5/18 Duriel AMPS305,+5 282,+10 148,+10 139,PMPS 193,+6 187

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305

She will come down from that 305 preshot. It may take a couple cycles. Her liver isn't used to the low numbers (especially the 35 and 42) that she got yesterday and it panicked, sending her into rebound.
 
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305, +5 282, +10 148

Durie's coming back down; 148 at +10. I will take Venita's advice, and test at PMPS - if Durie's still falling, I will stall and retest 30 mins. I won't shoot until she's over 130.. if that happens and her shot time is moved, I imagine it becomes the new shooting time for AM/PM so there's 12 hours between shots.

EDIT PMPS +6: Seems to be getting over the bump. Did have to wait 30 minutes to shoot, so new shooting time is 6am/pm EST.
 
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305, +5 282, +10 148

Hi Jorge

Many of us here shoot any number above 50 as long as we have supplies and can monitor. I'm not suggesting that you shoot that low, but I think 130 is rather a high "no shoot" number. Shooting a dropping number, once you have data, can allow you to take great advantage of overlap and carryover.

Again, I'm not suggesting that you shoot a dropping number BUT I think if you get a dropping number or aPS below 130, why don't you post and ask for help? We teach new members to gradually shoot lower and lower (not below 50) and to also shoot safe, dropping numbers.

The other important thing is to be aware that lantus can give a second dip at the end of the cycle. It can look like a dropping number, but it isn't. The difference between a dropping number and a second dip is that the BG starts higher at PS and then decreases all the way to the next PS. A second dip is when the cat nadirs, the numbers come back up, and then drop again at the end if the cycle. The second dip is typically not lower than the nadir.
 
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305,+5 282,+10 148,+10 139,PMPS 193,+6 1

Marje and Gracie said:
if you get a dropping number or aPS below 130, why don't you post and ask for help? We teach new members to gradually shoot lower and lower (not below 50) and to also shoot safe, dropping numbers.

Thanks, I will.
 
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305,+5 282,+10 148,+10 139,PMPS 193,+6 1

I think it's important that you know your goal for Duriel. Is it remission? Or do you just want to keep her between 100-200? If its the latter, then Venitas no shoot number might work better for you. If its remission, then we can teach you to shoot lower gradually.
 
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305,+5 282,+10 148,+10 139,PMPS 193,+6 1

Marje and Gracie said:
I think it's important that you know your goal for Duriel. Is it remission? Or do you just want to keep her between 100-200? If its the latter, then Venitas no shoot number might work better for you. If its remission, then we can teach you to shoot lower gradually.

Both my diabetics went into remission.
 
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305,+5 282,+10 148,+10 139,PMPS 193,+6 1

My cat also went into remission and I never shot below 150. You are risking a hypo if you shoot that low. Every cat is different I understand but confirming a rise is also important.

Céline
 
Re: 5/18 Duriel AMPS305,+5 282,+10 148,+10 139,PMPS 193,+6 1

Yes, I agree. I can't risk a hypo. Yesterday I stalled to be sure she was on the way up. See spreadsheet 5/18 AMPS +11 139 - that was actually at +12 but since Durie was still coming down I didn't shot until 30 mins later, when she was going up again. I think in terms of a threshold, shooting below 130 like Venita said doesn't make sense to me. I'd rather use the stalling method, than learn to shoot lower numbers (at this point). My goal isn't remission vs. 200s... it's simply to keep Durie well and steady in the greens or blues without risking hypos that scare me, and threaten her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top