5/17 Max AMPS 139

Status
Not open for further replies.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14500


Well , you can call me Max...Surfer Max ;-)

Waited the whole weekend for something dramatic to happen whilst I was actually home to control it, and of course...he just surfed green and blues the whole weekend.....then this morning, when I'm NOT home...he goes and gives me the lowest pre shot ever. It's a conspiracy I tell you!! What I did learn from the weekend:

Max will get up and eat when he is going low...this is a huge relief for me to know. I decided I was not going to disturb him at all on Sat, just do a +6 spot check. He was sleeping like a baby the whole morning, but 10 minutes before I was about to give him his +6, he woke up and went to eat by himself. His +6 was 54. Good Boy. I wanted to see if he would go below 50, but he just surfed the numbers. So I have held the 1.25s. On Wed I'm away for two cycles, dad wants to test but is pretty much terrified and I don't know if he is going to actually go through with it. If Max hasn't come down by then to earn a decrease, I'm dropping him to 1.00 while I'm gone and will see how he holds that dose. He would have been surfing greens for about a week by then. Hopefully he will hold that dose well.

Mom is also not so terrified anymore of seeing the green and blue numbers, and yes I see your point of now wanting to see more of them :-D

Have a great week everyone..
 
Awesome job for both of you! Now you know that Max will feed his own lows so whenever you have to go to tbp and worry about him you can just leave out lots of food. You also know that his regular lc food will bring him up nicely from the 50's without a bounce so you won't need to pull out the big guns (hc and karo) unless he goes lowlow :mrgreen: I'd call that a great weekend =)

Have dad do a few tests between now and Wed. Have him do it while you're there so you can talk him through the first time or two. You've done this enough now that you probably know a few things that will make it easier for him. Like where Max prefers to be for the test or whether he needs to be held or if it just upsets him to be restrained. He'll probably need to be reminded that this doesn't hurt the cat as much as he's afraid it will. Hubby and our pet sitter were both hesitant the first few pokes, didn't poke hard enough. I had to tell them both "If he doesn't twitch or react in some way... you didn't do it hard enough. Don't be afraid to hurt him, he'll be fine I promise. Try again." You might have to give daddy a treat after the first poke or two, train him to it like you did Max ;-)

I'll be away the rest of the week so I'll wish you a wonderfully green week now and check in again Saturday or so =)
 
Yay for a GREAT weekend for Super Surfer Max! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: And of course, for you too Sandra! :-D :-D :-D

It's funny how the cycle goes when you become a bean to a diabetic cat for the first time. You panic about all the stuff you have to know and learn, about how the cat will react to the tests, and then you have that adrenaline surge when the numbers start going low. But then...the testing gets easier, you see how the cat reacts with the lowers numbers and know that he's okay with them, and somehow despite all the other insanity in your daily schedule, you figure out how to work events around shot times. You even start planning for the future again, because now you can predict how the numbers will be and you have a good indication that your kitty is on the downward dosing slide.

You guys are on the same event track that we were on with our Max. At first it was just me doing all the work. Then DH was out of town for a week, at which time my Max decided it was time to start the dosing slide, so more panic for the bean. But then DH learned to test, realized that it wasn't as hard as he thought it would be, that even if he has to poke 5 times to get some blood Max won't bite him or hardly even complain...and that was when life got a lot easier because it wasn't just me doing the work anymore. Sounds like you're heading down that path, so congrats to you!

I would have to disagree with Marvie, but you'll know which route to take with your DH on him learning to test. My DH needed to be left alone--it was more stressful for him if I stood there and watched and tried to offer help. He just needed to take the plunge and figure it out for himself (he's been this way with the kids too!).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top