the Lev and heavier on the R as not to have a huge depot if Bronx does respond to the treatment and drops too low with a big depot, hence the swings in Lev dosage adjusting to the R effects. But this has caused some interesting decisions, shot 18u a few days ago with a 46 PMPS :nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
While it is a little more of a pain, I do like the idea of using more R to keep the numbers down since it allows much faster adjustments when Bronx starts responding to the ray gun treatment ;) .

A couple things I see on the SS. Shooting the 46 a few days ago is frowned on(even the reduced dose). I did the same thing and the veterans all gave some good advice on why it isn't the best idea.

If he is over 50 and you can monitor, I tend to shoot the full dose. Surprisingly, when I shoot a green, he tends to stay flatter then I would expect.

His SS is looking like Jack's, he's got just about every color of the rainbow in there for the last week. Great job keeping up with it, I sympathize with you on the constant adjustments... The things we do for our kitties.

I'm by no means an R expert, I leave that to Sandy and some of the other Team R members. I wonder if trying to be more consistent with a lev dose and then adding in scheduled R shots might be a good strategy. Right now with lots of BCS lev shots, the depot is hard to guess.

Hope you and Bronx are doing well.
 
I knew I would be scolded for that move!
Join the club! I'm a card carrying member too.

After I did it and the experts weighed in, I amended my rules to not shoot under 50, even a BCS. Now I stall and re-test. Last week Jack had a 49 and 20 min later he was at 44, so we skipped. Sometimes they can keep dropping past +12 and in those cases shooting under 50 can become dangerous. Most of the time it would probably be ok, but why push lady luck. A cycle of higher numbers is much better then a frantic attempt to get numbers up and/or an emergency vet visit.

Over a year in and I still think I learn something new almost every day with this disease. Consider it a refresher course on TR:D, It would be a little hypocritical to scold something I too did.
 
I am just in awe of those of you that deal with high dose kitties. I have anxiety shooting the small doses that I give Gizmo. :bighug:

I hope Bronx starts to see the benefits of treatment sooner rather than later.
 
I can only imagine how tricky it is to have to adjust the L and R doses at the same time while watching for signs of decreased insulin resistance. Looks like he started coming down from a bounce on the 5/15 PM cycle and it continued through the 5/16 AM cycle. I see that kind of action now and then with Chino, and the same dose of R that would have little impact on the first cycle of a bounce tends to have a big impact when he's coming down from it. Are you taking reductions when he goes under 50, or going by a higher number?
 
I can only imagine how tricky it is to have to adjust the L and R doses at the same time while watching for signs of decreased insulin resistance. Looks like he started coming down from a bounce on the 5/15 PM cycle and it continued through the 5/16 AM cycle. I see that kind of action now and then with Chino, and the same dose of R that would have little impact on the first cycle of a bounce tends to have a big impact when he's coming down from it. Are you taking reductions when he goes under 50, or going by a higher number?
I was taking reductions but that always ends up with a big fat pink at AMPS.
 
I have seen several cats, including Neko briefly, have to go up in dose after SRT. My suggestion is try not to anticipate big changes. Let Bronx tell you when he needs a change by the nadirs he gives you. Ie. mostly follow the protocol. But maybe try to find a dose where the nadirs are higher greens to give you a little cushion. If he does earn a reduction, which that 46 would have done, then be more cautious. It could be a one off as a result of normal tumour pulsing. But if you see a couple of close reductions, that is a sign that the SRT effect may be starting. At that point, definitely take any reductions as earned. I once did too small a!reduction and got rewarded by a number in the 20's.:rolleyes:

When the SRT starts to take effect and you are seeing frequent reductions, doing a BCS or reduced dose for one cycle after a reduction can really help you drain to depot. First time post SRT I didn't have to do that because Neko bounced so much. Second time around I had to take a few BCS, especially if you see any under 40's. When reductions become fast and furious, you may with to change to a slightly higher reduction point. I used 70 and that helped give me a little margin.

Also, try to keep to consistent dosing. Otherwise it's really hard to figure out what size the depot thinks it is, which makes it difficult to figure out what a new reduced dose should be if you have to reduce. I had this happen a couple of times, even trying to stay consistent on dosing, but because of back to back reductions earned.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top