5/17 Moe: AMPS=396;+3=332;+5=311;+7=340+9=366;;+11=351;PMPS=333;inc to 7.0u;+3=286

He looks like one of those kitties who maybe just needs more insulin. Have you had him tested for ACRO or other issues? @Wendy&Neko may be able to give you more information about those. @Olive & Paula also deals with this issue. Many others here as well...perhaps post for direction about how to obtain those tests?
 
Well, maybe this dose is starting to finally kick in? 311 at +5. I'm experimenting with food as well...he seems to do a little better with Fancy Feast vs Friskies. I’m going to try feeding FF exclusively for a few days and see how that goes.
 
Moe continues to be a stubborn one. I have a suggestion for something different for you to try. If he continues to remain above 300 today, increase to 7.0 units tonight. The German Diabetes-Katzen forum where TR started has a section in the protocol that allows you to do faster increases, in certain circumstances. Here is the particular section I'm referring to:
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU.
When we suggest that here, we refer to it as fast tracking. Increasing every 4-5 cycles if always over 300 is a way to get a cat into better numbers faster, when they are seemingly high and flat like Moe is continuing to be. Note for any lurkers, this suggestion is for Moe only, based on how much Erin tests and Moe's particular situation.
 
When we suggest that here, we refer to it as fast tracking. Increasing every 4-5 cycles if always over 300 is a way to get a cat into better numbers faster, when they are seemingly high and flat like Moe is continuing to be.

I thought we’d get a yellow today, but alas...PMPS = 333. I increased Moe’s dose to 7.0 tonight. (My vet won’t be happy to know that). Continuing the Fancy Feast only, though he’s not eating it as happily now as he does the Friskies. Fingers crossed once again.
 
When you get the blood tests results back, it will be clearer what you need to do with dose. Something is causing insulin resistance, just have to find out what it is. Results usually come in on Fridays.
 
When you get the blood tests results back, it will be clearer what you need to do with dose. Something is causing insulin resistance, just have to find out what it is. Results usually come in on Fridays.
Sample was taken Wednesday. Assuming that it got sent this week, the earliest I’ll hear back is next Friday, May 22. I don’t know if it actually went out. Vet hasn’t charged me for it yet, which means they haven’t got the shipping cost yet....

What I find to be strange is that the first time around ( last September) Moe responded immediately and was on half a unit for a month before the vet declared remission. Now he stays in the 300s no matter how much insulin he gets.
 
What I find to be strange is that the first time around ( last September) Moe responded immediately and was on half a unit for a month before the vet declared remission. Now he stays in the 300s no matter how much insulin he gets.
The results of the blood tests will help provide answers.
 
Back
Top