5/18 Wonton AMPS 98 and not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wonton

Member Since 2012
To me this is a 911: Wonton has never been in the green. I'm not sure if I should give her shot, she's not eating or doesn't seem interested right now. She usually runs to the kitchen to eat. Also, I have to leave for work in about an hour. Any advice is most appreciated.....
 
If Wonton is not eating, and this is your first green and lowest preshot and you have to leave in an hour, then I would skip.

If you want, you can try to stall, and see if she will eat and then test again. Post that number, and see if anyone has any suggestions for you. I also, have to leave in 30 minutes.

Try to warm up the food a little, or try to add some crushed freeze dried toppings to the food, or you can try some parmesan cheese or FortiFlora on top of her food.

If you decide to skip, then tonight, if you want to, you can adjust your shot schedule to a new time since it will be more than 12 hours since her last shot.

Does that sound okay, to you?
 
Yes, sounds good. I took a shower, went to my bdrm and she's now hidding under the bed. I brought her food to her and she sniffed and went back under the bed. Should I try her higher carb gravy food? I will now try to add parmesean to the current FF classic low carb and see if she'll eat. Thank you for your fast response Dyana, I so appreciate it!
 
The parmesean did the trick, wow! She ate quite a bit, but went back under the bed. Should I give her a high carb food to bring up her BG? I'm sure she's not used to this low number.
 
I would just stick with the LC and test again about now, and see if she has gone up.
Only if she keeps going lower, would I think about giving a higher carb food.
Post your number when you get it. Also, get an out the door test, too, please. And leave some food out for her to eat while you're gone today. She'll probably be a lot higher when you get home because of the skipped dose.
 
Just took her reading and it's 113 from 98 after eating some LC food. I will leave LC food for her to eat during the day while I'm at work and not give her shot until this evening. Thank you again Dyana! I can feel more at peace leaving her for the day.
 
I'm glad all is well now....just might want to take the 911 off your post at this point since you've settled and have a plan, so as to not startle anyone.

These are very, very nice numbers for Wonton, BTW...definitley a good idea to start grabbing a few more mid-cycle tests, because it looks like Wonton is responding very nicely to Lantus. It will be interesting to see where she's at come PMPS time without insulin on board!

Have a great day at work!
 
OK, thank you for your help. Do you think she's hiding b'cuz she's not used to the low readings? I would think she would be feeling good but wonder if she's not. Anyway, I'm headed off to work now that she has a supply of LC food to nibble all day.
Enjoy your day also!
 
It's definitely possible that the low numbers are making Wonton feel funky right now. Her body is probably used to the higher numbers, and even though she's in "normal" numbers at the moment and it seems like she should feel good, it could just feel different to her.

Please let us know how she's feeling later today! One thing about us LantusLand folks...we worry about eachother's kitties!!!
 
A couple of questions: Is checking her night numbers up to +4 good or should I wake up in the early morning (1, 2, 3am) to check?
Sorry for being dense but what do you mean by 'connecting my condo from previous day'? I'm thinking it's my previous day's posts?
 
Lol!! "Condo" is Lantus-speak for your thread from the previous day. You can either insert it by putting the http info in between the brackets (just click on the button above the text box) so it looks like http info here. Alternatively, you can make it fancy. To do so, you set it up like this: whatever you want to call the link and it will give you a clickable link.

When to test at night is based on what Wonton's numbers are telling you. I would try to get a +2. Usually, if the +2 is much lower than your pre-shot, it indicates you will have an active cycle and want to get additional tests. However, if the +2 is the same as your pre-shot, you can still have an active cycle -- it depends on your cat. I would definitely get a test before you go to bed. If +4 is when you typically are heading to sleep, definitely get a test. If numbers are dropping, you may need to continue to monitor. Many cats experience lower numbers at night so it's important for safety reasons to get at least one spot check -- preferably as close to nadir as possible. In addition, if you don't test at night, you're missing half of your data.
 
I didn't see condo in the Lantus-speak glossary so wanted to be sure I knew :-D
Thank you for the night testing info. What I'm learning is to never assume that since her numbers have been high that they can't go below 100.
One other question...for this post anyway ;-) So... I didn't give her shot this morning so even if she doesn't eat much today she should be ok because the Lantus is wearing off and her numbers will go up right? That's my worry as I sit here at work that she doesn't eat today...
 
I didn't see condo in the Lantus-speak glossary so wanted to be sure I knew :-D
Thank you for the night testing info. What I'm learning is to never assume that since her numbers have been high that they can't go below 100.
One other question...for this post anyway ;-) So... I didn't give her shot this morning so even if she doesn't eat much today she should be ok because the Lantus is wearing off and her numbers will go up right? That's my worry as I sit here at work that she doesn't eat today...
 
No insulin means no worries. Wonton's numbers shouldn't drop into nail biting territory. You already tested and saw that numbers were up by roughly 20 points when you left for work. Just don't be upset if Wonton's numbers are high when you get home. No insulin also can mean ugly numbers.

Actually, I erred on my definition. A condo is your thread for the day. Typically, we open one condo per cat per day. It's called a condo because there are those carpet covered things cats climb on (aka a cat condo) and because it makes more sense for us beans to visit condos vs. threads.
 
Came home from work and her reading was 327 at 5:30pm, not surprising. She's probably about 90% om LC food now. Wanted to do more PM readings but fell asleep. Her 1:00AM reading is 189. She's now on my lap and not hiding.She wamts my attention and not wanting me to type, LOL. will do 1 more reading at 2:00 then going back to sleep.
 
So glad to hear she's feeling better! 327 is not too bad for a skipped shot, and Wonton jumped right back into action!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top