5/18 Rocky PMPS 210 +1 128 +2 88 +3 57 +3.5 44 +5 83 +11 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's Condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118902

Yesterdays' SS:

I'm not saying much now because wrote for 15 minutes and then it wouldn't post and then my post disappeared. That's really frustrating. Feel like so much of my time is spent trying to get connected to the board. I'm sure this is a big time waster for many people. :roll:

Rocky's BG just dropped from PMPS +11 287 to AMPS 162. That's 125 points. Fed him the 8% Wellness Core. Praying that's enough to keep him above 50. Re-testing now.

Well, the 8% bumped him back up 73 points. I don't know if I'll push him into the 300s or be able to help him surf today. After six months his liver still confounds me and I have no idea what the "correct" thing is to do to help him heal.
 
Re: dosecrease? 5/18 Rocky AMPS +162 +1 214 +2 118 +4 60 +5

Rocky has now had 9 cycles of the 1.75u dose.

Overall, on 1.75u of insulin, Rocky has still had blood glucose levels MOSTLY in the 300s, even up to 400, on this dose, more times than his blood glucose has been in green or blue numbers.

Rocky's BG has been in the 'normal cat' range on three different days. Keep in mind that there are 24 hours to each day, so he's really had barely any hours where his blood glucose has been in the normal cat range on this 1.75u dose of insulin:


5/15-> 4 to 5 hours is green and blue
5/16-> 8 hours green and mostly blue
5/18-> 4 hours and counting?


One thing is a given-- Rocky needs to have more hours of the day when his blood glucose is in the normal cat range rather than in the 300s. We're going on SIX MONTHS NOW with Rocky still having his blood glucose levels too high, mostly being in the 300s..

To help Rocky achieve more hours of the day when his blood glucose is in the normal cat range, I believe that I need to increase his insulin dose. I am not sure how many more cycles I need to hold his current inadequate dose. I also don't know how much more insulin would benefit him.

I am wondering if I should try to do a (f)1.75u or (s)2.0u? :roll: I am home almost all day long, and in the evening as well. I do have the time and opportunity to monitor him.

Please keep in mind that Rocky eats just about anything I put in front of him so feeding for a blood glucose under 50 is not a problem. He has never vomited nor had diarrhea even when he went DKA. He does not appear to have chronic pancreatitis, constipation, or IBD in any way, shape, or form.

I worry that by trying to keep Rocky "safe" in these highly elevated numbers for long stretches of time, 300s and higher, is actually throwing away any chance that his pancreas may heal and that he possibly go into remission. :cry:

What are your thoughts and opinions? confused_cat
 
Re: dosecrease? 5/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +2 118 +5 81 +7 69 +9 10

I'm not sure on the timing of your post - but i see a fantastic stretch of green numbers today. i'm guessing you posted before he went green today. I would hold his dose.

if you haven't yet given him 2 teaspoons of low carb (4ish%), i would do so to see if he will stay in this range longer.
 
Re: dosecrease? 5/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +2 118 +5 81 +7 69 +9 10

today was a nearly perfect cycle... preshots are coming down overall... my inclination would be to hang on to this dose for a bit to see if the preshots keep going down. Sometimes fiddling with the dose too much is what can stall progress. But for sure I wouldn't decide anything until I see what tonight's PMPS is.

If you do decide to increase, first ask yourself this question: "if I get a green preshot, am I willing and able to shoot?" If not, then I wouldn't increase this dose right now. If so, then remember that you have been feeding aggressively to allow you to increase the dose, so if you shoot low then you'll absolutely have to monitor and might have to work hard to keep the numbers up.
 
Re: dosecrease? 5/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +5 81 +7 69 +9 101 +11 1

Hi Julie and Libby,

It sort of looks like he is going to have a blue number for his PMPS pre-shot. His BG is on it's way up, although this is a slowly progressing upwards..

I am definitely not going to increase his insulin dose tonight, although I could see a high bounce by the time I give the shot. At this point I'm not even sure what % carbs I need to feed him at PMPS. I'm not sure if he'll drop like a rock when he gets the shot, or if he's got enough MC in him already to continue to ride this cycle in blue numbers. I wouldn't even mind seeing an evening of all yellow numbers.

Putting thinking cap on.. HM... Go with 4% carb for pre-shot PMPS mini-meal, or 8% carb and possibly start his BG on a much more upward cycle? :roll:

Rocky boy, come on.. just tell me what to do and I'll do it. I'm listening I'm just not sure that I understand.

Julie, for his pre-meal PMPS shot I fed him 1/4 can of the 5% carb FF Beef Feast. That would be 1/4 can of 3oz of food. Usually when he gets 1/4 can of 5.5oz of food. So, he's getting little bit less food. He's already eaten 1.5oz of the FF Beef Feast during his AM cycle when his BG was in the 60s this afternoon.

I think for awhile I might have to be getting a +.5 reading for him to make sure he isn't going to dive. Sometimes he's dropped 100 points in that 2nd hour after he's had his shot.
 
Re: HOLDING dose 5/18 Rocky AMPS 162 +5 81 +7 69 +9 101 +11

Tina

This is the hard part....figuring out what works best for your kitty. You have to be able to spot patterns and the consistency within the inconsistencies. It's trial and error. Sometimes when you have it figured out, it changes.

It's helpful to know if Rocky gets a food spike or not. Looks to me like sometimes he does, sometimes he doesn't but that's likely because of the different foods you give him as well as his dose and whether he's clearing a bounce or not. Even though you might not think there are patterns, there are and you just have to learn to pick them out.

So when you feed a food, see if he gets a spike, and how much, and how long does it last? Does it change when he clears a bounce and how? Does it change with dose?
 
Re: HOLDING dose 5/18 Rocky PMPS 210 +.5 134

HI Marje,

You're right, I have changed Rocky's food a lot. I was giving him the 0% carbs but with wanting to increase his insulin dose to perhaps get more hours of blue/green numbers I've increased his carbs.

I think that Rocky does get a food spike, when he's had "enough" food. So far I don't know when "enough" food is. For example, I didn't give him as much food for his PM pre-shot mini-meal and I gave him 5% carbs instead of 8% carbs.. This time, unlike this morning, his BG came down by 76 points.

Now, having said that, his BG DID come down again after it spiked this morning, it came down in the 2nd hour. Hm.. maybe I need to give him higher carbs right now for this second PMPS mini-meal. :roll:

It's hard to tell whether I should feed him more LC or give him less MC to help him surf.
 
Re: HOLDING dose 5/18 Rocky PMPS 210 +.5 134

ECID but it does seem a little typical that the food spike in Lantus cats is often seen at +1 and by +2, we know if the kitty is going up or down.

If you fed a little more at +1 when there is no food spike, and also fed at +2, maybe that will help and is a place to start.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top