? 5/17 TILICA AMPS 379, +3 402,PMPS 383,+2 187 big drop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andreea&Tilica

Member Since 2017
Hi all,

After 7 days with the dose of 1.5, he continues to bounce even if in the evening the nadir is below 150.
The SLGS protocol says that I have to mantain this dose but I am inclined to increase because from 2-nd of May I didn't see any green. How many time should I keep this dose?

"Hold the dose for at least a week:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:

Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose"

Last post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...21-10-294-pmps-270-2-250.177946/#post-1963298
 
Hi,
I am not able to advice on dosage but I think you shouldlet this current cycle to unfold further. Reason: the +2 results suggests active cycle, there will be more lowering, let's see what it is and how low it is.
 
Hi,
I am not able to advice on dosage but I think you shouldlet this current cycle to unfold further. Reason: the +2 results suggests active cycle, there will be more lowering, let's see what it is and how low it is.
Hi Tanya, periodicaly he drops at +2 too early and too fast. I test him every half an hour.
 
I just saw your +3 119 - very nice so far, not dropy from the 141 earlier.
How do you feed and what Tilica eats?
He drops from 383 at PMPS. He is a very grumpy cat, before diabetes he ate only dry foos. Very hard I made him eat wet food but he likes wet food with 16% carbs, he didn't accept another wet food. I'm still working on him, I mix the wet food with 16% carbs with food 3% carbs but he didn't eat it every time.
 
He is a very grumpy cat,
My kitty behaves very grumpy when she experiences drops by large numbers - like you guys had this AM. Giving small portions upfront - prior to the time know for drops smooths it, often, ECID of course.
The most unpleasant part of having drops is that in my cat big drops cause bounce.:mad:
 
My kitty behaves very grumpy when she experiences drops by large numbers - like you guys had this AM. Giving small portions upfront - prior to the time know for drops smooths it, often, ECID of course.
The most unpleasant part of having drops is that in my cat big drops cause bounce.:mad:
Tilica is a bouncy cat too. I gave him small meals at PMPS in case of further drop he may eat. Now, I'm feeding him with small portions too
 
I would do just the same - mixing and letting him get used to it. Have you read Dr. Lisa Pierson blog? There is great section on transitioning cats from dry to wet, and the word Dr. Pierson stresses the most is PATIENCE :D.
Did Tilica eat anything after the +3 test?
Tanya, I read it but doesn't work with him:banghead:Anyway he eats wet food but wet food with 16% carbs. He eats dry food when I am out for work because he doesn'eat wet food by himself. At +3.5 it's 108, the rythme slowed down. He ate at +3 40 g wet food 16% carbs.
 
At +3.5 it's 108, the rythme slowed down. He ate at +3 40 g wet food 16% carbs.
Nice surf - i hope he continues in that fashion today.
Have you tried crushing just a few kibbles of his favorite dry and sprinkle it over/on top of the wet food?
At +3.5 it's 108, the rythme slowed down
He ate at +3 40 g wet food 16% carbs.
The slowing down is food from the +3 speaking. You may need to test again. I hope it isn't too late where you at:)
 
Nice surf - i hope he continues in that fashion today.
Have you tried crushing just a few kibbles of his favorite dry and sprinkle it over/on top of the wet food?


The slowing down is food from the +3 speaking. You may need to test again. I hope it isn't too late where you at:)
He is at 108@+4 the numbers are constant. In my region it's late 10 PM but doesn't matter. He is very sensitive but I'll try again. Because he is dehydrated I use to drop some water in his wet food but he senses and stops eating.
 
he senses and stops eating.
Hmm... Here in the States we have human canned tuna - no salt, just the fish in WATER, not in oil. We call it Tuna Juice. Many kitties go for it and their beans use the opportunity to provide more hydration.
How long has he being dehydrated?
 
Hmm... Here in the States we have human canned tuna - no salt, just the fish in WATER, not in oil. We call it Tuna Juice. Many kitties go for it and their beans use the opportunity to provide more hydration.
How long has he being dehydrated?
We have too, tuna in water but he had blader sotnes in the past, the vet told me that I should be cautious with tuna. The blood tests showed that he is dehydrated about 2-3 months but the creatinine is good,urea is a little bit higher. Because of diabetes he eliminates a lot of water.
 
The blood tests showed that he is dehydrated about 2-3 months but the creatinine is good,urea is a little bit higher.
dehydration may lead to a lot of problems. You have somewhat complex case here - might be good to post on hydration/ bladder stones on the Main Health forum separately. Mention the Lab results in your post - there are many who deal with it.

Nice blue surf!:D

If you need experienced opinion on the dosage for tomorrow - change your post's Title to include wording "dose advice needed". I am not able to help with dose and don't know the SLGL.
 
dehydration may lead to a lot of problems. You have somewhat complex case here - might be good to post on hydration/ bladder stones on the Main Health forum separately. Mention the Lab results in your post - there are many who deal with it.

Nice blue surf!:D

If you need experienced opinion on the dosage for tomorrow - change your post's Title to include wording "dose advice needed". I am not able to help with dose and don't know the SLGL.
Thanks. for your support Tanya.
I think I'll keep the dose for a couple of days. According to SLGS rules I have to decrease if nadir bellows to 90. Tomorrow, I'll post on the Main Forum about hydration, a suitable wet diet to prevent the blader stones. It's very difficult to make a diet to cover diabetes and which prevent the baldder stones from forming.
:bighug:
 
Best of luck Andreea!
Keep posting your questions - there are many very knowledgeable people who frequent the Main Health Forum - they will help.
Hydration is of most importance for kitties health.
:bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top