5/18 Darcy AMPS 461 :-(

Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you! I’ve gotten him down and he is feeling sooo much better already. When he was at 461 he was very lethargic... lying around and not even raising his head much for me - almost floppy when I picked him up ... well yes just floppy is an accurate description. At 360 he started to get up and look around. Then he ate some food :-). I’m getting ready to recheck him now.... 217. He seems a lot better now except he has diarrhea and is constantly in the litter box passing tiny bits of diarrhea. Not sure why. No food has changed.
 
Thank you! I’ve gotten him down and he is feeling sooo much better already. When he was at 461 he was very lethargic... lying around and not even raising his head much for me - almost floppy when I picked him up ... well yes just floppy is an accurate description. At 360 he started to get up and look around. Then he ate some food :). I’m getting ready to recheck him now.... 217. He seems a lot better now except he has diarrhea and is constantly in the litter box passing tiny bits of diarrhea. Not sure why. No food has changed.
So glad to hear this! Don't forget to enter the numbers in the ss. I didn't see them. That high AMPS probably freaked you out. I always know when you are upset as you don't say anything in your original post of the day. You just attach the previous post. I really, really, really hope Darcy and you have a good day after your disturbing early morning.
 
Ohh Suzanne, i am so sorry for the high values, i really hope you get to a good dose and manage to get Darcy back to blues and greens as soon as possible :bighug:

We as well pray for you two :bighug:
 
Mr Darcy, unacceptable AMPS :bighug: (Auntie Liz is trying the tough love approach). You look so much better in blue. And Darcy and Minnie are L-dose twins today!

I saw in the comments you said no low numbers to bounce from, but couldn't you argue that the blues are low (relatively speaking) so there's a little bounce? Mind you, I am still dreadful at interpreting spreadsheets and he has been all over the place. If it's any consolation, it was only a month ago he crashed down to a dose of 27u. TWENTY SEVEN!! And now he's at 5.

Breathe (Suzanne) and eat (Darcy). PS glad to see his ketones still nice and low, despite the drinking. And isn't it a relief to have that R on hand?
 
So glad to hear this! Don't forget to enter the numbers in the ss. I didn't see them. That high AMPS probably freaked you out. I always know when you are upset as you don't say anything in your original post of the day. You just attach the previous post. I really, really, really hope Darcy and you have a good day after your disturbing early morning.
You are right. I sure didn't have anything positive to say this morning... so I didn't say anything at all. I have just now had time to enter my SS numbers. Just haven't had time. Too busy taking care of him and trying to just get a shower and take care of all the other animals around here. Also, had a dental appointment (cleaning) at 1:00 this afternoon. You'll notice no gaps in my SS though. I had my daughter here testing him every hour on the hour (just two tests for her) so that I can make sure my experiment with giving tiny amounts of R insulin is working and keeping him pretty flat (so far it is working). I would not have been able to do this today if nobody was going to be home... too risky. Thanks for checking up on us. I looked at Susie's SS this morning, but haven't had time to check to see how she's done in the afternoon. I hope all is well!
 
Mr Darcy, unacceptable AMPS :bighug: (Auntie Liz is trying the tough love approach). You look so much better in blue. And Darcy and Minnie are L-dose twins today!

I saw in the comments you said no low numbers to bounce from, but couldn't you argue that the blues are low (relatively speaking) so there's a little bounce? Mind you, I am still dreadful at interpreting spreadsheets and he has been all over the place. If it's any consolation, it was only a month ago he crashed down to a dose of 27u. TWENTY SEVEN!! And now he's at 5.

Breathe (Suzanne) and eat (Darcy). PS glad to see his ketones still nice and low, despite the drinking. And isn't it a relief to have that R on hand?
Hello Auntie Liz! Mr. Darcy believes it is undignified to bounce!
(Seriously, he's not that bouncy of a cat... his name is not Tigger ... although I used to have a Tigger)

Maybe you shouldn't look because I am using R in an interesting manner today (although a little too much at AMPS). I do promise to hold this new dose for 6 cycles though and be a good mama.

I'm not one of these spreadsheet geniuses either. But I do know my cat fairly well.
 
Now I have to run off to the vet to get Darcy some more of the food he is eating. I wish I didn't have to drive there today, but this food is his current favorite and I cannot afford to run out. This is a good problem to have though because that means he has been eating (and he loves the salmon juice on top!) Saturday is the day he decided to start eating again. Sunday ate well. Yesterday not so well. Today started slowly but he's been picking up steam... and we just popped the last of those little 3.5 oz. cans. Be back later. Got to make it back home by 5 for shot time.
 
I WAS just looking at your R dosing with interest and curiosity that he seems to be staying stable. Are you anticipating a drop at some point, with all the stacked R doses?

Ha, thanks for the warning not to look. Though I am too scared of Minnie's responses to R to replicate what you're doing...now at least :) If she was in the reds/blacks and ketones rising...ugh, best not to think about it...but when I see her ketones on the up these days, I do have an itchy-R finger and I'm almost relieved to see her verging on 300 at that point.

Mr Darcy is indeed dignified, how did I forget?!
 
I WAS just looking at your R dosing with interest and curiosity that he seems to be staying stable. Are you anticipating a drop at some point, with all the stacked R doses?

Ha, thanks for the warning not to look. Though I am too scared of Minnie's responses to R to replicate what you're doing...now at least :) If she was in the reds/blacks and ketones rising...ugh, best not to think about it...but when I see her ketones on the up these days, I do have an itchy-R finger and I'm almost relieved to see her verging on 300 at that point.

Mr Darcy is indeed dignified, how did I forget?!
R seems to be gone after 4 hours. And in Darcy it usually takes 2 hours to onset.
 
I WAS just looking at your R dosing with interest and curiosity that he seems to be staying stable. Are you anticipating a drop at some point, with all the stacked R doses?

Ha, thanks for the warning not to look. Though I am too scared of Minnie's responses to R to replicate what you're doing...now at least :) If she was in the reds/blacks and ketones rising...ugh, best not to think about it...but when I see her ketones on the up these days, I do have an itchy-R finger and I'm almost relieved to see her verging on 300 at that point.

Mr Darcy is indeed dignified, how did I forget?!
And you have a cat who is more responsive to insulin than mine. I would say never do this with Minnie. She dives with R doesn’t she?
 
VERY impressed with the R. My Kingdom for some R! ;-)
Thank you. It is unorthodox. Like I said, I know how he is responding lately and I am "experimenting." Hence, you see me testing every hour on the hour... although I am exhausted. Tonight I may have to give it a rest. Thanks for stopping by.
 
Thank you. It is unorthodox. Like I said, I know how he is responding lately and I am "experimenting." Hence, you see me testing every hour on the hour... although I am exhausted. Tonight I may have to give it a rest. Thanks for stopping by.
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again… You do an amazing job with him!

Yes, please do get yourself some rest tonight. I know that Mr. Darcy would want that for you as well.
 
Sometimes! and sometimes - rien. R-roulette
I'm glad to hear you say that. I get variable responses to R. We are supposed to make R scales... but the cat responds differently at different times. I guess we need the scales to keep things safe.. which is the most important thing. Well, our cats are not little machines.. .just to keep life interesting (and exhausting.)
 
Well, he's been doing "okay" with what I have been doing today. I've kept him yellow ... in the lower yellows for the most part ... and I suppose I need to be happy with that (I think I am). We are going to the vet tomorrow for a recheck and I just sooo don't want to take him there with his BGs in the 400s (for multiple reasons). I hope I can work it out tomorrow?

I have not slept in my bed with my husband (and the other cats) since before 4/23 when this whole kidney failure thing broke. I have slept very little during that time. I am so tired. This afternoon when driving to the vet, I could hardly stay awake .... even with TWO Vivarin and a cup of coffee beside me. It was dangerous. I was falling asleep at the wheel. I kept stopping to get out of the car and walk around.

I hope I can sleep a little tonight .. maybe 6-7 hours? I can just let him go really high like last night (I hate that) or try to do a small amount of R at +6.
 
Isn't it spironolactone? Your sig says spironolodone. Is that slightly different?
Hi Suzanne. You sound exhausted :stop: take a breather and regroup when your mind has had a chance to recover. Maybe not every day but more than not, you’ve been dealing with major stress with poor Darcy for about 6 weeks. I can’t believe it’s been that long, where does all that time go? :arghh: Darcy is so fortunate to have you, the very best mom. If only he could really understand the pure love and dedication you give to keep him healthy and happy. Take a break tonight. Give him hugs and cuddles and decide on the next course of action in the am. Sending Dolly’s prayers for a hungry tummy, no returns accepted, and better BG results. Sending love and prayers and hugs and sweet dreams :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Suzanne. You sound exhausted :stop: take a breather and regroup when your mind has had a chance to recover. Maybe not every day but more than not, you’ve been dealing with major stress with poor Darcy for about 6 weeks. I can’t believe it’s been that long, where does all that time go? :arghh: Darcy is so fortunate to have you, the very best mom. If only he could really understand the pure love and dedication you give to keep him healthy and happy. Take a break tonight. Give him hugs and cuddles and decide on the next course of action in the am. Sending Dolly’s prayers for a hungry tummy, no returns accepted and better BG results. Sending love and prayers and hugs and sweet dreams :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Adrienne. Wisdom indeed. I hope you and hubby are all right.
 
This afternoon when driving to the vet, I could hardly stay awake .... even with TWO Vivarin and a cup of coffee beside me. It was dangerous. I was falling asleep at the wheel. I kept stopping to get out of the car and walk around.

I hope I can sleep a little tonight .. maybe 6-7 hours? I can just let him go really high like last night (I hate that) or try to do a small amount of R at +6.
You're right. It was dangerous. Many years ago I was soooo exhausted and actually did fall asleep at the wheel and crashed my car. I wouldn't wish doing that on my worst enemy. I'm lucky I didn't kill someone. So please....give yourself a break mama and get some sleep. You will be no good to anyone if you keep running yourself into the ground like this. It just sounds to me like you are beyond the point of needing to find a way to take care of yourself. Do whatever it takes, but figure out a way to do this. I vote for sleep and letting him go high tonight....so that you can drive to his appointment safely tomorrow.

Sending you lots of love and support, and lots of vetty vines to Mr. Darcy. Butters and I will be thinking of you and him while we are at her vet appointment tomorrow.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You have a lot on your plate with Petey and Darcy and who knows which other cats. :bighug::bighug: Get some rest tonight - you need to take care of you so you can take are of your kitties.
I am using R in an interesting manner today (although a little too much at AMPS)
Glad you recognize this AM R was too much. The other possibility is that he saw action on the first cycle of an increase (not uncommon), which is the main reason we don't shoot R on the first cycle of an L increase as it can cause too much of a drop (and resulting bounce). The R last night at PM1.5 was also too much. He dropped too fast then, which might well have caused the bounce that resulting in this morning's reds. I always found that bounces from fast drops caused worse numbers than bounces from lower numbers. As tempting as it is to keep shooting down numbers, you can get in a dangerous trap of shooting too much, causing bounces, then having to shoot more.

Remember, R is always optional. A favour to ask, after TR in your signature, could you put "do not copy dosing". I have the same in my signature and I pretty much did follow TR. If you are going "off book", I don't want people looking at the spreadsheet and thinking it's TR. We have a lot of lurkers.
VERY impressed with the R. My Kingdom for some R! ;-)
Not the way Suzanne is using it. Using R should not be to whack down bounces - you get in a vicious cycle and make the numbers worse.
 
Isn't it spironolactone? Your sig says spironolodone. Is that slightly different?
LOL I'm glad someone is paying attention. I wasn't when I updated my signature! :facepalm: fixed it.

My R scale is another tab on my s/s. You can see how differently she responded to the same dose at the same time on the same BG and L dose. That's why I now call it roulette. All I learn is afterwards that I gave the wrong dose.

You ARE exhausted. I echo the others. Give yourself permission to sleep through. Getting up in the middle of the night is unsustainable. We see these other s/s with middle of the night testing and have become acclimated to think it's normal. You and Mr D will be all the better for a solid night sleep. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Suzanne, I can't wrap my pea brain around how you are guiding Darcy with R while juggling his L and all of his other issues. Plus you're here cheering everyone else on and providing great insight into their kitties' situations. You are truly amazing. I hope you find a little sliver of time to do something nice for yourself. I find a nice warm footbath to be a very quick and easy thing to do to relax and calm the mind. We have so much stress in our feet, especially if you're running around all day long trying to take care of everyone. Hope Darcy stays flat on the beach for you and you get some nice zzzz's tonight. Hugs to you, cat mama with the mostest!
 
Back
Top