5/18 AMPS 187 +2 84 +4 52 +4.5 52 +5.25 56 URGENT I NEED HELP

MrRumps

Member Since 2019
Rumpy was very hungry this morning, he took his insulin shot very well but I had to wrap him for the bst.
 
I hope Rumpy has slowed down his drop. I'd feed LC and test every hour until he comes back up. Remember to just feed a teaspoon at a time so he won't get full. I hope you've gotten another test in. I'm getting ready to go out for the afternoon. Update your subject line with your test and ask for help there so people will see.
 
Give him a couple of teaspoons of high carb food. If you have a gravy based food, you want to give more gravy than solids. Re-test in 15 - 20 min and repeat if numbers aren't coming up.
 
That dry will bump him as soon as it starts digesting but that takes a while which is why dry food isn't a good 'go to' for bringing up numbers. Since you're still at 52 even with the bits of low carb, do you have a bit of Karo or honey? Just a med. size drop and either put it in his mouth or on food but directly in mouth is better. Your goals IS NOT to send him to the moon, it's just to bump him up a bit so he'll sail nicely. I'm suggesting a bit of simple sugar as it acts fastest to bump numbers - it begins absorbing in the mouth rather than even having to wait for it to get to the stomach.

BREATHE!!! YOU GOT THIS!!! I know it's scary, I know you're shaking but it's OK!
 
Sorry I couldn't hang around. 56 is not too too bad but stay on top of it. You still want him to come up some more. I'm assuming you don't have HC food so you can give a little LC with some karo or honey. You are almost mid cycle now so he should start coming up. Keep testing every 15 to 20 minutes and keep posting. You know the drill...just try to calm the nerves and breathe. It's scary but you got it.:bighug:
 
Ok, so the honey is probably keeping him steady but it doesn't last very long. I'd hold off giving him anymore and test in 20. Let's see if he holds on his own. If not then you'll have to get more into him or try to get him to eat. Hopefully the storm will pass soon. Are you doing ok?
 
See about putting some music on. Maybe it will mask the sound of the storm. Also, you can bring food to him. Testing may be a challenge but food -- hopefully he'll eat.
 
Awesome! This is what we call a nice little surf :cool::D, my Mav hates storms too, can you sneak him a bit of LC food where he is hiding? He looks in nice safe territory, even though he dabbled close to under 50, this is a great cycle!
 
Ok, so the honey is probably keeping him steady but it doesn't last very long. I'd hold off giving him anymore and test in 20. Let's see if he holds on his own. If not then you'll have to get more into him or try to get him to eat. Hopefully the storm will pass soon. Are you doing ok?

this is actually shelly's boyfriend, Shelly is gone for the weekend and wont be back until early Monday morning. and ok, I'll test in 20. thanks
 
Sorry, I realized I might have been too brief in my reply, but I had to check on Mav. +4 was Mr. Rump's nadir this cycle, and with TR you would reduce if you had a test under 50 but he didn't, so you would hold the dose. I suspect he'll bounce higher after this, into pm cycle, either because of the quick drop from preshot to +2 or hitting lower numbers he's not used to. You might consider getting a +10 or +11, just to see how he is trending, that way if you happen to have a lower preshot than you are used to, you can at least see if he's flat or on the rise before shot. With recent DKA in the mix, you shouldn't skip, so post for help if you are uncomfortable with your preshot number. Hope the storm passes soon, how is Mr. Rump's appy otherwise?
 
Is Rumpy getting Methyl B-12 for his Neuropathy? Some folks get Zobaline, which was specifically made for cats. You can get it at this website Or you can use Methyl B-12 from any health food store or amazon. Get the capsules & you can open one & mix it in Meat baby food (just plain meat no other ingredients)
Like Earth's Best Turkey. Whole Foods store carries it. Just turkey & water.

Common cause of neuropathy in cats is Diabetes.. The result is a weakness in the hind legs which comes from damage to the nerves caused by constant high levels of sugar in the blood.
 
Sorry, I realized I might have been too brief in my reply, but I had to check on Mav. +4 was Mr. Rump's nadir this cycle, and with TR you would reduce if you had a test under 50 but he didn't, so you would hold the dose. I suspect he'll bounce higher after this, into pm cycle, either because of the quick drop from preshot to +2 or hitting lower numbers he's not used to. You might consider getting a +10 or +11, just to see how he is trending, that way if you happen to have a lower preshot than you are used to, you can at least see if he's flat or on the rise before shot. With recent DKA in the mix, you shouldn't skip, so post for help if you are uncomfortable with your preshot number. Hope the storm passes soon, how is Mr. Rump's appy otherwise?

Rumpy's behavior is a lot better, and the storm has passed so that helped. He's been hanging out with me in the living room on the ottoman. I'll get a test at 7:45pm, right before I shoot PMPS. Thanks for the help
 
Rumpy's behavior is a lot better, and the storm has passed so that helped. He's been hanging out with me in the living room on the ottoman. I'll get a test at 7:45pm, right before I shoot PMPS. Thanks for the help
Glad the storm has passed and the little guy is doing better. You did great.
 
I'm sorry I was out of pocket all day. Good job with just the right touch of honey without sending him soaring! Yep that string is finally gone after drowning us all - I'm about 90 miles directly above you in south central Oklahoma.
 
he's at 250, just did a +2 testing.
Glad you got a +2, he has not hit onset yet, and with him being still not that much higher since preshot, I'd get a +4 if you can. Or leave some food out so he has something to snack on if a +4 is past your bedtime and you need to get to sleep.
 
Back
Top