5/17 Latte AMPS-394, PMPS~395

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Member Since 2009
Last Night:
PMPS (+11.5)-337
+2-361
+4-249
+6.5-130
AMPS (+12.5)-394
+1.25-362

Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14700

Latte is sitting on her throne this a.m. preparing for another game of ping pong.

Other than the dwindling appetite which started this weekend (even with these big drops), there is nothing too exciting to report.
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250

BREAKING NEWS!
Latte just used her stairs (that have been sitting in this spot for TWO months) to get on her old favorite chair, navigate to the couch, and go sit in the window! :mrgreen:

So there... we did have something to report.

Now if she would just eat her FOOD. I started spoon feeding baby food with karo in it a while ago because she just wont eat much on her own. Wish I knew why. I need to figure out if she can have the cypro with the bupe. I may need to give her an appy stim to get a jump start.
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250

Sienne-
She did eat about 1/3 of her wet food...and that did have karo in it too!
Sometimes her body just does what it wants it seems. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250

It is so great to hear that Latte finally decided to use her stairs!! I bet she's going to be happy to watch the world outside.

I want to throw something out there...
I know you are generally comfortable with the cypro. In humans, drugs with a serotonergic component (called SRIs or SNRIs - seronergic reuptake inhibitors or serotonergic/norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors) are sometimes used for pain as well as for their antidepressant/anti-anxiety action. Mirtazepine falls into the SNRI group. If you're going to call to find out about compatibility between bupe and the cypro, you might ask about whether mirtazepine has any analgesic effect in felines. (My guess is that there aren't any studies but you never know.)
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250

Great that she figured out the stairs!

Last year when I went on vacation to CA, I took bupe, and cypro and mirtz with me. If I remember right (it was almost a year ago), I asked the vet if the drugs were okay together. I think I was mainly asking about the way cypro can be the antidote to an adverse mirtz reaction, though. When on vacation J.D.'s appetite is all off, and I like to use mirtz.

I never ended up using the bupe, and would send it to you, but I'm sure it's illegal to do that.
I'd ask your vet to be sure about giving cypro and bupe.

Sending nice apetite vines to Latte, today.
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250, +4.25-171

+3.25-225
+4.25-171

I will say I am a little worried about the direction and speed of this descent, as I need to leave in about 10 minutes. I think it is a fair assumption when looking at her ss, that a good amount of time she was having high red or black ps in the pm (or soon after) she probably went under 100 or close to. Since the new lower dose of 1.75 (*knock on wood*) we have not seen those high bounces. AND, she is still giving SOME good numbers mid cycle. I think if I end up seeing her in high red or black tonight I may consider decreasing to a f1.5.

She has probably had more karo than food this morning. Sheeesh! Ate maybe 1/3 of a 3 oz can food, and one jar of baby food. Both laced with a fair amount of karo. She started eating 30 min after her shot and has had little bits every 30-45 minutes.

She got back up to the window sill and then sat on the 'new' old chair for a while (which is right next to my computer by the couch). It was nice to have her sitting next to me. Though I think she may have gotten up there in the first place to escape my continuous efforts to get her to eat by shaking the bag of treats in her face. :lol:

Back for pmps (which will be +11.5- *if* I get home in time AND she is obviously bouncing).
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250, +4.25-171

Carolyn,

I'm sure you'll get the dosage worked out. You seem to be on top of it and if effort means results, you'll be there in no time. The best news is that she seems to be moving around much better these days.

I check the board every morning to see how you guys are doing, and it makes me smile to see all the love and care you give Latte. She couldn't be in better hands.

Jason
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250, +4.25-171

Great to hear she used her stairs...even if she is just trying to get away from you. :mrgreen: Hopefully, she will surf the 100s today and not go too low while you're away. It would be great to see her numbers level off on this dose. You're an amazing mommy bean, Carolyn!
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250, +4.25-171

Looks like you are doing a great job!! And Latte we are so proud of you that you used the steps!! Maybe you could tell Moonie about it!
Have a great day--Good job Carolyn!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250, +4.25-171

cleo had cipro and bupe with no issues but i'd ask the vet because ECID.

personally i prefer mirtazapine. it makes cleo hungrier than cipro does. initially i'd try a very small dose because its strongest effect on cleo is as an antidepressant so it can make a cat a bit hyper and vocal. but i've never seen such purring. cleo gets 1/4 tablet every 3-4 days and it gets her appetite stimulated for 2 of those days but her really great mood lasts a long time.
 
Re: 5/17 Latte AMPS-394, +2.25~250, +4.25-171

chriscleo said:
cleo had cipro and bupe with no issues but i'd ask the vet because ECID.

personally i prefer mirtazapine. it makes cleo hungrier than cipro does. initially i'd try a very small dose because its strongest effect on cleo is as an antidepressant so it can make a cat a bit hyper and vocal. but i've never seen such purring. cleo gets 1/4 tablet every 3-4 days and it gets her appetite stimulated for 2 of those days but her really great mood lasts a long time.

OMG, we called it the mirtazapine-induced purr! Logan was extremely loving and purry the first night on the mirtz - usually started within about 30 minutes of giving it to him. Even though I knew it was artificial, I enjoyed those nights so much b/c it was the only time he would purr like that! His appetite was crazy good that first day and it slacked off a tad the second day but still really good. The third day, he was back to not wanting to eat a whole lot. We gave him 1/4 pill every three days.
 
AMPS-394 (+12.5, 5mg pred)
+1.25-362
+2.25-250
+3.23-225
+4.25-171
PMPS-395 (+11.5, 2.5mg pred)
+2-364 (gave cypro - appy stim...eating lots of kibble instead of wet :YMSIGH: , but eating!)

Latte did not eat while I was gone. In fact, Im not sure if she left her throne the entire day!

She has been kind of crabby tonight. But I guess greeting her with a lancet and meter was not the nicest thing. I got out of work late and it was a rush. When I saw the 395, I knew I wanted to stick with the plan of shooting early in the pm and late in the am.

I gave cypro @ +2 and will forgo the bupe for tonight. I did not connect with her vet, so called the ER vet. They reminded me that cypro can cause depression. Adding the bupe could compound that and make her feel even worse. Cypro causes her to get up a lot and eat for the first hour or two. Then she DOES get lethargic and blah. I forgot about that. Im glad they reminded me. I can give bupe first thing in the a.m. with her shot.

i dont want to jinx this, but Latte has not been in the black since I reduced her to the 1.75. And it looks just one short stint in red. Though she is bordering pretty close at times. She is also giving some decent mid cycle numbers that I wont complain about. Its only been about 6 cycles, but Im optimistic we might be on the right track by LOWERING her dose to reduce the giant swings and still keep her in a good spot.
 
Yes, it is great to hear that Latte has stairs to climb and a nice place to sit. Good luck with the medicines, Carolyn. You have acquired so much knowledge about how they work, singly and in combination. I am in awe! We hope that you and Latte have a good night tonight. So glad to hear that her numbers are coming down.

Hugs to you and Latte,

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top