5/18 Maggie PMPS 204; +3 190 Lab Results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43544ut

Thank you Iorwen, Michelle, Melissa, Devon, Celi, and Marje for visiting yesterday. Sorry I didn't get a chance to get back yesterday and respond personally.

I was sitting and pacing here yesterday all worried about Maggie's test results when I didn't hear back from the Vet, but then I remembered Tuesday is one of his surgery days. I know; I am a bit of a worry wort! Checking my E-mail late morning yesterday, I did get an E-mail from the Vet with all her test results and even a comparison of the results from the last four lab test results so that I could compare and see how she's done the last year and a half. It is a great tool to see all these results side by side. Now I need to get a copy of the lab results with the lab's range value just on the latest 5/16/11 lab results. Maggie's BUN is 42, her Creatinine is 2.6. It was 2.3 on 12/28/10, and BUN/Creatinine is 16. I know this doesn't help w/out the Lab's range values. But with the 2.6 Creatinine, this places her in the Category of Stage 2 kidney disease, which she has been in this category for the past year; it's just a little higher this time. He said to call after I got the E-mail lab results, and we did speak later in the day. Her health is well enough to withstand the anesthesia which is what I wanted to confirm. He has no reservations with her undergoing the dental. All the other lab work turned out normal, and there is no UTI. She is drinking and urinating more because of the kidneys. No change in diet right now is recommended. Their protocol now with her age and kidneys will be to keep her there three hours or longer to monitor and make sure she's okay and fluid levels, etc. I think last time they let her go home earlier. Soooo....I am still nervous, of course, and thinking of taking her in Tuesday. Surgeries are also on Fridays, but with the weekend coming up, if something were to go wrong, the clinic is only open half a day Saturday. With dental on a Tuesday, I would have the rest of the week with the Vet's office open, and there are also two other great Vets in his clinic. Any comments or advice? I am wondering if I should add a drop as her bg is still running a little high, or should I wait until after the dental and see if she comes down on her own. Most likely her gingivitis and bad tooth are causing the high bg! All P's in place today, and Maggie Mae looks like a happy camper laying here on her side all sleepy like! Rain today but I need to get out and do a lot of stuff!
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197 Lab Results

With the exception of those few yellows, Maggie's numbers look pretty much the same. I'd wait and see if the numbers come down over the next day or two.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197 Lab Results

Thanks Sienne. That makes sense. I will keep the dose the same and see how she fares after the dental. I think it's her teeth causing the higher numbers.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197 Lab Results

Hi Ann, glad you got her numbers back and there isn't any big surprises. Maverick was just at stage 2 and I had only started reading up on kidney issues so I can't help with this at all. Glad there wasn't a UTI also. Give Maggie a belly rub from me.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Thanks Karie; yes, I'm glad her numbers are more stable. She just came down nicely to a surprise 140. I thought she was acting a little strange, jumping onto her testing spot on the sofa and talking a lot. I would rather she be a little high going in for the dental than low. I've just started reading more, too, on Stage 2 kidney disease. I should check Dr. Lisa's links, too. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Good morning Ann and Maggie! Good to hear that her labs came back pretty stable. That has got to be a relief. Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Good to hear Maggie's results were nothing unexpected and the dental can go as plan.
Will keep her in my thoughts, try not to worry too much. (says another worry wart!)
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

It must be such a relief to get the lab results back and it sounds like Maggie has remained pretty stable. I know you must be worried about the dental and I could say "don't worry about it" but I know how I was, and worrying is just going to happen. I definitely think the Tues. appointment is the way to go since you won't have to worry about getting in touch with anyone if it is over the weekend. The 140 is looking good!
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Everything seems to be working out OK for Maggie. I'm glad that she is fine to have the dental and that you were able to schedule it for early in the week. Bgs look good, too. You must be relieved to have this report. Now onward to the dental!!
Enjoy the day, Ann,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Thanks Iorwen, Melissa, Georgia and Ella for stopping by and for your support. I am too much of a worry worry and am thankful Maggie has a good report and able to have the dental. Yes, I was so happy to see the 140 at +3. I'll be glad when it's all over.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Hey Ann...Looks like the two of us are scheduling the dentals for next week. Mine is on Monday..I hate Dental Day too.

Maggie is looking good overall. And I bet the dental cleaning will help w/her numbers.

Hugs,
Tena and Curry
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Just dropping by to say hello and see how Maggie was feeling.

Looks like you have some decisions and a dental coming up.

I would think those numbers will come down after the dental some.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Hi guys .. sounds like all is still well with maggie and a dental is in her near future! I am sure she will do fine and will start showing some :mrgreen: once she is fully recovered ... I would also try to get a dental in on Tuesday if possible .. for the same reason you stated .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Hi Ann
Just a quick looksee on u on My lunchee break!
From Another worry wart - what the heck , thats all of us eh? Lol
Glad ur results came back
U hang in there!
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

I'm no expert, but can attest to the fact that high #s do indeed come from a bad tooth. IMHO.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Hey Ann...Looks like the two of us are scheduling the dentals for next week. Mine is on Monday..I hate Dental Day too.

Hey Tena, great as now we can compare notes. You're going first. I forget, do we give any insulin the day of the dental, or I guess it depends on the bg. I've been thru this before with a dental, but memory fails. Take care.

Hi Blue, yes, I bet the numbers do come down after the dental. She is doing not too bad today! I just tested, and she is 146 at +8! I was gone earlier, and I bet she dropped. She's been so high I never expected such a drop.

Hi Devon, yes I like Tuesday much better than Friday. My Vet does surgeries Tuesdays and Fridays. I'm looking forward to having Maggie feel better.

Hey Ronnie & Luna, thanks for checking in on Maggie. You are getting really good at using that new IPhone. I would love to have one. Yes, we are all worry worts.

Hi Bev, yes, that seems to be a lot of the Beans' experiences that a bad tooth can cause high numbers. It sounds like you've been thru it, too. She also has gingevitis.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140 Lab Results

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hey Ann...Looks like the two of us are scheduling the dentals for next week. Mine is on Monday..I hate Dental Day too.

Hey Tena, great as now we can compare notes. You're going first. I forget, do we give any insulin the day of the dental, or I guess it depends on the bg. I've been thru this before with a dental, but memory fails. Take care.

My vet sd for me to skip Curry's shot the night prior and also the morning of her dental. She would rather have Curry's numbers a little higher than under 100. I'm OK w/that as well. In my condo, I had asked folks that very question....some do a full shot and some do 1/2 the amount the night prior. Definitely skip the day of since they won't be eating and the anesthesia can also bring their numbers down. I might have to skip the evening shot the day of the dental depending on what time Curry gets discharged and if she's eating.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140; +8 146; PMPS 204 Lab Resu

Thanks Tena. Hey, great minds think alike, I was just in your condo soaking up all the info and you were answering me. I may skip the night before, too. Usually Maggie is high in the morning, but she won't have any food left overnight, so that will make a big difference in her numbers. The Vet's office said no food after 9:00 pm and water is okay overnight and take it away in the morning. This doesn't sound quite right, so I will double check.
 
Re: 5/18 Maggie AMPS 197; +3 140; +8 146; PMPS 204 Lab Resu

Hi Ann sorry I have been so MIA hope the dental helps to bring Maggie's numbers back down :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
hi Ann - sorry to be so late in visiting you. I thought I had earlier, guess I didn't. :roll: bummer.

I am glad that Maggie's BW came back good, and that she can have her dental. YAY! I wouldn't change her dose either until after - It very well could drop after the cleaning, etc. FWIW: my vet asked me to give regular shot the night before, half dose the morning of. Mannie is at a much higher dose than Maggie, maybe that is why the difference? I don't know. On the morning of the dental I ended up skipping the shot, rather than doing the half dose, as Mannie was running so slow, and well I just couldn't risk it, as it was 4 hours until I could even get him there.... anyways....
my vet told me no food after midnight, water was OK. Good luck!
 
good to get that blood test back early to confirm maggie's good for the dental. i think it's a smart idea to do it on tuesday so you have the rest of the week if you need anything.

hopefully this will help with her numbers!

i suspect all of us are worrywarts about our kitters! you're in good company! :lol:
 
hey hi

quick question, do you have the info for dental? I know you've been thru it before, I have it saved on a PM here, if u need it again, I'll post it for you, unless someone else beats me to it!

But I think you mentioned the dental was next week, I would suggest everyday til then, fill up your condo with all the dental Q's you may have, or certain stuff you're not sure about.
And make sure you add DENTAL Q's to your subject line. ;-)
have a good day Ann!
 
Hi Ronnie, bless you for thinking of Maggie. Yes, I bet this is the same one you have - if not, send me yours, too. We can never have enough information. this is one Sienne posted on one of her condos:

http://www.cathospitalofchicago.com/lib ... hesia.html

Is this the same as yours? Maggie's dental is next Tuesday, and I'll be dropping her at 7:30 a, when the hospital opens. The hard part is no food after 9 pm - water is okay except for the morning of the dental. Maggie always eats overnight. They also want to keep her there longer and monitor since she's stage two kidney disease and her creatanine was a bit higher this time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top