5/19/22 - Kaz- AMPS 288/ Dropped 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claire and Kaz

Member Since 2022
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...77-numbers-continue-drop.263306/#post-2950733


Hi Bron
starting new thread as old one getting long the thread to the old post is above. So I know that you are not going to be around for the PMPS shot as it's early morning but I believe based on his current numbers he will be below the 177 shot number and I know you had said that if its under 120, post and tag one of the people you had mentioned in the prior post for advice.
Did leave 9% food out today for his +6 meal as instructed.

I'll recheck again in 2 hours and then contact the people you listed.

Thanks Claire
 
Hi Claire
I can see three places in recent days where you haven’t recorded the dose of insulin given. Would you mind filling them in please? Thanks!
Looks like everything is running smoothly at the moment. Thanks good.
 
The insulin doses are in. There have been a couple times in the morning that I was in a rush and forgot to record till I got home. If you see it happening in the evening you can blame Kaz. All of a sudden he's started crawling into my lap after the insulin shot and refusing to move for about hour and then I forget to record till after I do the next ear prick. Don't really like to move him as he obviously needs the attention.
 
The insulin doses are in. There have been a couple times in the morning that I was in a rush and forgot to record till I got home. If you see it happening in the evening you can blame Kaz. All of a sudden he's started crawling into my lap after the insulin shot and refusing to move for about hour and then I forget to record till after I do the next ear prick. Don't really like to move him as he obviously needs the attention.
oh! What a sweetheart Kaz is!
 
The insulin doses are in. There have been a couple times in the morning that I was in a rush and forgot to record till I got home. If you see it happening in the evening you can blame Kaz. All of a sudden he's started crawling into my lap after the insulin shot and refusing to move for about hour and then I forget to record till after I do the next ear prick. Don't really like to move him as he obviously needs the attention.
Thanks for doing that. I knew you had to rush off in the mornings and that would be the reason.
Awww….Kaz certainly loves you!
 
it is so great to hear of Kaz making progress and feeling better Claire.

Your first post ever was something like KAZ NEEDS HELP DESPARATELY if I recall correctly. And so did you! Now look how far you've come. Pat yourself on the back, give yourself some credit, have a glass of wine or some chocolate or whatever sort of reward you let yourself enjoy when the time comes.
 
it is so great to hear of Kaz making progress and feeling better Claire.

Your first post ever was something like KAZ NEEDS HELP DESPARATELY if I recall correctly. And so did you! Now look how far you've come. Pat yourself on the back, give yourself some credit, have a glass of wine or some chocolate or whatever sort of reward you let yourself enjoy when the time comes.


I was talking to a new member who joined on May 7th a couple days a go and it was then that I actually realized how far I had come and not to do with actually understanding what I'm doing still confused here but the blood testing. I never thought I was going to be able to do that and the daily injections were terrible in the beginning. I have slightly got over my phobia of needles or at least when it comes to others. All I had to do was see a needle and I'd pass out same with blood. I've gone from being light headed and dizzy to actually doing it. I knew I had to get on with it as Kaz couldn't do it. Still don't like it but I think I have also been blessed with a cat who comes as soon as I call him and most of the time is there by the time I have finished setting everything up and then allows be to stab him sometimes up to 3 times to get the blood. He rarely cries he just sits on my lap and lets me do it. Same with the injection I call him and he comes sometimes hes there before me. I turn him round and he automatically lies down and waits for me to inject. He is so good.
 
I was talking to a new member who joined on May 7th a couple days a go and it was then that I actually realized how far I had come and not to do with actually understanding what I'm doing still confused here but the blood testing. I never thought I was going to be able to do that and the daily injections were terrible in the beginning. I have slightly got over my phobia of needles or at least when it comes to others. All I had to do was see a needle and I'd pass out same with blood. I've gone from being light headed and dizzy to actually doing it. I knew I had to get on with it as Kaz couldn't do it. Still don't like it but I think I have also been blessed with a cat who comes as soon as I call him and most of the time is there by the time I have finished setting everything up and then allows be to stab him sometimes up to 3 times to get the blood. He rarely cries he just sits on my lap and lets me do it. Same with the injection I call him and he comes sometimes hes there before me. I turn him round and he automatically lies down and waits for me to inject. He is so good.
Yes. You really have made tremendous progress and so has Kaz. I was kind of looking back over his spreadsheet this morning and looking at all the black and red that was there for a while :-( Now things look much better and Kaz seems to be feeling better. It's been a journey... and you're still on it, but you are doing great. I also think you understand a lot more than you give yourself credit for. It's just that you want to be absolutely certain because you love him and want to do nothing that would ever hurt him. I hope that your pet sitter will be able to be in contact with you during your upcoming trip. I will be thinking about Kaz, too, and I hope I will be able to peek at his spreadsheet to make sure he's okay (if you will be able to update the SS while you are away.)
 
Yes. You really have made tremendous progress and so has Kaz. I was kind of looking back over his spreadsheet this morning and looking at all the black and red that was there for a while :-( Now things look much better and Kaz seems to be feeling better. It's been a journey... and you're still on it, but you are doing great. I also think you understand a lot more than you give yourself credit for. It's just that you want to be absolutely certain because you love him and want to do nothing that would ever hurt him. I hope that your pet sitter will be able to be in contact with you during your upcoming trip. I will be thinking about Kaz, too, and I hope I will be able to peek at his spreadsheet to make sure he's okay (if you will be able to update the SS while you are away.)

Hoping she will send me the numbers via text daily or every other day. Have to feel her out as I have no back up plan I was lucky that she agreed to have a go. I think my search for my Christmas trip will start almost immediately if she can't do it as I think it could take me that long to find someone.
 
I have also been blessed with a cat who comes as soon as I call him and most of the time is there by the time I have finished setting everything up and then allows be to stab him sometimes up to 3 times to get the blood. He rarely cries he just sits on my lap and lets me do it. Same with the injection I call him and he comes sometimes hes there before me. I turn him round and he automatically lies down and waits for me to inject. He is so good.

I know this is silly but that makes me a little misty-eyed, somehow, just hearing about how good he is and cooperative. So sweet! What a cat. He is lucky to own you. :smuggrin: :D ;)
 
Sam is my other one they are brothers from the same litter.

Kaz is named after my first cat ZAK reverse the letters and you get Kaz.

Sam is actually named after another Sam but a German Shephard who was my dog (Mums but she followed me everywhere) when I was around 6.

Kaz on left and Sam on right.

upload_2022-5-20_9-49-29.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-20_9-49-29.png
    upload_2022-5-20_9-49-29.png
    340.2 KB · Views: 434
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy


I am hoping that one of you is around as I know it is a Friday night and people go out.
Kaz's PMPS shot is 135 and I want to confirm if possible what amount of insulin I should be giving.

I was told that if the amount was 177 or higher to shoot full dose but if less than 120 to ask for help. I am not at 120 but 135 but still just wanted to check if 2 units is safe as this is a low number.

I have not fed him yet so will wait to see if I get a reply from anyone if not I will try to figure something out.

Thanks Claire
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Hi Bron doubt your up yet but thought it was worth a try. Going to give a second blood test in about 10 minutes to see if the numbers have risen at all then will have to feed and then try make a decision.
Right now numbers are low and I am a bit scarred to even give him 2 units.
 
Hi Bron

As I don't seem to be able to get any help I need a set plan in place going forward. So I am going to adopt the following unless you want me to adjust some of the ranges:-

upload_2022-5-20_18-9-41.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-20_18-9-41.png
    upload_2022-5-20_18-9-41.png
    6.5 KB · Views: 281
No it's 5.44am there (pretty sure I could be wrong) . She's 12 hours difference to where I am but will tag her in case but we had discussed this.

Sydney, AU is 14 hours ahead of EDT. So like right now it's 9:55 AM there in Sydney -- on Saturday morning, May 21st 2022

they live in the future!

My wife is from Australia. Not Sydney, a bit further North in Queensland. I've been there five times! It's lovely. The people are amazing. They just talk to you in line at the checkout

g'day mate how ya goin? they say with a smile. I love Aussies so much.

here's a photo from one of my trips Down Under
upload_2022-5-20_20-3-20.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-20_20-3-20.png
    upload_2022-5-20_20-3-20.png
    644.8 KB · Views: 599
Last edited:
Sydney, AU is 14 hours ahead of EDT. So like right now it's 9:55 AM there in Sydney -- on Saturday morning, May 21st 2022

they live in the future!

My wife is from Australia. Not Sydney, a bit further North in Queensland. I've been there five times! It's lovely. The people are amazing. They just talk to you in line at the checkout

g'day mate how ya goin? they say with a smile. I love Aussies so much.

here's a photo from one of my trips Down Under
View attachment 64304


If and when I ever get a real vacation Australia is top of my list then Alaska
 
Sorry I was not on earlier. It’s a federal election today so the whole country is voting for the next Prime Minister so have been out voting….and grabbing a coffee:coffee:
I think that next time you get a lower preshot than 177 and you are at home for that cycle…..and the preshot is 140 or above, you should shoot the full dose. You will be there to feed extra if needed and it is all really good data.
How do you feel about that?
 
Thank goodness I did not do that as his number is now 46 if I had given him his full dose I hate to think what would have happened.
Going to have to stay up with him all night now. Trying to feed him high carb food and hes throwing up.
Don't know what to do
 
@Hendrick Cuddleclaw where was that photo taken?
I live in Sydney only 11 km from the harbour bridge but we are opposite a national park and we have kangaroos and wallabies (small kangaroos) in our garden often. I have to be careful what I plant in the front garden as they will eat any plants they like.
Also have possums, echidnas, many birds, big lizards called water dragons and monitors and of course snakes but they normally stay in the forest. We have resident water dragons that live in my back yard.
 
Thank goodness I did not do that as his number is now 46 if I had given him his full dose I hate to think what would have happened.
Going to have to stay up with him all night now. Trying to feed him high carb food and hes throwing up.
Don't know what to do
Test again to see what the BG is doing. Do you have some honey or karo? You can rub some of that onto his gums….not too much just what you can get on your finger.
You don’t need to feed him a lot of high carb …just a teaspoon.
I will stay with you until he comes back up over 50.
Remember you are in control because you are hometesting and you have the tools to get him back up to safer numbers…..(food and honey)

The first half of this cycle is being influenced by the previous cycle as well as the 2 units you gave.
But this is great data and Kaz has earned a reduction in dose down to 2.5 units.
 
Can you test again now please?

He won't cooperate right now I left the people monitor on the desk when I saw the low number and went to give him a Ketone test which is 0.1 which is fine. I had to use the AT2 as it was right there and that's 62.
Trying to keep him calm so you need to give me 10 minutes to prick him again.
 
How long after the 46 on the human meter did you get the 62 on the AT?
If he won’t eat, I would rub a drop of honey on his gums now. It shouldn’t traumatise him and we need to deal with the low number..
 
Hes had the honey he's not very happy with me right now should I try to give him bit more food?
How long after the honey should I test.
Hoping he will let me without a fight
He will forgive you….but it had to be done to keep him safe if he’s not eating.
He may have vomited because it was 1/2 pouch.
How long since you last tested?
 
That’s great. He’s up to a safe number.
See if you can get him to eat a teaspoon of low carb food now.
And test again in 20 mins.
Let me know how you go as I am waiting to hear. Well done Claire and Kaz!
 
That’s OK. Still low carb. I’m glad he kept it down.
How are you coping?
How long before the next test?

Set a timer for 15 minutes so any second I'll go check now.

Am I also correct in saying that at +6 this does is going to kick in and his numbers could plummet again. Just need to know what I'm in for.

Going now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top