? 5/19: Bijan AMPS 66 +2 44

bijer

Member Since 2022
Hi Everyone, we are on our way down in dosing still and it looks like at 0 now?

I just gave bijan .1 this am and looks like that was even too much. He's munching on some fancy feast gravy lover right now and a bit of grain-free dry food from Whole foods. Will be diligent about night testing and keeping him in green and blues.

He is happy, talking, chasing bugs on the balcony, playing with his toys all morning, and from what I can see back to normal maybe even better bc he seems leaner and lighter. Tiki has helped with his coat a lot.

But we also just got a follow-up call from his vet, she has been pretty MIA the last few months until i called last week to see if she had seen his newest numbers. She was borderline hysterical saying his numbers were way too low, "in a dangerous range" and that she didn't trust the meter I was using (she had him on the freestyle 2 when diagnosed).. it has been clear to me that she is unfamiliar with managing feline diabetes but now I don't know if she even understands it in general since she wasn't sure that the blood tests were more reliable than the meter (even I know this because my dad is a type 2 diabetic).

She told me to stop dosing and get 1 week of numbers.

What is the goal range to stay in blue or green? How do i know if he is actually in remission or if i am managing it with diet? Does this matter?
 
The next dose would be 0.1 units. Your spreadsheet says you gave 0.25 units. If you did give 0.1 units, please update the spreadsheet. Since he saw blues just a couple days ago, I would try the drop dose as his last dose, once he earns that reduction.

This cycle is still be influenced by the 0.75 units you shot just 4 cycles ago, as well a the 0.5 units dose shot for a couple cycles after that. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction. With TR, we don't typically take back to back reductions. He didn't actually earn a reduction down to 0.25 units yesterday.

What is the goal range to stay in blue or green?
All green, ideally all under 80. If you were to start an OTJ trial (not saying you should), he would be in remission if he goes 14 days without insulin and stays overall under 100.

The link to your last post here.
 
Some vets don’t understand human meters. Have you been feeding to try and prevent drops under 50? The next dose down is a drop dose. To get a drop you hold the plunger of the syringe all the way in and insert into your vial or pen. Then you release the plunger and it will draw up a drop. It would be interesting to see how many drops are in your .10.

You want to see almost all bg between 50-80 with in’s an occasional test 100-110.
 
The next dose would be 0.1 units. Your spreadsheet says you gave 0.25 units. If you did give 0.1 units, please update the spreadsheet. Since he saw blues just a couple days ago, I would try the drop dose as his last dose, once he earns that reduction.

This cycle is still be influenced by the 0.75 units you shot just 4 cycles ago, as well a the 0.5 units dose shot for a couple cycles after that. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction. With TR, we don't typically take back to back reductions. He didn't actually earn a reduction down to 0.25 units yesterday.


All green, ideally all under 80. If you were to start an OTJ trial (not saying you should), he would be in remission if he goes 14 days without insulin and stays overall under 100.

The link to your last post here.


Hi, the sheet says the AMPS .1, that is what caused the 43 it was entered correctly. i gave .25 and PMPS but the .25 were on the skinnier side. While he didn't earn the reduction to .25 since he tested low this morning at AMPS and i feel like my intuition in that he was on his way down fast was right, he hasn't really been bouncing the blues are from getting him up with food.

I have been nudging bijan to eat again at +1 and +2 after giving breakfast (he doesn't normally eat all of it when i give it to him so i coax him back to eat) so now i am giving him some higher carb food since we are still giving doses.. i think his tiki cat is working too well.

@tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko you are suggesting different doses for the next dose. I think i feel comfortable with doing the drop. i can also let you know before i do that how many were in the .1 i gave this morning?

why is the vet saying that under 80 is too low?
 
I think Wendy thought you were giving .25 but also said to try the drop dose if you gave .10. So we do agree. I’d be interested in how many drops were in yiur .10. You could take a used syringe and water to count but that’s up to you,
 
why is the vet saying that under 80 is too low?
Maybe they are used to pet meter numbers? But even with the pet meter, TR doesn't say reduce until they go under 68.

Thanks for correcting the spreadsheet. Today's 43 was from the 0.25 unit and higher doses depot. The 0.1 unit dose you shot today didn't really influence the numbers you saw today. Per TR, you'd really stick with 0.1 units. Your choice which you want to do. If you reduce too fast, you can find that the numbers trend up once the larger depot is gone.
 
Maybe they are used to pet meter numbers? But even with the pet meter, TR doesn't say reduce until they go under 68.

Thanks for correcting the spreadsheet. Today's 43 was from the 0.25 unit and higher doses depot. The 0.1 unit dose you shot today didn't really influence the numbers you saw today. Per TR, you'd really stick with 0.1 units. Your choice which you want to do. If you reduce too fast, you can find that the numbers trend up once the larger depot is gone.

But he went down to 43 wouldn't that mean he earned a reduction?
 
When following TR, we don't typically take back to back reductions, or reductions in the first cycle of a new dose, because that cycle is heavily influenced by the larger depot and not representative of what that dose (0.1 units in this case) would do by itself. You can try the drop dose if you want. It could be that his pancreas is healing quickly and he'll hold the reduction. If not, you can just go back up in dose.
 
Back
Top