5/19 Biscuit 101 AMPS, 80 at VET, PMPS 147 Questions after Dental on skipping shot.

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Last Post

Hi all.
I haven't posted lately as Biscuit has been mostly holding steady. However about 2 weeks ago we began having eating issues and some drooling and I remembered members saying that Dental could also cause issues with BG, so I took Biscuit in for a checkup on his teeth and blood work. Sure enough, they felt he needed dental work, and didn't see anything on his blood work that was negative. So today we took him for his dental. He sailed through with FLYING colors I am happy to report. They extracted 2 teeth, 2 more fell out, and they did a through cleaning etc and sent us home with pain meds - Metacam 0.1ml orally once a day starting tomorrow. However, then they said because he was 80 at the vet I should skip his insulin tonight.

Well, I'd like to run that advice by the group. I did do a half dose this morning as they requested down to 0.25/unit from 0.5. I know you guys can't give dosing advice but I wanted to see what similar experiences were out there and what people had done and if everyone thought I should skip his dose or not. They are advising only 1/3 of his normal food so he doesn't vomit as well.
 
Last edited:
I'd skip tonight....anesthesia can bring the BG down so if he's only 80, it's not worth taking chances.

As for food, start small....a teaspoon or 2 at a time and then make sure he keeps it down...in about an hour, another teaspoon or 2, wait to make sure it stays down, etc. etc.

He can have his normal evening meal amount, it should just be in smaller amounts given slower.

I know you guys can't give dosing advice

We give dosing advice all the time!! We don't on the Facebook group but here on the board, it's about 75% of our "work"!

We aren't big fans of Metacam though since it's very hard on kidneys. There's a black box warning in the US due to the kidney issue. We usually see buprenorphine given for pain after dental work
 
Thanks for the info on tonight's insulin. He was actually 147 at PMPS but I didn't give his shot tonight.
Thanks ALOT for the info on the Metacam. I immediately called the vet and they said its the only mediation they carry and they give it to cats all the time. (Might be time for a new vet) - they are super nice but I'm feeling more and more like cats are not their forte. A week ago without asking they gave Biscuit Convenia as an antibotic which I wasn't too sure on after the fact either.

Unfortunately the vet was gone for the day but I'm going to call back in the am and see if I can get the pain meds switched. I have a friend with some leftover Buprenophrine but not sure what the dosing would be for Biscuit. I definitely don't feel comfortable now that I know and have read about Metacam giving it to him.

I'm also assuming I will need to test alot more over the next weeks as his pain level decreases and that maybe affects BG?

Sorry about the confusion on dosing.. weirdly I should've known that, as I've taken my fair share of advice on here as we were getting him to a more stable dose over this year but its been awhile and I thought I remembered reading that somewhere. Oh well.. but I do want to offer a hearty THANK YOU for all the work. This forum has been a lifesaver literally for my Biscuit. Sometimes I think the Vet writes him off as he's 16 almost 17 years old. They even hesitated to do the dental but I couldn't see him living in pain vs possible issues with anesthesia, so again. Thank you!!
 
I'm also assuming I will need to test alot more over the next weeks as his pain level decreases and that maybe affects BG?

Yes, I would....not only to watch for signs of the numbers dropping now that the teeth are in better shape, but IF there's a post-dental infection, having his numbers climb would be a good indicator that he needs to be re-checked.
 
Back
Top