5/17 Sabrina AMPS 339,PMPS 290 +3.75 234

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
Sabrina's 5/16 Condo
Evening Everyone!!!! Numbers are kind of scary!!! Take a peak at Sabrina's ss & give me some thoughts......bounce or glucose toxicity :?: :?: Here's the quick recap........Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon

Recap:
5/16 AM +4.5 389
+6.75 352
+10.25 319
PMPS 432 1.00U dosed @ +11.25 apprx 8oz lc mix grill throughout the day 1. 5oz overnight
+2.75 376

5/17 AMPS 426 1.00U 1 oz turkey
+2.25 339 1.5oz turkey while out at dr apt
+7.75 338 1.5oz turkey
PMPS 290 1.00 1.5oz turkey
+3.75 234 1oz turkey
 
Re: 5/17 Sabrina AMPS 426, PMPS 290 "WOW WHAT'S HAPPENING?"

Hi Cindy - I hear your frustration. We went up and down the dosing scale and sometimes it seems like a cat gets stuck. And it's especially frustrating when you are thinking about an increase and you get a 49 out of nowhere. I will defer to the experts, but according to the protocol, it's time for an increase. Even with the dips below 200, her peak value has been over 200 for more than a week. Try not to get frustrated because you haven't been up to 1.25 since a month ago. It's a dance, and Sabrina is leading.

If nadir blood glucose concentration 200-300mg/dL (11-17 mmol/L) Increase every 3 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin
 
Re: 5/17 Sabrina AMPS 426, PMPS 290 "WOW WHAT'S HAPPENING?"

I'm not entirely sure I understand your question. Bounces and glucose toxicity can be related. If a kitty is sitting at a dose that isn't bringing numbers into a good range, the risk is that glucose toxicity develops. When this occurs, the cat's body begins to treat these non-normal numbers as the "new" normal. In addition, it can be harder to get numbers to come down. As you increase the dose and you do see numbers that are in a better range, not only can a bounce occur for all of the usual reasons, but since the cat's body is used to the high numbers and that's what the kitty's liver and pancreas are treating as normal, a bounce is more likely. Does this explanation make sense and answer your question?
 
Hi Cindy--

I'll tell Gobbles to tell Sabrina that she needs to read her condo--then maybe the little stinker will decide to put the darn green or blue dress on! Her SS sure is a colorful one lately; typical woman--can't make her mind up on what to wear!

Gobbles will not be allowed to "sneak" out this evening to meet Sabrina. I took him outside and he crawled under a piece of old farm machinery and I had to drag him out (thank goodness for him--he had his harness on :lol: ). Tell Sabrina he'll be allowed to play sometime tomorrow (unless between now and tomorrow morning he gets grounded again)...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top