5/18 Shiloh - AMPS 296, +11 - 326, PMPS 286, +3 - 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Member Since 2015
I was a little worried going to work today after her numbers yesterday. Obviously have no idea how low she went. And this week is going to be a bear at work. Might get a couple of +5 readings, maybe....
 
It is tough going to work with an FD kitty in the house some days! Are you able to add in a test right before you leave? That could give you an idea of what Shiloh has in mind for the day...if she's on the move downward and it's early in the cycle, she may have big plans for a drop and you could leave some food out when you leave. Some folks make what we call "catcicles" by freezing some food in ice cube trays and leaving it out. By the time it thaws, it's usually a good time for a kitty snack!
 
Hi Rhonda!

Here's your condo (thread) from yesterday. We link them each day so that people can go back and look at what has been said/happened before.

Julie,
Shiloh is usually home for several hours during the day. I try to come home at lunch and test her, but it doesn't happen frequently.

At the vet last Saturday, she weighed 12.4 pounds, according to their scale. Last year in June, she weighed 16.5.

I emailed the vet yesterday with her numbers. He said that he doesn't want her going lower than she was yesterday during the day, and recommended that I alternate between 2 units and 2.5 units.

Because Lantus is a depot insulin - that means when you inject it, some of it forms a precipitate in the body, while some is immediately available to lower blood sugar. As you continue to shoot the same dose, the depot builds to an equilibrium relative to the dose. In other words, your 2.5u shot has a depot in the body that corresponds in size to the size of the dose.

Think of the depot as being somewhat like a timed-release med. It continually gives out some insulin into the body.

When you increase the dose, there can be a slight lag time while the depot builds up so that it's comparable to the new dose. That can take a couple of days. That's one reason why dose increases are held for a minimum of 2-3 days so you can see what the dose can really do once the depot has increased.

When you decrease the dose, the previously larger depot can continue to give at that larger level for as many as 6 more cycles. In one example of this, let's say that Shiloh goes under 50 on this dose and you decrease his next shot to 2.25u. He might very well go under 50 again in that cycle, or even the next day, because of the 2.5u dose that you used to give.

You don't need to remember all of that at the moment, but the important message to take away is that a steady dose is very important with a depot insulin. Alternating between 2u and 2.5u ha the effect of causing the boat to rock. We need a calm lake in order to evaluate the dose - changing the dose and having the depot being inconsistent has the effect of rocking the boat. It's best to stick with one dose every 12 hours, and then re-evaluate it to see how it's doing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top