5/18 Curry PMPS 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Previous Condo

We have pre-dental appt w/the Vet early this morning for Curry. Its been 1.5 since previous dental for Curry. She has hx of reaborptive teeth. No extractions last time. I love this Vet for dentals. She's the owner of the clinic and has been practicing awhile. While she doesn't have the warmest personality she is an excellent clinician.

Question: What do most of you do for the night before in terms of insulin amount? Same dose? Half dose? And know about no shot the morning of the dental. Because she'll get home after her usually shot time the day of the dental she'll probably miss that one as well. I think last time they had me pick her up at 5:30pm and we got home at 6:00pm...Her usual shot time is 5:00pm.....Will want to make sure she can eat and such. And I'll be home the following day until 12:00 to go back to work.

Curry has reversed when she's going low again. Mostly in the evening now. I remember w/her last dental (it was pre-diabetes dx) that she took a couple of days to bounce back.
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Good luck with the vet visit today. We skipped Simon's shot in the AM before the dental and they kept checking her bg in case it went high but he was fine. We got back in time to give him his shot in the evening so I'm not sure what to tell you to do. I gave Simon his usual insulin shot the night before his procedure. I'm sure the dosing experts will be here soon to give you better advice. Hope everything turns out well and Curry won't need extractions.
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Good luck with the dental and the pre visit today.
No advice here as Tray hasn't had a dental yet since being diagnosed. I'm sure others will weigh in.
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

My vet had me do a normal shot the night before and only 1/2 dose in the am. Otherwise, the BG would have kept rising through the dental.
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

I wanted to come over and wish you luck with the Dental and give a bump for more experienced Eyes :-D
Have a good day!!
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Thanks for all the feeback, bumps and support.

Back from the Vetty....Curry was her usual pissy self. She was a bit difficult when Dr. Warner was getting the blood. Silly kitty. She does have some tartar. Since my kitty can run below 100 in the morning, the Vet said to skip both the night before shot and the morning of the dental shot. I'm actually OK with that approach. Maybe if I get Curry in as the first surgical candidate in the morning, she'll be ready to come home at 5:00...could even shoot as late as 6:00pm the evening of the dental depending on how she is doing.

This vet has not seen Curry's SS before today and was very impressed with the home testing. She thought that Curry was running perhaps a bit low on her numbers.....she just hadn't seen a cat home tested and tightly regulated. She even sd that maybe Curry could be off the insulin with such low numbers but I know better than that. I think her asthma issues will always keep her a bit high.

So will get the blood results tomorrow. Scheduled the dental for Monday.

Thanks for all the support.

BTW (I hate dental day)
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Oh what a busy morning going on for Curry...

Best of luck on the dental...looks like you have some great direction already.

Yeah, home-testing sometimes surprises the vets not expecting it.
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Poor Curry! Its ok Curry to be pissy at the doctor, Leo has to be sedated to get blood outta him so you're doing pretty good ;)

Hopefully she has nothing wrong with her teeth and good luck with the dental!
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Hi guys .. glad the vet visit went ok .. will be sending good thoughts for the dental on monday .. my vet also thinks that mocha runs to low on her numbers .. I get the impression from my vet that we forced mocha to be that low and "normal" cat's would never run that low .. but ECID, right? Anyways, have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

IN SOME CATS, after anesthesia, their bg's can drop,so when he comes home, you will need to test..
If you decide to not shoot the night before, or the day of that's ok then..Sometimes the anesthesia eats up the bg, Nom Nom effect, But that is not to say it will happen to Curry--Especially if he has no shots.
For Moonie I shot the night before 1/2 dose & not in the am--
Feed him little portions whne he gets home as he will be hungry--Or else he could scarf & barf! ohmygod_smile
This will make Curry have Beautiful Toofus!! Hugs!
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Going to buy some Beechnut baby food (HEB has this).....w/o the onions. Will also have some plain greek yogurt on hand...have fortiflora.....just in case Curry isn't too enthused w/eating afterwards. Will do small mini-meals.

cat-spit-dentist.gif
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

Hi Tena, thanks for visiting my condo earlier. Maggie will have her dental next day, so I'm soaking up all the info with your questions. :-D Maggie had a dental not that long ago. The one side of her mouth she is almost toothless. She also has one of those resorbtive lesions and periodontal disease. Vet will do X-rays. I probably will give Maggie her usual dose the night before and no am shot. Anyway, it's nice that we are in this together about the same time. I was thinking that the reason your Vet may think Curry's numbers are low is that they probably use the Alpha Trak meter, which is the animal meter and reads approx 30 points higher, and I'm taking it for granted you're using a human meter, right! That would be the reason she feels the bg readings are low. Anyway, I wish you and Curry lots of luck. that's great your Vet is on board with your ss and home testing.
 
Re: 5/18 Curry~96 Vet appt pre-dental

loved the cartoon! :-D

i gave punkin his regular dose the night before and 1/2 in the morning of the dental. but you can see that we've now covered just about every option, so apparently there's no "one" way to do it! :lol:
 
Wonderful feedback y'all. This is very helpful.

PMPS is not too bad considering I gave her some gravy early this morning before traveling to the Vet....She decided to do a little dropping...I usually don't give HC that early in a drop but I was gonna be on the road and wanted Curry to be safe until we got to the Vet. And she's been known to drop when stressed.

She is just laying down in her crate with the door OPEN. Maybe she's telling me that she wants to see Sidney now. Okie dokie Curry. Here we go.
 
Glad all went well with the pre-dental visit, and it's great you love your vet for dentals!

Trixie also had her full dose the night before, no shot in the morning of the dental, and full dose the evening of the dental. It was the day after the dental that her numbers dropped pretty hard...either a post-anesthesia effect, or the result of reduced pain (since pain can cause BGs to rise). Sienne advised me to keep a close eye on Trix's BGs the day after the dental, and she couldn't have been more right! We ended up shooting reduced dose the night after the dental.

~Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top