5/17 Tuxie AMPS 392 +3-407 +5-283;+7-164 PMPS-401.increased .25Units good idea or bad??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tuxedo Mom

Member Since 2014
ALPHA TRAK 2 PET MONITOR

Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...4-259-9-451-huge-bounces.137916/#post-1422552

Cool and very wet here today, with a chance of snow later tonight..yuk!!! And just to make it worse I have come down with a good chest cold...so much for our nice spring weather :(

This morning's AMPS is a better number than the last few days, so it looks like he may be clearing the bounce. Last night's numbers were not remarkable but at least he didn't shoot up high for the morning. I will have to see where Tuxie decides to go today.
 
Snow?!?! Where abouts do you live? I have family in Colorado Springs and they got a bit (ok more than a bit) of snow on Mother's Day.....

Sending many bounce clearning vines Tuxie's way!
 
Snow?!?! Where abouts do you live? I have family in Colorado Springs and they got a bit (ok more than a bit) of snow on Mother's Day.....

Sending many bounce clearning vines Tuxie's way!

I am in Winnipeg, Canada just north of Grand Forks, ND. I believe this snow warning is from a Colorado low moving into Manitoba. We have had oodles of rain the last day and now the temperatures are falling to freezing during the day and then snow...up to 4 inches and blowing..up to 50mph winds...and I was hoping to get my veggie garden planted soon...oh well..it will pass soon (I hope). I really feel bad for my son. He is out at the lake with friends...camping in a tent. YIKES!! There is a cabin there but with the number of people they would have to sleep on the floor. I guess better than freezing your butt off in a tent though! :) I hope the roads aren't too bad for him coming back tomorrow. I sent him a message about the weather warning, but you know how it is when you are young.

Tuxie seems to be coming down a bit so fingers crossed that he is breaking through the bounce. I am feeding my son's kitties twice a day so this morning I headed over there just after 4 AM when I was finished Tuxie's test,feed and shot. It was great..no traffic at that time of day. I was worried about being away during his "active" times, in case he cleared the bounce. So I will do the same tonight in case Tuxie decides to do some blues or greens. Also it is best I feed his kitties early in case the city ends up with bad road conditions.
 
Well turns out my son is coming back tonight due to the rotten weather forecast and weather warnings so I do not have to go feed his kitties tomorrow. Plus the BBQ I was going to attend was cancelled for the same reasons (SNOW in May...YUKKY) so I will be home to monitor Tuxie. So I have increased his dose by .25 units since I took two reductions almost back to back. His numbers today are better but only a couple of blues late in the morning cycle then back up. He really went up in the last 2 hours before preshot!!

Was this a good idea??
 
As long as you can monitor, and his PMPS is an indication of what's to come at the "old" dose, the increase should be fine. Remember, though, that a bounce can last up to six cycles and you might want to hold a dose that long just to see what the bounce might do ... I'm no expert, though. No real advice from me.

Just vines ...

Marilyn and Polly
 
As long as you can monitor, and his PMPS is an indication of what's to come at the "old" dose, the increase should be fine. Remember, though, that a bounce can last up to six cycles and you might want to hold a dose that long just to see what the bounce might do ... I'm no expert, though. No real advice from me.

Just vines ...

Marilyn and Polly


Thanks for the support. Since I had been advised that 2 reductions in 3 days might not be a good idea I increased by .25 unit tonight since I will now be able to be home and monitor, due to changing circumstances. Usually I hold 5 days since Tuxie seems to take his time responding to increases and decreases.


EDITED I actually gave .25 unit increase not .5 as a posted ...Sorry!!
 
Last edited:
The ss says that you gave him 5.25u tonight. If you decided to give 5.5u you might want to update that.

I think it was a good choice to increase. His midcycle tests today show him getting to 160's AT - and if the reduction had held he'd have been in green.

Enjoy the last bit of winter before it turns hot!
 
Your confusion is because Mary Ann is using an Alpha Trak glucometer. They run about 30-40% higher than human glucometers, so reductions are done at higher numbers.
 
Thanks. I noticed that after the fact & deleted the post for that reason.

Tuxedo cats RULE.
 
Good luck with the increase.

Thank you for your comments yesterday. I'm so sorry about your husband. We weren't dealing with anything that serious....mike just had a sinus infection and bronchitis but since he is so involved in Gracie's care, it just made it harder to keep her dose up.

Stay warm!
 
Good luck with the increase.

Thank you for your comments yesterday. I'm so sorry about your husband. We weren't dealing with anything that serious....mike just had a sinus infection and bronchitis but since he is so involved in Gracie's care, it just made it harder to keep her dose up.

Stay warm!

Thank you...it has been over 12 years since DH passed over. It is funny...he was the only male that Tuxie liked. Since he passed Tuxie has NO interest in male people and prefers if they just stay out of HIS house....lol

I think when a person is dealing with a sugar kitty, especially when the treatment program is not going well, any extra life strain becomes very much magnified.

So far we only have a covering of snow...freezing temperatues of course and strong winds. There should be more snow today (Monday) so I guess we will see what it brings. But then the weather will pick up again, so maybe I can get my veggie garden planted this week :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top