5/17 kiki's charlie - need dosing input for tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,

I am traveling so I am writing this from the road on behalf of Kiki. Until I return and can make her a spreadsheet, here is the history from the last few days (in European numbers, so multiply by 18 for the U.S. Equivalents):

5/14:
First day on insulin. Started at 4 units (per vet).
10:30 - BG 21.3
13:00 - 12.5
16:00 - 2.8
19:00 - 2.8
Cat VERY lethargic and seemed unwell
21:30 - 3.7

5/15:
Reduction to 1 unit per board advice
8:00 - 17.4
11:00 - 15.5

5/16:
1 unit
AM? - 20.1
13:00 - 15.7
19:30 - 28.3
Kiki concerned that she screwed up the injection. Vet decided to increase to 2 units at night.
23:00 - 15.2
Cat lethargic.

5/17:
7:30 (pre-food) - 24.8
8am shot of 2 units
13:00 - 9.8
15:00 - 4
15:30 - Fed
17:00 - 5.1
19:30 - 11.2

Kiki would like to know how much to shoot tonight?
I actually think she should've held at 1 unit for 3 days to see what happened, but since the vet increased her shooting to 2 units, I am now a bit unsure how much she should come down.
Kiki cannot stay awake all night tonight.

Quick input?
Jill

last posting
 
I think Charlie bounced from the lower numbers and Kiki should go back to the 1 unit BID.
I didn't get out a calculator and figure out all the European BG numbers, but I get the jist of it.
I think Charlie was lethargic the second time just because of the roller coaster lows and then to bouncing, but that's just my thoughts.
 
Thanks Dyana. That was my thinking as well.
Her vet said to perhaps go back to 1 unit and hold for a week.
We will post over the comin days so if we need to make a change after 3 days, she can do so quicker.

Appreciate your lightning speed response.

Hi from Denmark!
Jill
 
Hi Jill! *waving to Denmark!*

Can Kiki get syringes that measure in half unit increments? We would adjust for both Lantus and Lev in 0.25u increments - she'll no doubt need to make dosing changes and those markings are really helpful. If she can't get the syringes, she's going to need to figure out how to measure small increments in the syringes she has. Until a cat is at a dose over 10u or so we wouldn't adjust a dose by an entire unit. it's just too large of an increment.

I'm wondering if she's using the pen needles and if that is why the vet suggested a one unit adjustment. The pens can be used with insulin syringes - they go through the rubber stopper at the end of the pen.

The spreadsheet is really essential - most of us don't "read" the mmol numbers - we use US numbers for a common language on the board. The world spreadsheet will let Kiki enter numbers in mmol and let us read them in US numbers. It's also important for us to be able to see the numbers laid out in context on the spreadsheet. I know you're traveling but perhaps Kiki can set up the spreadsheet.

Here's the link for that: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207&start=0
 
She isn't using the pens. I think the normal syringes with the half unit measurements. I'm not sure why the vet increased by that much, or why they started the cat off on 4 units, but from my experience in the Netherlands, most vets (even the good ones) are not specialists in diabetes, so it seems better to start with one of the few that is. Those are just farther away from the house.

I'm back tonight so I can show her the spreadsheet setup tomorrow.

Can someone send me the link for 'how to do a curve'? Then I can share that with Kiki.

The syringes she is using say specifically:
.3 ml
U100 insulin
Micro fine demi
1/2 u


Thanks,
Jill
 
Hi, Jill.

I don't think there is a set of instructions on the LL board on how to do a curve. All a curve involves is testing every 2 hours for one cycle. Some people opt to do a "mini" curve and test every 3 hours. It you were thinking about what a typical Lantus curve looks like, the information is in the New to the Group sticky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top