5/18 Bingo DOSING QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrandyMom2AFew

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=43556

So not the best numbers but close to what the vet wants 150-250, so I will take it.

We are busy all day today so no extra pokes forhim. He should be ok though right?

EDIT... Decided to to hold off on his 1u tonight.
 
Re: 5/18 Bingo AMP 277

Hi guys .. sunny yellow for bingo today! I guess I did not catch why the vet wants him to be up that high? I'm sure he'll be ok while you are out and he'll probably appreciate a day free of pokes .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/18 Bingo AMP 277

I'm guessing the vet wants Bingo up that high because s/he is not familiar or comfortable with the Tight Regulation Protocol. When we first started out, Trixie's vet told me "170s are very normal numbers". I was newbie so I didn't argue...but I did go on my merry way. My vet is great, but probably not used to people like us, who monitor closely. I think they have to keep the majority of owners in mind when they set these high ranges...those owners who shoot blindly.
 
Re: 5/18 Bingo AMP 277 +10.5 167 PMP 155

Um his PMP was 155... Do I give him the 1u do I hold off... ACK... This is what I get for being gone all day
 
i'll bump you up, but don't know enough to help you on the question.

I have seen the questions from the experts and can ask you, but only you can decide if a dosing advisor doesn't see your question. usually they ask:

have you shot that number before? do you have test strips and high carb food? are you able to test tonight?
 
i do know that you usually wouldn't want to shoot when their numbers aren't rising, especially when you don't have experience to know what bingo is doing on that dose. a lot of times for new people they suggest not shooting if the preshot number is less than 150, or if you don't feel comfortable managing it.
 
I can get up and test throughout the night. I have a 3 week old kitten and a 9 week old baby. Who really needs sleep anyways?

My gut instinct is to hold the shot but I feel so responsible in caring for him, you know? I just wanted other peoples opinions. After his crazy low the other day I now have some high carb wet food for him.
 
i don't know brandy, i really don't have that much experience - and you don't have much info on bingo's spreadsheet.

there's a sticky called "data ready to shoot low numbers" - this isn't a low number, but if you shoot lower than you have before, you pretty much have to stay on bingo and test all night.

have you rechecked his numbers? has he come up at all yet?

edited to add: here's the link - why don't you take a look at it and maybe that will help you decide if you are ready to shoot him or not. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
 
hi brandy, i can't offer advice and i need to head to bed, but i wanted to give you a bump as well.

My experience is limited, but inclined to go with with julie on this.

Regardless of your choice, right now I really encourage testing every 15 min like the dealing with low preshot post recommends. That way even if you don't shoot, you will still have the important pre shot rising/falling #s for the experts to take a look at : http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... =9&t=39309
 
I'll check him again... I gave him some more wet food which he ate some of but seemed to be more irritated that I moved him off my pillow than anything else.

OK at 10:30 he was at 140 still...

Going to hold off but check him throughout the night.

Thanks
 
hi there
sorry you had to skip,
typically, you'll want to stall, withhold food til you see a rising number that you are comfortable with.

as mentioned earlier, you don't have a lot of data to shoot low, but gradually this will get easier.
some vets are not use to seeing low preshots, but as a data happy - we-love-data- forum, we all learn lower numbers (under 150) are just fine.

you may want to print this sticky out for future reference:
Dealing With Low Preshots

For the AMPS on thursday, try to get an early check in like around +11 or +11.5, these numbers are often good indicators of what's to come for preshot time., plus will help give a heads up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top