5/18 Toeby AMPS 297, +2 182, +3 135, +4 85, +5.5 117, PMPS 329, +2 320, +3 328.

Laura, are you following TR now?
If you are able to test over the next few days, I would increase the dose to 0.5 units.

Yes, I am following TR protocol now, and I have been thinking about an increase.
I do have a nagging question: if one looks at his spreadsheet, is it safe to say that the chance of going hypo on me again, is most likely in the first 4 hours after his insulin?

I am trying to tell myself that an increase doesn't mean I will be chained to house all day, every day.
That people follow TR protocol and go to work.
This is not rational, I know - I know that getting his BG under more control should be, and is my #1 goal; but I worry each increase means more likelihood of a hypo.
I do have plans for Thursday morning with some friends, but I can cancel them.
 
You have had a couple of scary greens (under 45) but the majority of your greens were completely safe. I can't advise on this nor can I tell you there won't be days where you will not be concerned. A lot of people do work who are on TR. Do you work, Laura? Let's get some experts on board to address your questions. @Bandits Mom or @tiffmaxee or @JaxBeni or @Wendy&Neko
 
Alrighty, I hear you all, thank you, and I will make the increase tonight.

I think, @Wendy&Neko, that you are telling me that if Toeby is going to go low, it is "likely" going to be in those early hours after insulin administration???
Or did I read something into what you meant by "early action"?
I say "likely" because I know there are no guarantees in this game.

In answer to your question, @Summer and Susie, no I don't currently work, I am retired.
I try to schedule any time away from home for afternoons so Toeby is safe, and I can be guilt & worry free.
But, occasionally I have to leave the house in the morning.
So far I have been checking him before I go, giving him snacks, leaving food out, and if necessary, canceling my plans.
The last day I had to cancel plans was April 29th, the last time he went hypo on me with a 45 at +4.
So, that is what worries me.
I feel better when I read that an increase will not necessarily cause problems, as per @tiffmaxee.

If there is any best way to handle potential hypos, or anticipate a problem, I would love to hear recommendations.
Thanks for everyone's help and input.
Laura
 
Laura, you are so fortunate that you are retired. It is not that others that work cannot handle increases but it is great when you can be at home if necessary. I think the best way to handle potential low numbers is to always check a +2. That will usually tell you if Toeby is going to stay about the same, rise or drop later. Also, like Bandit's Mom says, feeding a tsp of l/c at +1 and +2 and +3 (when they are low) may help level Toeby out for the morning. More small tsps may be needed also and if he is dropping you need to have that medium carb and high carb available. Take a look at Susie's spread sheet from yesterday (5/17) It was a dramatic day for me with Susie. A very early drop but the small amounts of low carb food, every hour, helped to keep her in safe numbers. Hopefully, you will get better advice from the pros. As @tiffmaxee said, an increase will not necessarily cause problems and hopefully you won't have any problems at all. You may have some challenges along the way but you want your boy in good numbers. You will just need to keep a closer eye on him until he adjust to the increase. Tag someone if you still have questions. Just be ready to have time for your boy when you do increase. It may take a couple of days to see any kind of benefits.
 
Increased dose to 0.5 units tonight
Feeding small amounts of canned Wellness kitten (which he likes and will usually eat readily for me) on the hour
His +2 is only very slightly less than his preshot... if I recheck at +3 and he hasn't dropped much, I don't think I will test a lot more tonight.
I suspect he may stay higher even with the increased dose, given that he had a good day today.
That seems to be his track record... bouncing higher after a good cycle.
Will check again in an hour or so.
 
+3 328 - I don't think he's dropping tonight.
I gave him a snack with more Methylcobalamin in it
I think the B12 is a good idea with the high BG's he's been running in the last several weeks... he has no signs, but as a precautionary treatment.
.
 
that you are telling me that if Toeby is going to go low, it is "likely" going to be in those early hours after insulin administration???
Or did I read something into what you meant by "early action"?
You are correct, he seems to onset early and his lows seem to earlier in the cycle. Until they aren't of course. :cat:
 
Back
Top