5/17 Lucy PMPS=209;+3=175 // Tons to Report!

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

Yesteday
AMPS=187 (0.75u); +2=193; +7.5=211
PMPS=173 (0.75u); +2=218; +5.5=236

Today
AMPS=205 (f0.75u); +2.5=191; +7.25=173
PMPS=209 (f0.75u); +3=175;

I have a lot of things I want to say in today's condo.
Last night, Lucy didn't want the 3rd dinner.
This morning, she was feeling good and gave me some licks on my face, and ate the 1st breakfast fine.
Her appetite was a little iffy for the 2nd breakfast, so I may give her the combo of Cerenia, famotidine and cypro again later.
She then had a giant soft but shaped poo. She hadn't pooped since Wednesday afternoon, so that must have felt good
I think poo was firmer than the poos earlier in the week, so hopefully the A/Bs are working.

If the A/Bs don't improve her values, I think the next thing to look at is if there is a mass growth.
I read in Tanya's CKD that cancer feeds on B12, so not suitable for cancer patients.
I really don't think Lucy has a cancer.
I think it's more of a chain reaction from the dental stress; Stress ---> Low immune ---> Inflammation everywhere.
But I'm thinking maybe I should hold adding the Methyl B12 until the next blood work on 5/28, just in case.
If things aren't better then, we will do an ultrasound, and we'll know.
In the meantime, I'm going to collect all the supplies I need such as gelcaps.

I asked the vet about adding some liver support, and he recommended Hepato Support, so I started her on this yesterday.
She's had this in liquid form a long time ago when her liver values were high (not as shockingly high as this time), and it worked well.
But the liquid one has taste Lucy doesn't like, so I'm trying this in capsules this time.

I sent an e-mail to Lucy's acupuncture vet to let her know what's been going on.
I knew she didn't like drugs, but she really didn't like that I was putting her on two A/Bs.
She said she's not comfortable working with a patient who is so heavily medicated.
And she's frustrated that that may be interfering with her treatments.
She feels we've given it a good shot, and now she wants to take a break for a while and re-consider in a month or so when the meds are out of her system.
Well, I was a bit upset when I saw this e-mail last night.
Now is the time Lucy needs all the help she can get, and this vet is giving up on her.
I guess every vet has her/his own philosophy and I respect that, so I guess we won't be seeing her anymore, because Lucy needs drugs.
I think I am already conservative even stingy about giving her meds because I worry about over-medicating her.
Anyway, Lucy's original acupuncture vet from our regular vet hospital will be out of her maternity leave soon, so it's not too bad.
I feel just a bit hurt.

OK, I saved the best news to the last.
Wendy (& Neko) will be visiting us tomorrow!!
I am so excited!
I really really hope there'll be no kitty drama till tomorrow.
I'm a bit concerned about Ginger.
She hasn't had a decent poo for a while, and she's constipated.
I didn't worry too much because her appetite and energy have been super, but her appy is slightly lower than usual this morning.
I added laxative powder this morning, and I'll be doing that and pumpkin again this evening.

Sorry for the long post.
I wanted to tell you everything. :-D
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205

I hope the meds work and Lucy starts getting better and you won't need the ultrasound. Sorry about the acupuncture vet, but it's probably best not to go to someone who isn't committed to helping Lucy. Sending poo vines for Ginger. How great that Wendy will be visiting.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205

Oh! I forgot to mention something!
I fattened Lucy's insulin dose this morning because all these a/bs are spiking her numbers.
I didn't take the full 0.25u increase because of her unstable appy.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191

She seems to be feeling good, but she didn't want the 3rd breakfast.
So I just gave her the combo of cerenia/pepcid/cypro, just to give her some support while the a/bs are trying do their job.
It might have been too close to the last meal for pepcid - she ate 1.5hr ago, but I wanted to give them all together while she was still interested in yummy treats.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Mariko, are you giving her a probiotic while on the antibiotic? That can really help the gut if you aren't. I hope the meds do their job quickly and it sounds like they are already starting to work.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

that's too bad about the acupuncture vet. punkin had acupuncture and i did think it helped at first. Do you have another person to try?

I think you've got a good plan regarding the vit B and seeing about a mass. I'm not an expert on this, however - it just sounds reasonable to me.

Have a wonderful visit with Wendy!!! How fun!
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Wow, that was a lot of info, but good to know.

I did not know that B-12 should not be given to cancer patients. :shock: Cinco has been on Zobaline for almost two years, due to the neuropathy in his back legs, which it has helped tremendously. I hate to take him off it for that reason, but now I'm scared. I think I'd better go look at Tanya's site and discuss it with his oncologist next week.

That's too bad about the acupuncturist, but it sounds pretty closed-minded to me, so I'm glad you have an alternative that you're comfortable with.

Sending good poo and good appy vines for Lucy. Have a wonderful Caturday, Mariko.

ETA: I just checked Tanya's site, and it says that cats with Lymphoma may have a B12 deficiency and are sometimes given supplements of it, so I will ask Cinco's oncologist! Thanks for the heads' up, Mariko!
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

I didn't know that about the B12, and J.D. is starting it next week :-| Maybe, I should talk to J.D.'s vet first.

I'm glad Lucy finally pooed and am sending poo vines to Ginger.

I understand your hurt feelings about the actupuncturer sp? vet. I hope the one coming off of maternity leave is just as good.

I give J.D. probiotics when he's on ABs.

Good luck with the dosecrease, and sending more appy vines Lucy's way.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Folate and cobalamin levels can be checked via a blood test to see if B12 is needed. The oncologist had me give it to Tiffany who had CRF/lymphoma/anemia/pancreatitis. It is true that B can feed cancer. It is not an issue if there isn't cancer and can help with low HCT.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Lucy already gets B12 shot.
We are going up and down with the dose because her cobalamin results have gone too low too high too low too high too low.
She now gets it every other week and we are going to check next month to see if this dose is keeping her at the right range.
And Heopato Support I started giving to Lucy also has some Vitamin B.
But I am not going to put her off of these because of the potential worst case scenario.
I'm just being cautious about adding more, just because it's a possibility at the moment.

Here is the part that Tanya's site talks about it.
It may be wiser not to give Vitamin B12 to a cat with cancer because cancer cells rely on Vitamin B12 for growth. If you are dealing with lymphoma, however, the University of Penn School of Veterinary Medicine is researching whether cats with lymphoma have a Vitamin B12 deficiency (which is quite possible, because lymphoma may reduce Vitamin B12 absorption in the intestines), and if they do, they plan to offer supplemental treatment to address the deficiency.

I'm not overly worried about it as I don't think Lucy has cancer, but just trying to find the best thing to do.
I don't want to regret not giving it, but I don't want to regret giving it either.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Do you fast her before a cobalamin test?
J.D. had one after an 8 hour fast, but the next time they insisted that he had to be fasted for 12 hours! so I said "no, I can't do that, he's diabetic."
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Dyana,
Yes, I fast her for 12 hours.
And I skip the morning shot on the appointment day.
I got one of the technicians to call IDEXX to double check, and they said to fast for 12 hours.
I really hate it but I don't want to have to doubt that maybe the result isn't accurate.
I hate it for the diabetes reason, but I hate it for the CKD reason too.
I don't think it's good for a CKD cat to go without food for too long, so I always get the first appointment in the morning for cobalamin.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Hi Mariko,
You have lots to think about and discuss with the vets. I'm not very familiar with any of Lucy's issues, but I would certainly give a probiotic if she is getting antibiotics.
Sorry about your acupunturist. Hopefully the other one will be back in her practice soon.

Mariko, you are doing such a great job keeping up with all that Lucy has going on. I hope you are getting enough rest for yourself.

Enjoy Wendy's visit tomorrow.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy AMPS=205;+2.5=191 // Tons to Report!

Wouldn't it be lovely if practitioners of Eastern and Western medicine could put aside their rigid adherence to a singie perspective and do what's right for the cat?
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
Re: 5/17 Lucy PMPS=209 // Tons to Report!

Hello Mariko, sorry we haven't been around been very busy but Lucky and his crew are checking in to see how Miss Lucy is doing glad she had a poo. Sending out more poo vines for Ginger.Hope Lucy can get her appy up.
Glad things are still ok...miss you..
Linda.
 
:shock: I guess the board is still wonky??
Hi Linda, nice to hear from you. :-D

Thank you everyone for stopping by and giving us support.
Lucy ate all 3 dinners pretty well. :thumbup
 
Oh... and Ginger did a small poo, but not enough.
I know you got more in there, Ginger!
She got laxative powder and punpkin on top of her regular slippery elm barks powder.
 
Better numbers for Lucy and I hope she feels better each and every day.

I'm so excited for you that you get to meet Wendy!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top