5/17 Rocky PMPS 303 +1 330 +2 303 +3 270 +5 322 +11 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118846

Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 331 356 309
PMPS 265 +2 322 +4 84 +4.5 66 +4.75 64 +5 53 +5.5 62 +6 73

It was a bit of a wild ride until 3am last night. Sleep was once again highly underrated. That 53 at PMPS +5 made me so nervous. I did not want Rocky to require an insulin reduction already when I haven't had the time to try to help him really surf, if that is really doable. I felt like I was filling him full of HC carbs again just so I could try to get some sleep. *Maybe* he could have surfed a few more 60s if I had not been so heavy-handed with the carbs. Who knows.

This morning I fed Rocky 1/4 can of the Core Chicken/Turkey/Chicken Liver for his mini-meal AMPS pre-shot. It's suppose to be 8%.. I think he is probably still on his way up from his surfing last night and I wasn't sure to give him a 4% carb or an 8% carb. He didn't like this Core flavor.. He sniffed at it and then looked up at me like, "Are you CRAZY, mom?" Then he walked over to me with his tail in the air and meowed. His signal for, "I ain't gonna eat that crap." I quickly snatched up the plate of food, ran back to the kitchen and sprinkled about 1/4 pouch of the Forta Flora on it. He ate all of it this time. I'm not sure if it was because i sprinkled it with Forta Flora or if it was because he was afraid I might take his food away again. :lol:

I probably should have gone with the 4%.... might do that for the next 2 mini-meals. It's just really hard to know because of something like night when he has a BG of 322 and then two hours later his BG is at 84! :o :shock: @-) ohmygod_smile

With an AMPS number of 201 this morning it looks like Rocky surfed about 8 hours of blue and green numbers overnight. Might be headed for a big bounce today.

I'm headed back to bed again.
 
Re: 5/17 Rocky 201 +1 327

Just completely flippin' erratic numbers... I'm sooo tired.. back to bed for a solid hour of sleep this time. G'night. I-)
 
Re: 5/17 Rocky 201 +1 327

Just looks like he's bouncing from last night's fantastic numbers, tina. he's gone straight up since then. He'll come back down again - this is his typical response.

Both Wendy & I answered your comment about Cobb in Suzanne's condo, but i thought i'd post them here just to make sure you saw them.

Wendy&Neko said:
@Tina - Both IAA and acromegaly add a degree of randomness to blood sugar readings. The acro tumor can grow and wane on it's own with no outside influence. The IAA antibodies can capture and release injected insulin on their own schedule too. You kind of have to go with the flow and increase/decrease to follow the numbers. Cobb's numbers do not say "too much insulin" to me. Suzanne is doing a great job with Cobb, but you often feel like you are chasing after a speeding train on a curvy track. :roll:


julie & punkin (ga) said:
oh definitely - i didn't pick up on that, wendy, but I agree with you completely. There's nothing in Cobb's situation that says it's too much insulin. That typically manifests when cats get started on a too-high dose, or get increased by too large of increments when they are starting out. Suzanne followed the protocol so we know there is no chance of that situation here. Cobb also has a diagnosis of iaa, and a possibility of acromegaly, both of which require larger than typical doses of insulin and cause changing insulin needs.

High dose cats are more difficult than the average cat to manage and Suzanne is doing a fantastic job.
 
Re: 5/17 Rocky 201 +1 327 +4 331

Sorry Suzanne, Wendy, and Julie.. I never meant to suggest or give Suzanne any insulin dosing advise. I couldn't give anyone here dosing advise. I was speaking off the top of my head. I think that I read that on Tilly's page, again, about too much insulin can sometimes cause a cat's BG to go higher. I don't think she mentioned that it was usually when the cat first starts insulin injections, but she may have said that.
 
Re: 5/17 Rocky 201 +1 327 +4 331

Hi Libby, it was really great of Rocky to be able to get back into a few hours of blue and green, again! It would be so nice if he could do that during the day and do his bouncing at night. :-D

I am also not a big :lol: fan of BG numbers in the red and black.
 
Re: 5/17 Rocky 201 +1 327 +4 331 +4.75 432

no worries, tina. i wasn't criticizing - just wanted you to know that in Cobb's case, there really isn't any concern that he's overdosed.
 
Re: 5/17 Rocky 201 +1 327 +4 331 +4.75 432

What a fantastic night last night for Rocky!! Not so much for you Tina. :roll: I hope he gets over the bounce quickly, say by tomorrow AM. :lol:

You are right Tina that too much insulin can cause the BG's to go higher, but if someone follows the protocol and tests regularly it's not as much a concern. I know it's something I've worried about as the acro tumor can dial down on it's own leaving you with too much insulin. But I'm a full fledged member of the chronic worrier club. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top