? 5/18 +4 245, +6 269, +10 214 Should I Still Change Starting Dose? with #'s trending Down

Don & Xena

Member Since 2023
Last nights thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...d-i-increase-probably-started-too-low.277657/


So at 1 unit I was seeing higher numbers than on the Vetsulin and was advised that i could/should raise to a higher "starting dose", but last night her numbers started coming down, and are now lower than they were on the Vetsulin.
It waas suggested that maybe I shoud start again this AM at 2.5, but as I said the #'s are quite lower than yesterdays seen here:

Xena's Spreadsheet

Should I maybe just go up to 1.5 or 2? OR.... Should I continue to see where 1 unit keeps heading?
NOTE: She has definitely been eating. Her last meal was 1/2 Can Friskies pate at +4

Thanks in Advance.

Sorry for all the links. I don't know who is available.
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Gus the Furminator
 
Last edited:
Hi @Don & Xena
Welcome to LLB! FYI, when you edit your post, the tags get "broken" and so the people you tagged won't get a notification :(. Also, most of the members you tagged are in a time zone hopefully sleeping soundly at moment. I believe @Bron and Sheba (GA) may be around now.
How long before giving insulin?
 
Ok thank you. I shoot at 10 AM EST which is about 20 minutes now.
Thanks for the heads up Angela. I was given Bron and Bandits Mom for very late/ early morning ppl, but what is considered early is up for interpretation. So if edit a post, then I make a reply and tag ppl again it should go through, right? I think I will have to just go up to 1.5 for this shot with these #'s, esspecially since I have been up for like 30 hrs and I will not be able to keep as close an eye on her. I'lll have to set alarms to test periodically.
I am going to tag everyone again in a reply, and hopefully by tonight I will have some feedback.
I really appreciate your help and Cleo is SOOOOO Adorable.
 
I see that your AMPS is 233 and you have 2 in the units column. Did you shoot?
Can you monitor?
Yes I shot 2 units. There were discussions of increasing to 2.5-3 units, but that was before her #'s went on a downward trend after her PM shot, so I improvised and went with 2 units.
Yes I can Monitor. i will be home, but I have to gtet some sleep. i will get up in 2hrs to get her BG. Also my wife will be home in a few hrs too. I usually work from home, but i informed my boss that I would be taking a "light day" today. I am never REALLY off.
It won't do Xena any god if i don't get some rest. I don't want to be cross eyed measuring her dose with the caliper. lol
 
Your amps was completely safe to shoot. Normal numbers on a human meter 50-100 although fir a beginning dose that would have been too low. I hope you shot at least. 2.0 but had I been online would have said to shoot 2.5. It’s scary to shoot lower than you are used to but 200+ is quite safe.

Do you have a hypo kit ready? I’m not by any means expecting you to need one but it’s good to be prepared. Make sure you have high and medium carb food and Karo or honey too as well as plenty of test strips. That’s all you need to be safe.

Good start. With lantus you will find the bg will come down until nadir and then rise usually the end of the cycle. It’s als good at giving flat cycles once a cat is regulated. Good luck.
 
Your amps was completely safe to shoot. Normal numbers on a human meter 50-100 although fir a beginning dose that would have been too low. I hope you shot at least. 2.0 but had I been online would have said to shoot 2.5. It’s scary to shoot lower than you are used to but 200+ is quite safe.

Do you have a hypo kit ready? I’m not by any means expecting you to need one but it’s good to be prepared. Make sure you have high and medium carb food and Karo or honey too as well as plenty of test strips. That’s all you need to be safe.

Good start. With lantus you will find the bg will come down until nadir and then rise usually the end of the cycle. It’s als good at giving flat cycles once a cat is regulated. Good luck.
I did shoot 2 units, and I do have a hypo kit with everything you mentioned and feeding syringe, bulb syringe. I have plenty of strips and a back up meter with strips just in case.
Thank you for the response. I am going to be taking her numbers and will post again later.
I don't want you to think i wasn't going to take your advice. I was planning to go up to 2.5, but when we discussed it she was mid 300's, and she went down to near 200, so that is why I posted to get some input, but had to make the call at 10 AM EST. I thought 2 was a good compromise until I heard back and/or saw some #'s.
Thank you again.
 
No worries. It WAS a good compromise plus Xena is your cat so you decide what is right for your cat. I’m glad you did not go down to 1.0 though. I think you will be really happy with lantus. Hope so.
 
Last edited:
It’s good to update your title with the latest results. Test again in 2 hours and feed a little lc.
 
It’s good to update your title with the latest results. Test again in 2 hours and feed a little lc.
I started a new thread since the last one was dated 5/18 (because it was after midnight) but was technically 5/17 p.m. numbers. Still getting used to the posting etiquette. I was going to add the numbers here but because of all that I thought it would be confusing. Don’t know if that was a bad thing or if it makes sense cording to help people usually do it.
New thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-18-am-ps-233-2-330-3-281.277682/
 
Hi Don, I live in Sydney, Australia, so am usually around during the afternoon / evening US time…depending if it is daylight saving or not. Sometimes I catch the early am people from the east coast of the US.
@Bandit's Mom is in India so come on about 4 hours after I normally do.
If you are unsure, just look up the time zones for our countries
 
Hi Don, I live in Sydney, Australia, so am usually around during the afternoon / evening US time…depending if it is daylight saving or not. Sometimes I catch the early am people from the east coast of the US.
@Bandit's Mom is in India so come on about 4 hours after I normally do.
If you are unsure, just look up the time zones for our countries

OK thank you Bron… I will definitely keep that in mind moving forward. I just had a list of a few people that I was given, and I wasn’t sure who would see it, or when and I wanted to get the post up just in case someone might see it before shot time. (no such luck), but you guys have been great. I got the information that I needed to help me make the decision. I really appreciate everyone on here.
 
Back
Top