5-18-17 - Jones AMPS 176 - Bit of a rough start to the day.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Previous

So after all the talk of being stable Jones threw me some curve balls this morning. A white foamy vomit :arghh:and some very gooey poo. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:. Forgot to say anti jinx yesterday.:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead: So I know he has an upset tummy with excess acid which is probably driving the higher AMPS number this morning.

The cause of these developments could of been a few things:
1) the vet visit yesterday, though his BG did come down nicely at PMPS;
2) The Wild Calling Alligator I tried - after 2 meals of it he didn't want anything to do with it last night at PMPS (I ended up dumping it and putting out some FF and Wellness Core with a 1/4 capsule of probiotic which he ate).
3) He ate all his nightly snack, I put out 1/2 can of FF and the bowl was licked clean. I usually put out a bit more and treats in his bowl but I didn't think he would eat that much - WRONG! which may have lead to the acidic stomach. He didn't come wake me at 4am though and slept with me most of the night.
4) Combination of all of the above.
He was willing to still eat some this morning, so I gave the Pepcid and his usual medications include the metronidazole (was going to drop it this morning but will wait a few more days) and the additional pred. I also put some freeze dried treats out in case he would like them.

Asked DH and DS to test today as I want to know what is happening with BG's. Fingers crossed this happens. I would like to stay ahead of any higher numbers. Will do dose adjustments this weekend as I will be home to monitor and test and it is a long weekend so I have 3 days to assess.

So here is to good poop vines and a settled stomach. Once the poop is good I will drop the metronidazole, most likely this weekend as I can monitor the LB - like a cop! Hey, what kind of poop are you laying there mister!
 
Sending vines for a settled stomach and solid poops! Sounds like yesterday was a rough day and hope he'll be feeling better today.

You will probably see an increase in BG with the increase in pred but his dose is so tiny that if you have to go up to balance things it 's not a big deal.
 
I can monitor the LB - like a cop! Hey, what kind of poop are you laying there mister!
@Anne & Zener GA used to call themselves Detective Poo and Inspector Crapdash, or something like that, because they felt like they were always checking out Zener's output. It's all part of the FD dance. ;):joyful:

I wouldn't be surprised if it was any one of those things, or some combination. My money is on the alligator. Where the heck do you buy that, anyway??
 
My money is on the alligator
Wild Calling Alligator - I could find that and not the Buffalo or Rabbit at fancy pet food place here in town. 6 isles of dog food and 1 for cat- sheesh. I calculated at about 8% carb - so a little higher than is usual FF. The texture was different so I am surprised he ate it to start with. Yeah, I am lending myself to that idea too as the culprit and I bet the vet & car ride didn't help matters. I have an extra can now as I will not feed it again.

He ate his FF last night, so I don't think I have a major inflammation on my hands (anti jinx, anti-jinx).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top