I am setting up the spreadsheet as we speak. Norris was discharged from a Vet ER last Tuesday after 5 days ICU with DKA.
He was discharged with a esophageal feeding tube and has not been able to eat or drink on his own. He is on 1u of Lantis every 12 hours.
He has a follow up with a specialist on Tuesday, I was told that checking his BG was not necessary until then and he will get a continuous BG monitor placed then. He hasn't been improving so I picked up a human BG meter yesterday and had a hard time getting enough blood from his ear.
Yesterday his BG was 547 three hours after his first insulin.
Today about the same time it was too high to read (>600). Then 580 an hour later.
We finally got the vet to call us back and they said to take him somewhere to be seen. I literally have no money or credit left, they have drained me of $18,500, I don't know what to do.
Welcome to FDMB. I moved your post here as all new members are required to start in Main Health. I also took off the emergency prefix as we save that for hypos and immediate life-threatening emergencies.
I’m very sorry to hear your kitty has been ill with DKA. First, you need to be testing him. I’m glad you got the supplies to do so.
Here is a post on testing that might help you a little bit as there is a learning curve and there is a specific place you want to poke the ear. Please read the first post within that as I have put photos, etc that will help. The first YouTube video is the one we used to learn how to hometest.
Please do not wait to test him until you see the specialist. We rely heavily on data and if we can’t see what he’s doing, it makes it difficult for us to help just based on a few numbers. While some of our members use the CGM, it has issues reading too high at high numbers and too low at low ones so the best and most accurate way to test if he will let you is by handheld meter and you poking his ear. Please do not allow a vet to talk you into buying a pet meter; it is not necessary and the human meter you purchased is perfectly fine.
If you need help doing the spreadsheet, please send me a private message (click on my user name to the left and “send direct message” and I can do it for you quickly.
A few questions:
--what kind of food do you have him on with the feeding tube?
--usually DKA is due to an infection + not enough calories/fluid + not enough insulin; did they find the source of any infection?
--was the DKA resolved and his ketones down when they released him?
--did they release him with you being able to give him subq fluids at home for a short time?
--are you testing ketones (you can buy a ketone meter on Amazon but, for right now, even buying urine ketostix and checking his urine will help. We need to know if the ketones are coming down
--how is his demeanor? Is he just lethargic or is he moving around some?
When we help members with DKA, we advise the caregiver (CG) to be sure you are feeding him 1.5x his normal calories and lots of extra liquid. Of course, you have to be careful with a feeding tube and that’s why
giving subq fluids at home can help. You will need a prescription to get subq fluids but you can order them from Chewy’s once you have a prescription.
We do have dosing methods to increase the insulin a bit faster, safely, so you can start seeing some improvement there which will help with the DKA. I can’t believe they put him on 1u and said just to leave him on it until you could see the specialist.
Insofar as taking him somewhere now, only you can decide that. We do have alot of experience with treating DKA cats once they are released from the clinic but only you know how bad it is. It is typically better for them to be there until the ketones are way down and then we can help keep them from another episode.
This
post will help you get started here. We do need info requested in the signature block but I can also help you with that if you have your hands full. Just let me know.